Gateway


Fiction - Horror
429 Pages
Reviewed on 06/16/2021
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Review Exchange Program, which is open to all authors and is completely free. Simply put, you agree to provide an honest review an author's book in exchange for the author doing the same for you. What sites your reviews are posted on (B&N, Amazon, etc.) and whether you send digital (eBook, PDF, Word, etc.) or hard copies of your books to each other for review is up to you. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email, and be sure to describe your book or include a link to your Readers' Favorite review page or Amazon page.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Christian Sia for Readers' Favorite

Gateway by David C. Cassidy is aptly entered in the horror category, a story for fans of tales that make them feel the creepiness as if it is a living thing crawling on their skin. Jared Cole is a man who has a lot anyone would want, including fame and success. But this talented, award-winning novelist has a secret, one he’s kept to himself for a long time — he can see souls. He has just returned to his idyllic hometown of Torch Falls, Montana, after seven years of hard work in New York, when he unwittingly opens a gateway to the soul of an epileptic child, and the nightmare begins. In so doing, he has unleashed an evil that will transform the peaceful townspeople into merciless killers. Will he be able to close this window before the entire town becomes a desolate waste?

David C. Cassidy’s Gateway is a well-crafted horror story featuring compelling characters and a gripping plot; the reader will feel like the action is unfolding before their gaze. The writing is excellent and I enjoyed how the author captures the setting in the descriptive prose. This story reads like a horror movie, thanks to the author’s gift for plot and character. The conflict is introduced right off the bat and the reader is riveted to the story, each page well written to push the reader onto the next gripping page. This is one of those books you don’t want to start reading at nightfall, because its spell is irresistible. I read it through the wee hours of the morning, engrossed in the beauty of the narrative and fascinated by its characters.

Grace Masso

Gateway by David C. Cassidy is a horror novel with great pacing and a plot that is unpredictable. It follows interesting characters. Jared Cole is a successful and famous horror novelist, and that is what his fans know. But he has a gift of seeing souls, which is one of the things about him that the crowd doesn’t know. When he returns to his hometown of Torch Falls after seven years, he meets Marisa, a woman he once left behind. While he has been away, she has had a child, Kit, who developed epilepsy. The reunion is an exciting event for Marisa and Jared, and a picnic promises a life together in the future. But when Jared accidentally sees into Kit’s soul, he unlocks the Gateway and releases a powerful evil that attacks the people of the town and transforms them into psychotic, cold-blooded murderers. If the Gateway is not closed quickly, the town will become a dump of dead bodies. Can Jared succeed with time running out?

David C. Cassidy’s Gateway is beguiling, featuring characters that are fully developed and real. The pacing is slow at the start but the plot points are strong enough to keep the reader turning the pages until Jared meets Marisa. The emotional depth of the story pulled me in as I navigated the clever manner in which the author writes about the relationship between these characters. The fun that Jared, Kit, and Marisa are having quickly transforms into a nightmare when the Gateway opens. What follows is chilling and it will be impossible for a fan of horror to drop this book from that moment on. The writing is crisp and the story suspenseful. You’ll want to know what happens next, and most importantly, you want to know the ending and who remains alive in a town being consumed by evil.

Susan Sewell

A diabolically evil entity unleashes its rage upon a small town when a portal inadvertently opens in the spine-tingling horror novel, Gateway by David C. Cassidy. When Jared Cole's book becomes a best-seller, he relocates to New York City. After a disastrous incident on the eve of his departure, Jared moves to the Big Apple despite the trauma and his newly acquired skill of perceiving souls. However, several years later, Jared leaves the bustling metropolis and returns to his small hometown in the hopes of avoiding circumstances that trigger his ill-fated gift. However, soon after his arrival, while assisting a young boy during a seizure, a link forms a portal between their souls, and something evil escapes through the gateway. Immediately, the town's population starts dying in horrific and inexplicable ways. Interpreting Jared's odd behavior as sinister, the residents blame him for the community's bizarre deaths. Aware of his responsibility for the incidents, Jared endeavors to send the monster back and close the gateway. Can he do it before they are all annihilated? Or is he already too late.

Scary and nightmare-inducing, Gateway by David C. Cassidy is a captivating, riveting, and petrifying thriller that excites the imagination and chills the blood. Reminiscent of a Dean Koontz novel, the story combines supernatural elements with gory blood-curdling scenes, a terrifying entity, and an eccentric protagonist. The storyline smoothly flows between horrifying and heartrending scenes while building the suspense and intensity to a shocking and explosive finish. Superbly written, it is a phenomenal story that will delight and thrill everyone who relishes horror fiction. Fans of Stephen King and Dean Koontz will not want to miss this hair-raising tale!

