Of Breath and Blood

Detectives Daniels and Remalla Series: Book 6

Fiction - Suspense
Kindle Edition
Reviewed on 02/21/2021
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Review Exchange Program, which is open to all authors and is completely free. Simply put, you agree to provide an honest review an author's book in exchange for the author doing the same for you. What sites your reviews are posted on (B&N, Amazon, etc.) and whether you send digital (eBook, PDF, Word, etc.) or hard copies of your books to each other for review is up to you. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email, and be sure to describe your book or include a link to your Readers' Favorite review page or Amazon page.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Susan Sewell for Readers' Favorite

The police force is in over their heads when a power-hungry criminal with an insane desire for immortality targets their detectives as a means to achieving his dream in the breathtaking suspense novel, Of Breath and Blood (Detectives Daniels and Remalla Series: Book 6) by J.T. Bishop. Following a breakdown, Detective Georgios is suspended and admitted to a mental hospital; his partner Titus is given some time off, leaving Detectives Daniels and Remalla to take over their robbery case. However, within a few days of working on the case, Daniels begins to act strangely, and his paranoid behavior mirrors Georgios' actions before his breakdown. In the meantime, Remalla is working undercover to glean information from the prime suspect's ex-girlfriend and unexpectedly finds himself compromised in a mind-bending situation. As Daniels' paranoia and aggression escalate, Remalla recognizes the similarities between Daniels and Georgios' declining mental state and realizes the police department may be dealing with an out-of-the-ordinary attack. Is somebody drugging the police officers? Or are they under the influence of something more deadly?

Of Breath and Blood (Detectives Daniels and Remalla Series: Book 6) by J.T. Bishop is a spine-tingling mystery with creepy paranormal undertones. Containing a supernatural flair, it is a breathtaking, edge-of-your-seat story from the first to the last page. Ms. Bishop weaves a tapestry of suspense, replete with eerie dark esoteric allusions and chilling psychological elements that left me guessing to the shocking conclusion. The addition of new characters, Mason and Mikey Redstone, gives the story a fresh and exciting dimension, and I am thrilled that Redstone is taking Daniels and Ramalla into a series of his own. I can't wait to read it! Although this novel is the sixth in a series, it works well as a standalone. Fans of Daniels and Remalla will not want to miss this thrilling encounter!

K.C. Finn

Of Breath and Blood is a work of fiction in the suspense, crime, and mystery sub-genres, and was penned by author J. T. Bishop. The work is intended for the mature reading audience and is the sixth volume in the Detectives Daniels and Remalla series. We return to this dynamic pairing just as a new secret bubbles to the surface, when a strange spate of liquor store robberies leads to something much more complex and sinister. As Remalla faces the challenge of going deep undercover, Daniels suffers a mental attack that could threaten his very survival. What results is a spine-tingling psychological mystery with plenty of emotion and grit.

Author J. T. Bishop has crafted a very engrossing work of suspense fiction with plenty of tense moments, dynamic action, and conceptual intrigue to offer readers. One of the features which I found particularly impressive about this piece was its unique premise, which takes us deep into the cult mentality and paranormal revelations as our two heroes try to keep straight what they know to be true in the world. This plotline, when combined with the realistic dialogue and close narration of the central characters, delivers edge-of-your-seat thrills and the haunting reality of how dangerous our own thoughts and influences can become. The backdrop of secret locations and undercover immersion also added another layer to the ever-growing tension, with tons of atmosphere. Overall, I would highly recommend Of Breath and Blood to fans of the existing series, newcomers looking for a stellar standalone mystery tale, and detective fiction readers everywhere.

Stephanie Chapman

Crime, mystery, paranormal belief, occult, curses, and insanity are all wrapped in J.T. Bishop's Of Breath And Blood. Detectives Gordon Daniels and Aaron Remalla are given a case investigating a string of liquor store robberies. While discussing the case, Daniels receives a package containing a strange statue. Dismissing it as being from a cousin visiting Africa, he puts it on a shelf. They decide that Remalla is going undercover to gain access to Allison Albright while Daniels pays a visit to her ex-boyfriend Victor D'Mato. As the story progresses, Daniels begins having nightmares and hears voices to not trust anyone. Remalla finds himself in a relationship with Albright and is losing self-control. When another robbery occurs, Remalla goes to the store and is injured. Daniels, ignoring Captain Lozano's orders, chooses to go to the jail and interview a suspect that had already been caught. Daniels is placed on unpaid leave and Remalla continues his dates with Albright. The detectives have no idea that their lives will be altered dramatically that evening.

I enjoyed how J.T. Bishop was able to keep the suspense of the story building all the way to the end. Of Breath And Blood introduces Mason Redstone as a major supporting character for Remalla. I found the character development was continuously growing throughout the story by going deeper into the minds of the detectives. The dialogue was my favorite aspect of the story. The humor of D'Mato playing mind games with Daniels was entertaining; Albright's forward statements about Remalla being shy and how much she wanted him sexually with a twisted undertone to it. I think any adult who likes a good mystery that keeps flipping directions will get swept away with Of Breath And Blood's colorful cast of characters. Why is Daniels becoming so aggressive? Is Remalla falling in love with Albright? Do the detectives get the evidence they need to link D'Mato to the robberies? Pick this 5-star book up and find out. The end shocked me completely.