Devil's Ledger

An International Banking Spy Thriller (A Louise Moscow Novel Book 3)

Fiction - Mystery - General
288 Pages
Reviewed on 02/03/2022
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Free Book Program, which is open to all readers and is completely free. The author will provide you with a free copy of their book in exchange for an honest review. You and the author will discuss what sites you will post your review to and what kind of copy of the book you would like to receive (eBook, PDF, Word, paperback, etc.). To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Review Exchange Program, which is open to all authors and is completely free. Simply put, you agree to provide an honest review an author's book in exchange for the author doing the same for you. What sites your reviews are posted on (B&N, Amazon, etc.) and whether you send digital (eBook, PDF, Word, etc.) or hard copies of your books to each other for review is up to you. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email, and be sure to describe your book or include a link to your Readers' Favorite review page or Amazon page.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

Author Biography

Award-winning author Lorraine Evanoff’s highly addictive, suspenseful thrillers are perfect for fans of Erik Larson, Jack Slater and Kathy Reichs.

Former Hollywood finance exec Lorraine Evanoff uses classic mystery storytelling to spin complex tales of international finance with a sexy female heroine. Lorraine’s best-selling Louise Moscow Novels, FOLIAGE, PINOT NOIR, and the newly released DEVIL’S LEDGER, are high concept noir thrillers inspired by real-life banking scandals.

Originally from Chicago, Lorraine received a degree in French from DePaul then studied and worked for seven years in Paris and is currently living in Los Angeles with her husband. Lorraine held CFO positions in high tech companies during the dot-com era, and more recently in the film industry, notably as CFO of National Lampoon. She already has multiple IMDB credits to her name and now has a screenplay in development.

    Book Review

Reviewed by K.C. Finn for Readers' Favorite

Devil's Ledger: An International Banking Spy Thriller is a work of fiction in the thriller, action, suspense, and mystery subgenres. It is intended for the general adult reading audience and was penned by author Lorraine Evanoff. Part of the Louise Moscow series of novels, this particular tale is set ten years after one of her previously solved murder cases, and it sees Louise working for financial crimes and dying to get back out there into the espionage world. All clues point back to fraud and corruption, but what Louise doesn’t bank on finding along the way is an enigmatic and terrifying adversary who has mastered the Russian Dark Arts.

Author Lorraine Evanoff delivers everything a sophisticated reader of mystery and spy fiction could possibly want in a novel. Think Bond, without the misogyny or needless bloodshed, or le Carré without the endless droning prose, and you’re halfway to the genius of Evanoff’s decisive, intelligent and well-balanced style of spy writing. The rest comes from a sense of urgency and relevance in all the right places, keeping readers on track with essential details and tense plot twists at just the right moment. Layered on top of this we have the cinematically described scenery of exotic vistas and dangerous situations, as well as the in-depth portrayal of the character that sees you really feeling for Louise. I had a lump in my throat every time she was in trouble, the danger felt so real. Overall, I would highly recommend Devil's Ledger for mystery and thriller fans seeking their next high-quality read.

Very quotable!!

What a wonderful review, it hits all the notes. I'm using it in all of my marketing. Thank you!