The Defenders of Dembroch

Book 2, The Sinners' Solemnities

Young Adult - Fantasy - General
366 Pages
Reviewed on 09/04/2021
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Review Exchange Program, which is open to all authors and is completely free. Simply put, you agree to provide an honest review an author's book in exchange for the author doing the same for you. What sites your reviews are posted on (B&N, Amazon, etc.) and whether you send digital (eBook, PDF, Word, etc.) or hard copies of your books to each other for review is up to you. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email, and be sure to describe your book or include a link to your Readers' Favorite review page or Amazon page.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Rabia Tanveer for Readers' Favorite

The Sinners’ Solemnities is the second novel in The Defenders of Dembroch by Patrick Harris. It has been thirty years since the king was murdered, and his killer is on the loose. However, that is not the only thing the people of Dembroch have to worry about. The killer is gathering his army to take control. His followers kill innocent people to create chaos and monsters that will only end in more blood and death. To end this madness, the Queen of Dembroch calls the defenders to stop this but they run out of time. Jenn, Nick, Page Trey, Meghan, and Clay have their work cut out for them. Nothing could have prepared them for what they will face this time around. They have to fight off Stricken Men, stop witches, protect people from the pirates and figure out who the killer is before the danger becomes too much to contain.

Wow, this is perhaps the best amalgamation of action, thriller, suspense, and adventure. I love it when authors open stories with action. This novel has plenty of action with a powerful plot and incredible characters. However, what I loved the most is that the action introduced in the beginning is a vital part of the plot. Out of all the characters, Jenn is my favorite. She was the most level-headed and calm, even when she exposed her emotions rather quickly. The rich details are interwoven with the story. The author uses descriptions to invite readers in and make them stay. The race against time is thrilling and entertaining. The group of defenders has their work cut out for them, which made this story wonderful for me. They have to work hard to find their answers and are almost always at a disadvantage from the story’s villain. The Sinners’ Solemnities by Patrick Harris is a must-read novel for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Victoria Aveyard. A fantastic young adult fantasy that will keep readers hooked!