Season of Deception

The Seasons Series Book 2

Christian - Romance - Contemporary
354 Pages
Reviewed on 07/05/2023
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Free Book Program, which is open to all readers and is completely free. The author will provide you with a free copy of their book in exchange for an honest review. You and the author will discuss what sites you will post your review to and what kind of copy of the book you would like to receive (eBook, PDF, Word, paperback, etc.). To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Review Exchange Program, which is open to all authors and is completely free. Simply put, you agree to provide an honest review an author's book in exchange for the author doing the same for you. What sites your reviews are posted on (B&N, Amazon, etc.) and whether you send digital (eBook, PDF, Word, etc.) or hard copies of your books to each other for review is up to you. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email, and be sure to describe your book or include a link to your Readers' Favorite review page or Amazon page.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Tracy Traynor for Readers' Favorite

Season of Deception by Sara Jane Jacobs is a sweet Christian romance that I really enjoyed. Amanda Jarvis has the most cunning, conniving aunt in the world! Intent on exerting her will over her niece, Phoebe Garrison sets out on a plan to control Amanda’s life. Part of the deceit is to pull Amanda away from her childhood sweetheart, Tyler Armstrong. When Tyler supposedly stops contacting her, Amanda is bewildered, lost, and hurt. One day she finds herself in the company of a rich Englishman called Eric Bridwell. He is charming, kind, not to mention extremely handsome, and wants to take care of her. Slowly, she begins to fall in love again, and although memories of Tyler are pushed to the back they are always there. A thrilling, super-dramatic ending brings the three together. How honest will they be when revealing the truth might send the one they love into another person’s arms?

Although Season of Deception is number two in the series, it was very easy to read as a standalone. The only thing I would say is—as a person who didn’t read book one I had no affinity with Tyler and really wanted a certain ending to happen. With that in mind, it might be best to read book one first. Sara Jane Jacobs has an easy flow to her writing that carried me along and kept me fully engaged. The love triangle is moving and tugs at the emotions. Sara touches on what love truly is and how if we are not careful love can be selfish (I’m talking about the aunt here). The author shows how true love is self-sacrificing and always puts the happiness of others first. I also really liked how a girl who grew up in a log cabin on a mountain in North Carolina can be given her every wish and dream—only to learn that it means nothing without true love. A lovely story and I would definitely read more by this author.