Desirable Creatures, Book I (Volume 1)

Young Adult - Paranormal
372 Pages
Reviewed on 04/03/2014
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Review Exchange Program, which is open to all authors and is completely free. Simply put, you agree to provide an honest review an author's book in exchange for the author doing the same for you. What sites your reviews are posted on (B&N, Amazon, etc.) and whether you send digital (eBook, PDF, Word, etc.) or hard copies of your books to each other for review is up to you. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email, and be sure to describe your book or include a link to your Readers' Favorite review page or Amazon page.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

Author Biography

Evelyn J. Squires is the author of six young adult paranormal novels, and she has so many stories in her head that she's unable to get it all out on paper, only having time to write and edit three books per year.
As a former ballerina, she has always loved being creative, and when she retired from dance, she turned to writing—a former passion from college. As a direct descendant of the Vikings, she was always interested in her heritage, so naturally, her first series was "A Viking Blood Saga," a historical fantasy with ample amounts of romance, suspense and viking history.
Wraithsong, the first book in her second series, "Desirable Creatures," was released in March of 2014, and won the silver medal in the Reader's Favorite International Book Award Contest. When she's not taking care of her three children or at the gym, you can find her writing in her sun-room, on the couch to snuggle up with her hubby, or in between stirring the pot while making dinner.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Lisa Jones for Readers' Favorite

Wraithsong by E.J. Squires follows the journey of Sonia in her graduation year at high school. She had known she was different to other children from a young age as she had the ability to control others by her thoughts alone. After her father's death, her mom became very protective and said that all would be revealed on her eighteenth birthday. Her powers become stronger when she meets Anthony and she is warned to suppress her feelings although her urges become unbearable. As the story unfolds, Sonia is forced to trust Anthony when her mom is kidnapped. They formulate a plan to enter the invisible island of Wraithsong so they can save Sonia's mom with the help of trusted people, yet the plan is thwarted when Sonia is also taken. The race against time begins and so does the discovery of Sonia's mystery fifth power.

Wraithsong is the first book in the Desirable Creatures series by E.J. Squires. I must say that this book had me hooked from start to finish. What a wonderful imagination the author has with the ability to capture the reader within the first few pages. The plot and the main two characters of Sonia and Anthony were like a modern day Romeo and Juliet. The style and the creativity of this novel was on another level. I especially like the quotes at the beginning and the end which gave it an extra edge which was integrated well within the storyline. Overall, I would recommend this book as it captured my heart as well as my imagination.