The Advocate's Illusion

The Advocate Series Volume 9

Fiction - Mystery - Legal
308 Pages
Reviewed on 03/29/2019
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Free Book Program, which is open to all readers and is completely free. The author will provide you with a free copy of their book in exchange for an honest review. You and the author will discuss what sites you will post your review to and what kind of copy of the book you would like to receive (eBook, PDF, Word, paperback, etc.). To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email.

Author Biography

Teresa Burrell has dedicated her life to helping children and their families in both the courtroom and the classroom.

As an attorney in San Diego, Burrell maintained a private law practice for twelve years, which specialized in domestic, criminal, and civil cases. Her work in juvenile court focused on representing abused minors and juvenile delinquents. Burrell has received several awards and special recognition from the San Diego Volunteer Lawyers for her countless hours of pro bono work with children and their families.

Burrell has also enjoyed a satisfying career as a teacher. She has taught children of all ages with diverse backgrounds and special needs. After creating an after-school program that kept kids off the street, she received a community service award.

Now in semi-retirement in California, Burrell continues to educate groups about social issues impacting children and write novels, many of which are inspired by actual legal cases. She is the author of The Advocate Series which now contains thirteen novels: The Advocate is the first in The Advocate Series. I have twelve more, The Advocate's Betrayal, The Advocate's Conviction, The Advocate’s Dilemma, The Advocate’s Ex Parte, The Advocate’s Felony, The Advocate’s Geocache, The Advocate’s Homicides, The Advocate's Illusion, The Advocate's Justice, The Advocate’s Killer, The Advocate's Labyrinth, and The Advocate's Memory. I have also started a second series with a character named Tuper who first appeared in Book #6, The Advocate's Felony. Those books are Mason's Missing, Finding Frankie and Recovering Rita.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Lucinda E Clarke for Readers' Favorite

The Advocate’s Illusion by Teresa Burrell is the ninth in a series featuring the feisty and loveable Sabre Brown together with her long-suffering boyfriend JP, who doubles up as her private investigator. Ron, her brother, is also a part time member of the team. An interesting twist on the more common legal thriller, Sabre’s speciality is working for juveniles often when Social Services are involved, and in this book there are three such cases. Nine-year-old Sarah Parker is reported as being in danger living with her drug-addicted mother. In the Lynch case, the father, Tod, whose ex-wife with full custody moved away, cannot visit them and is incensed when he hears she is back on the drugs. He blames Sabre for the situation and threatens her. In the third case, the head of a small church marries his 12-year-old daughter to a forty-year-old member of his congregation. Does he have the legal right under the First Amendment? The stage is set for some interesting reading as Sabre attempts to get to the truth and argue in court for the best interests of the children she represents.

I can give no better praise for The Advocate’s Illusion by Teresa Burrell than to say I shall be looking out for the earlier books in the series, as I would like to read all of them. This was an easy read which kept me turning the pages. The characters – the heroine has a rather unbelievable name – come to life and I was particularly impressed with the natural dialogue which flowed seamlessly. I admit to guessing the end a little early but I had to read on to see if I was right. All the loose ends were neatly tied up with a satisfactory ending. A great book with a twist on the usual court room drama genre and recommended. I loved this book.