Romuald Dzemo

Gateway by David C. Cassidy is a supernatural thriller with an irresistible appeal to fans of horror. Jared Cole has the unique gift of seeing souls, a bestselling horror author who returns to his hometown in Torch Falls after seven years. He is thrilled to meet Marisa, a woman whose heart he broke when he went away. Marisa and her seven-year-old son, Kit, are happy when he takes them out on a picnic — the very first for the child who has been epileptic since he was four — but then something goes awfully wrong. Jared unknowing opens a window into the soul of young Kit, unleashing a powerful evil that will attack the peaceful people of his town, twisting their minds and transforming them into cold-blooded killers. If the gateway is not closed quickly enough, no one will survive the evil. But can Jared stop the horror he has unleashed?

This story is well written for the genre and not for the faint of heart. The prose is gorgeous and the story is filled with drama. It is lovely to watch Jared reconnect with Marisa and her son; however, the excitement of a picnic quickly morphs into an experience of horror that quickly engulfs the entire town. Cassidy is a gifted writer who creates characters that readers will care about. I loved the connection between Jared and Marisa, and how well the author writes about their inner worlds. The dialogues are fantastic, natural, and plot-driven. The characters are fleshed out and the plot is ingeniously executed so that it transforms the reading experience, with unsuspecting surprises greeting the reader when they least expect it. David C. Cassidy’s novel is a page-turning story that will have readers on the edge of their seats. It is riveting and the kind of book that gives you the chills, with terrific descriptions and terrifying images filling the pages. Gateway is utterly satisfying for fans of horror and tightly plotted stories.

Ruffina Oserio

Gateway by David C. Cassidy is a brilliantly written horror story with elaborately developed characters and a setting in a quiet town that is suddenly besieged by unspeakable evil. Jared Cole is a bestselling horror novelist. But he has something that many do not know, and even his shrink could not get him to talk about it: the gift of seeing souls. When he returns to his hometown after being away for seven years, he is happy to reconnect with Marisa, the girl he left behind. He learns that Marisa had a child when he left, and more so, Kit is epileptic. When he accidentally peers into the seven-year-old child’s soul, he opens the “gateway,” unleashing an evil that possesses the townsfolk and leads them to uncontrollable carnage. Jared has to stop this, find a way to close the Gateway or there will be no one left to save in Torch Falls.

This book will keep anyone awake through the night, tightly plotted and beautifully written. The author weaves strong themes of love and family and introduces compelling elements of horror that will disturb and entice readers at the same time. Gateway pulled me in from the very beginning and I adored the casual way David C. Cassidy introduces the characters, including the return home of the protagonist, meeting Marisa and having an ice cream, then the picnic. The twist comes at an unexpected moment and the light of love and human connection quickly transforms into a terrifying darkness. The nail-biting storytelling craft intertwines with believable characters to transform this book into a propulsive and a surprising one for fans of horror. The suspense is persistent and the entire story is beautifully crafted; it is chillingly poignant and mysterious. You just can’t put it down.

Rabia Tanveer

Gateway by David C. Cassidy is a perfectly creepy and goosebump-inducing story that will keep you up at night. Jared Cole was down on his luck. Once upon a time, he was a best-selling horror novelist, and now he was nothing but a washed-up writer, desperate for a break. In search of that break, Jared left New York City behind and went back home to Torch Falls. No one knew how desperate he was, and no one knew he could see souls. Before Jared knew it, he was stuck in the middle of a mess that he was not ready to tackle yet. Unknowingly, Jared had opened a gateway that had unleashed an evil unlike any other he had ever encountered. Now, the people of his town were paying the price for that. It was up to Jared to fix this issue before it was too late. Only he could do it, but would he ever get the chance?

Gateway by David C. Cassidy was far more terrifying than I anticipated. I thought this would be a horror/thriller novel, something that I could handle reading late at night. Oh boy, was I wrong! I got chills reading the descriptions as the story progressed. Jared was a very emotive and descriptive character. The author expressed his emotions and grievances in excruciating detail, which genuinely enhanced my reading experience. The concept behind “seeing” souls was unique, yet the author handled it perfectly. The background building was incredibly rich, the character development was detailed, and the shocking climax made me sweat. I turned the volume of the TV high at certain scenes because I was so spooked, but I didn’t put the book down until I reached the end. It was terrifyingly good!