Breathless


Fiction - Paranormal
48 Pages
Reviewed on 10/21/2015
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Review Exchange Program, which is open to all authors and is completely free. Simply put, you agree to provide an honest review an author's book in exchange for the author doing the same for you. What sites your reviews are posted on (B&N, Amazon, etc.) and whether you send digital (eBook, PDF, Word, etc.) or hard copies of your books to each other for review is up to you. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email, and be sure to describe your book or include a link to your Readers' Favorite review page or Amazon page.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

Author Biography

Jessica Bayliss is a fiction author who loves all things reading and writing. Her work crosses genres including romance, urban fantasy, and horror. Although it's typically advisable to focus on one audience, Jessica just can't seem to settle down; she writes Middle Grade, Young Adult, New Adult and (eh hem) regular adult fiction.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Hilary Hawkes for Readers' Favorite

Breathless by Jessica Bayliss is a short novel/story with a paranormal theme. Leah is on a diving holiday in the Caribbean, looking for closure and resolution after the death of her twin brother, Evan. She escapes death herself: scuba diving instructor Dale comes to her aid when her oxygen runs out whilst taking part in a group dive to explore the wreck of HMS Rhone. Leah and Dale are attracted to each other and the two discover they have much in common – Dale’s time in Afghanistan has left him with the need to find a peace of his own. Then the two find they have something else in common – have unseen “ghosts” caused their paths to cross?

This little book is beautifully written with a well thought out plot. At the start of the story, Jessica Bayliss conveys the feeling of horror and panic experienced by Leah under water very well – this hooks the reader, drawing us right into the world of the main character. The author’s own experience with diving means she writes here with added authenticity. The different scenes are described with vivid imagery and detail. The characters of Leah and Dale are warm, genuine and very believable – both with secrets and motivations that make them intriguing and likable. I like the way the truth about Dale is not revealed until near the end of the story, giving it a little twist in its satisfying and hopeful ending. Breathless is a great story, exploring the human soul’s emotional needs with insight and an exciting touch of mystery and the paranormal. Perfect for a quick and enjoyable read.

Ishabelle Tory

A Sweet Gift
By Ishabelle Torry on June 18, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition
I was gifted this story at a Facebook party and I am glad I did! I found this short tale captivating. Very well written with a strong voice.

Leah is a level headed, if not somewhat conflicted, character I fell in love with easily. I felt her turmoil over her brother's death as if it were my own at times. But she pushes through it and overcomes. Dale was a hot mystery waiting to be unwrapped, and I was surprised and delighted to learn his secrets.

If you're looking for a sweet summer read, this is it! I hope Bayliss revisits these characters in the future.

Dave

By Dave on June 5, 2015

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

The author paints stunning scene after stunning scene, deftly describing the details of every scene, making the reader feel a part of the story. Without giving anything away, the ending is chilling.

This is a quick and easy read that packs a lot into its few pages. I look forward to reading more from Jessica Bayliss.

Sheri Velarde

4.5 Stars Great detail and fun, short read!

By Sheri L. Velarde on May 28, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

Breathless is a short, very sweet romance with a touch of otherworldly-ness to it. Ms. Bayliss takes us on a scuba diving adventure that turns into so much more. Two broken souls see something in each other that might help them both heal and it may have been something more than happenstance that brought them together. Vivid details makes you feel as if you are on the trip too and strong characters cause you to feel and empathize with them. A page turner that is not predictable and can be read in one sitting. 4.5/5 stars for great visualization and depth coming through in the writing. I am hoping that there is a sequel.

Sandra

A fun escape

By Sandra on July 5, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition

I received a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review, and I'm so delighted that I was selected to read this short gem. This story from author Jessica Bayliss is an engrossing read, thanks to a well-paced plot that kept me engaged, narrated by an appealing main character who had me rooting for her from the first pages. This is a quick and easy read, a perfect story for a brief escape into another world. I can't wait to see what Ms. Bayliss will write next!

Andrew

I really enjoyed it. Descriptions were great
By Andrew on July 12, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

I just finished breathless, I really enjoyed it. Descriptions were great, I have a perfect crisp image of all of the scenery. The story itself was engaging and completely kept my interest. There were different aspects of romance, spookiness and mystery that lured me in. It was an ideal recipe for a short story, kind of like a good wine with different levels of flavors that all work well together.

G. Mure

5.0 out of 5 stars

Five Stars
By G. Mure on August 7, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

Excellent story!

Susanne Lakin

5.0 out of 5 stars: Great short story!

By Susanne Lakin on July 21, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition

I fell right into this story and was riveted till the end. Beautifully developed with so few pages. It could have easily be stretched into a novel.

Mary

5.0 out of 5 stars: Breathless left me Breathless!

By Mary Ann Mure on June 28, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition, Verified Purchase

Jessica Bayliss your story left me Breathless. The story is very suspenseful and romantic. A fun read! Can't wait to see what happens next with this couple (assuming/HOPING there will be a sequel).

Susana

5.0 out of 5 stars: Fab story! Please write a sequel!

By Susana Chuka on June 20, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition

Great story! Swept me up immediately! I want to know more now! Bring on the sequel!!

Karen

A Really Unique Novella

Karen rated it 3.5 of 5 stars, October, 2015

Breathless was a really unique novella - enchanting, bittersweet and a touch magical.

I believe this is the first in a series about Leah, a girl who has suffered an unbearable loss and Dale, a haunted veteran and how they are tied together and will eventually heal each others hearts.

Although everything isn't tied up by the end of this novella, this particular story arc is and I look forward to following Leah and Dale's journey.

G Marie Merante

Beautifully & vividly written!

G Marie Merante rated it 5 of 5 stars

Jun 13, 2015

Loved this short story! Great summer read. Island resort, deep water diving, two people struggling with grief, drawn to each other. Beautifully and vividly written!

Brit

Loved the characters and the tension between them

4.0 out of 5 stars

By Brit on October 31, 2015
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

The suspense at the beginning of this book hooked me from the beginning. Loved the characters and the tension between them. Also loved having a vicarious scuba diving vacation in the Caribbean, which this provided quite nicely. My only complaint was that I wanted more! And that's not a bad complaint to have...

LexySky

4.0 out of 5 stars

By: LexySky on February 1, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition

This novella sucks you right in, you are THERE, feel what she goes through, it made me breathless to read it and kept me at my toes the whole time. It twists and turns and takes the reader to fantastic places and deep emotions. I enjoyed it very much!