Promise Me

Book of the Promise Me Series

Fiction - Paranormal
284 Pages
Reviewed on 09/12/2012
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Free Book Program, which is open to all readers and is completely free. The author will provide you with a free copy of their book in exchange for an honest review. You and the author will discuss what sites you will post your review to and what kind of copy of the book you would like to receive (eBook, PDF, Word, paperback, etc.). To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Review Exchange Program, which is open to all authors and is completely free. Simply put, you agree to provide an honest review an author's book in exchange for the author doing the same for you. What sites your reviews are posted on (B&N, Amazon, etc.) and whether you send digital (eBook, PDF, Word, etc.) or hard copies of your books to each other for review is up to you. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email, and be sure to describe your book or include a link to your Readers' Favorite review page or Amazon page.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

Author Biography

Tara Fox Hall’s writing credits include nonfiction, horror, suspense, action-adventure, erotica, and contemporary and historical paranormal romance. She is the author of the paranormal action-adventure Lash series and the vampire romantic suspense Promise Me series. Tara divides her free time unequally between writing novels and short stories, chainsawing firewood, caring for stray animals, sewing cat and dog beds for donation to animal shelters, and target practice.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Stephanie Dagg for Readers' Favorite

"Promise Me" by Tara Fox Hall is not your usual sort of paranormal romance. Except for the prologue which is presented in the third person, the story is narrated by Sarelle McGarran, Sar for short, a young widow who lives alone with an assortment of dogs and cats. She is a strong woman, coping with her grief and getting on with her life in a resourceful way. Discovering a wounded vampire, Danial, nearby one evening, she takes him in and very matter-of-factly lets him feed off her to ensure he lives. The two are attracted to each other, and Sar is thus pulled into Danial’s world where he is threatened. So suddenly she is surrounded by werewolf guards (one of which, Theo, is a fascinating character) and meets the menacing Vampire Ruler of the United States, Devlin. But is taking the Oath of Forever with Danial a step too far even for this courageous heroine?

There are plenty of unanswered questions but this is the first of a series and so this technique ensures that we’ll want to read the next book to improve our understanding of people and events. Thoughtful, steady Sar is what makes the book both unusual and very appealing. She takes finding a vampire calmly in her stride and generally copes with everything that is thrown at her now that her simple life has suddenly become complicated in the extreme, however unpleasant it may be. But she is not cold and readers can’t help but like and admire her. This is a cleverly thought-out and well-written book by an imaginative and talented author.

Jenny Twist

I agree with the review. It's a great story and I'm really looking forward to the next in the series