The Witch Hunter Trilogy

The Complete Urban Fantasy Trilogy (Witch-Hunter)

Fiction - Fantasy - Urban
817 Pages
Reviewed on 02/21/2021
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Free Book Program, which is open to all readers and is completely free. The author will provide you with a free copy of their book in exchange for an honest review. You and the author will discuss what sites you will post your review to and what kind of copy of the book you would like to receive (eBook, PDF, Word, paperback, etc.). To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Review Exchange Program, which is open to all authors and is completely free. Simply put, you agree to provide an honest review an author's book in exchange for the author doing the same for you. What sites your reviews are posted on (B&N, Amazon, etc.) and whether you send digital (eBook, PDF, Word, etc.) or hard copies of your books to each other for review is up to you. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email, and be sure to describe your book or include a link to your Readers' Favorite review page or Amazon page.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

Author Biography

Kelly S. Marsden grew up in Yorkshire, and there were two constants in her life - books and horses.
Graduating with an equine degree from Aberystwyth University, she has spent most of her life since trying to experience everything the horse world has to offer. She is currently settled into a Nutritionist role for a horse feed company in Doncaster, South Yorkshire.
She writes Fantasy stories part-time. Her first book, The Shadow Rises (Witch-Hunter #1), was published in January 2013, and she now has several successful series under her belt.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Liz Konkel for Readers' Favorite

The Witch-Hunter Trilogy by KS Marsden consists of The Shadow Rises, The Shadow Reigns, and The Shadow Falls. When witches and dark magic threaten the world, it's up to witch-hunters to stop them. When the Malleus Maleficarum Council hears about a growing power that would give their enemies an upper hand against them all, no one is better suited for the job than Hunter Astley. The last thing Hunter expected was to come face to face with the Shadow Witch and to discover the dangerous plan she has in mind which will lead the witches into a revolution that could change everything. Hunter's connection to the Shadow Witch will pit the two against each other in a battle that will bring sacrifice, surprises, and losses.

The trilogy delivers a complex and thrilling supernatural treat with a layered protagonist, action-packed moments, surprises, and a shocking conclusion. Each book features a complex view on the concept of good versus evil as Hunter discovers himself falling between the two sides when he realizes he's a hunter with magical ability. The Shadow Reigns delves into the consequences that come from a reveal at the end of the first book, which changes things for Hunter and finds him keeping a dangerous secret. The second book also shows more of the clash between hunters and witches as Hunter is drawn deeper into this complex world and re-evaluates the decisions he's made fighting against the witches. The revolution by the Shadow Witch comes with several losses that hit Hunter personally and create a deep impact on his journey. The Shadow Falls is the conclusion in the trilogy and brings Hunter's journey and the fight between hunters and witches full circle. Hunter discovers a new relationship in his life that opens his views on the world with his priorities changing and a new vulnerability grounding him as more than a witch-hunter. The final book also delves further into Sophie's journey and the clash with Hunter brings a few surprises as their relationship is not an easy one. Their connection only grows more complicated and comes to a drastic conclusion that coincides with the overarching plot of the war between them. KS Marsden's The Witch-Hunter trilogy is an urban fantasy thriller with humor, friendship, romance, and chaos.