Dawn of Affliction

America's Last Days (Last Dawn Trilogy Book 1)

Christian - Thriller
440 Pages
Reviewed on 05/18/2019
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Free Book Program, which is open to all readers and is completely free. The author will provide you with a free copy of their book in exchange for an honest review. You and the author will discuss what sites you will post your review to and what kind of copy of the book you would like to receive (eBook, PDF, Word, paperback, etc.). To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

Author Biography

D.I. (David) Telbat is a Christian author best known for his clean Suspenseful Fiction with a Faith Focus, which includes his bestselling and award-winning COIL Series and Steadfast Series.
Through his weekly posts, David offers free Christian short stories, and related posts, to entertain, but also to bring attention to the Persecuted Church worldwide. Many D.I. Telbat stories are about persecuted Christians—their sacrifice, suffering, and rescues.
David studied writing in school and worked for a time in the newspaper field. Getting into serious trouble with the law as a young man became a turning point in his life. The Lord used that experience to draw David into a personal relationship with Him. Re-focusing his life for Christ, he now seeks to honor God with his life and writing.
This world seems to be unraveling, but God’s people need not unravel with it. David has written Dawn of Affliction, Book One of the Last Dawn Trilogy, for the current state of mind in America.
Levi Caspertein is meant to inspire genuine believers as to how to behave and react in the most dire of circumstances. Most will not relate to Levi’s post-apocalyptic situations, but one can glimpse his Christ-likeness and bold compassion in the midst of upheaval.
David prays that readers will intently focus upon God and His promises, that they might best care for others as the world is shaken, and see that Jesus Christ is the only answer to all of man’s problems.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Maureen Dangarembizi for Readers' Favorite

Dawn of Affliction is the first book in the Last Dawn Trilogy by D. I. Telbat. It’s been two decades since Pan-Day and the collapse of the United States. Following the death of his father, Levi Caspertein takes himself and what’s left of his family on a journey across the country from San Diego to New York. Levi’s father was a member of COIL, a Christian military group that has a secret cache of lethal weapons that the Pacific States military wants. With the Brogdons following them from behind and unknown dangers ahead, Levi is hard pressed to keep everyone safe. Facing cold-hearted killers is made much more difficult when your faith demands mercy. Will Levi be able to maintain his Christian values as the danger around him mounts?

I don’t know where to begin in my praise for this amazing series opener. Dawn of Affliction will astound you and leave a warm feeling in your heart in scene after scene. There’s a lot of fiction out there claiming to be Christian but this book by D. I. Telbat is the real deal. In this tale of trials, forgiveness, and hope, the characters are challenged to the maximum to prove their faith. Levi is like so many biblical heroes in his journey. He’s a Moses leading his people out of Egypt. A David sparing King Saul’s life in spite of the danger. Jonah trusting God’s will even when it seemed out of place. The author truly gives us a story full of life lessons for any believer today. I can’t wait to read Dawn of Oppression coming out in the fall of 2019. My favorite Levi Caspertein quote is: ‘You’re better off in God’s hands than mine.”