Fate's Fables

Fate's Journey

Young Adult - Fantasy - General
504 Pages
Reviewed on 08/10/2013
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

Author Biography

T. Rae Mitchell is an incurable fantasy junkie who spent much of her youth mesmerizing her younger sisters with stories sprung from her crazy imagination. Over the years, her craving for the rush of being transported to fantastical realms became more acute. So it was only a matter of time before her habit got the best of her. Grief stricken one day upon discovering her supply had dried up (her favorite bookstore had closed), she decided she’d had enough. Abandoning her career as an award-winning graphic designer, she entered a fantasy world of her own making called, FATE’S FABLES, her debut novel. She lives in British Columbia with her husband and son and is currently working on the sequel, FATE’S KEEP and an urban fantasy titled, MAGICK BREW.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Tania Staley for Readers' Favorite

Fate’s Fables is the amazing debut fantasy novel by T. Rae Mitchell. Fans of Gail Carson Levine and Cassandra Clare will want to add T. Rae Mitchell to their reading list. Mitchell has been quoted asking the following question, “Who wasn’t either bored or troubled with their own story and only too happy to leap into someone else’s?” Mitchell uses this idea to create a wonderfully complex and exciting tale.

Inexplicably drawn to her grandmother’s old bookstore, Fate Floyd, encounters the witch, Brune, who forces her into the Book of Fables, along with a mysterious, yet oddly familiar companion, Finn. Now, armed only with “Words of Making,” an ability to make anything written come true, Fate must give each of the fables a happy ending, or she and Finn will forever be trapped. But each fable is darker than the next and happy endings are not always clear. Will Fate have the power to rewrite her story?

Fate’s Fables is one of the best and most unique fantasy stories I have read in a long time. The plot is unique and kept me guessing the entire way. As a writer and daydreamer, I was overjoyed by the concept of the “Words of Making” and being able to travel in literary lands. I couldn’t get enough of this book and with every page I felt myself overcome with a wide range of emotions. The action scenes in this tale will have you on the edge of your seat with your heart pounding, while the romance will leave you longing for someone to hold. I will be recommending this book to all of my fantasy reading friends, and I can’t wait to read the next book in the series.

TT DeLong

I'm still reading this book. I saw the review and thought I'd add my 2 cents: I don't really read books but someone gave me this one as a gift and what Tania says is holding true for me so far. Very visual book and a page turner. Likeable characters. Just a good book. Recommend.

Kate

Have to agree with Tania and TT ~ excellent read. Very visual, strong characters and it kept me interested right to the end. Am looking forward to the next installment!