Rising Wind: Ice and Bone (Book Two of Rising Wind Series)

Fiction - Adventure
278 Pages
Reviewed on 05/04/2021
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Free Book Program, which is open to all readers and is completely free. The author will provide you with a free copy of their book in exchange for an honest review. You and the author will discuss what sites you will post your review to and what kind of copy of the book you would like to receive (eBook, PDF, Word, paperback, etc.). To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Review Exchange Program, which is open to all authors and is completely free. Simply put, you agree to provide an honest review an author's book in exchange for the author doing the same for you. What sites your reviews are posted on (B&N, Amazon, etc.) and whether you send digital (eBook, PDF, Word, etc.) or hard copies of your books to each other for review is up to you. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email, and be sure to describe your book or include a link to your Readers' Favorite review page or Amazon page.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

Author Biography

Diane Olsen is the prolific writer & award-winning author of her debut book titled; "Ancient Ways: The Roots of Religion," a Bronze Medal Winner awarded by Christian Illumination Book Awards and released in 2016. Diane's debut release of "Ancient Ways" is a thought-provoking informative look at the development and evolution of religion throughout time and a well-considered concept - the idea of a connective thread of monotheistic faith throughout history from the birth of human creation.

Diane now shares her book series titled; RISING WIND with book one released titled "The Thunder Beings" in 2018. Now she has released book two titled ICE and BONE of the Rising Wind Series. Adapted from an original screenplay Diane wrote several years ago, she has now written it within a three-part book series for her readers and fans to enjoy. It is an excellent multi-cultural light Christian-themed action-adventure mystery thrill ride like no other book series.

Diane was born in Colorado Springs, Colorado, and resides in the beautiful Pacific Northwest in Washington. She is an undergrad at Colorado State University Ft. Collins: Pre-vet med, Anthropology, then attended and received her BA and MA at the University of Montana, Missoula: Anthropology, Archaeology, and Paleontology.

She was a Graduate Teaching Assistant for two years. Diane enjoys writing, reading good books, spending time with her family and grandkids, animals, and loves cooking. A few of her favorite books are 'The Book of Certitude (Kitab-i-Iqan), The Upanishads, and The Great Initiates.'

    Book Review

Reviewed by Scott Cahan for Readers' Favorite

Ice and Bone by Diane Olsen is part two in the Rising Wind series. You could read this book as a stand-alone without reading the first one as the author does a decent job of bringing her readers up to speed, but my recommendation is to read part 1, The Thunder Beings, first if possible. The story is somewhat complex with lots of characters and it could get confusing if your first introduction to the series is Ice and Bone.

The best way I can think of to describe the Rising Wind series is as something akin to the Indiana Jones movies with a stronger emphasis on the science behind the archaeology, a female lead, and a bunch of spirituality thrown into the mix. In Ice and Bone, the discovery of ancient human remains, in a place where science and history say they shouldn’t be, sets off a chain of events that pull our heroes, Secora and Gideon, into all kinds of new dangers. Will they and their budding romance survive? And what will become of Secora’s newly adopted baby, Monta? Secora is forced to bring her child along as she and her friends trek through the jungles of South America, trying to stay one step ahead of those who will stop at nothing to prevent the new archaeological discovery from being made public.

Rising Wind: Ice and Bone is a gripping thrill ride full of action and colorful characters. Author Diane Olsen does a great job of balancing the fast-moving plot with interesting interactions between her characters. The science behind the discoveries in the book is also handled very well and expertly woven into the story to make it all feel very believable. Fans of archaeology fiction based on real science are sure to enjoy Ice and Bone as well as its predecessor, The Thunder Beings. Step aside, Indiana Jones; a new hero, Secora James, has arrived to dig up controversial discoveries and protect them from the evil forces who want to steal them and use them for evil. I highly recommend Rising Wind: Ice and Bone.