The Adventures of Polo the Bear

A Comic Book of Climate Change (Kindle edition Part 1 of 3)

Children - Educational
38 Pages
Reviewed on 09/03/2019
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Review Exchange Program, which is open to all authors and is completely free. Simply put, you agree to provide an honest review an author's book in exchange for the author doing the same for you. What sites your reviews are posted on (B&N, Amazon, etc.) and whether you send digital (eBook, PDF, Word, etc.) or hard copies of your books to each other for review is up to you. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email, and be sure to describe your book or include a link to your Readers' Favorite review page or Amazon page.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

Author Biography

Alan J. Hesse is a conservation biologist and author of educational comic books. Alan believes that everyone should learn as much as possible about the natural world, and that this learning should be fun, engaging and action oriented.
Deeply concerned about the overall degradation of our planet, Alan created Polo the Bear and his comic book story to help spread awareness and knowledge about the complex, frightening and often confusing subject of climate change. He aims to make Polo the Bear into a global messenger for climate change education, climate action and hope for a better future.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Mamta Madhavan for Readers' Favorite

The Adventures of Polo the Bear: A Comic Book of Climate Change, Part 1 by Alan J. Hesse takes readers to somewhere off the coast of Greenland where a lone polar bear is hunting. He tries to follow his mother's instructions while hunting. The bear's piece of ice breaks away and starts to melt and melt and melt. Meanwhile, a group of fishermen is somewhere off the coast of Cornwall. Every time they go out in the boat, there are less fish and they think it is because the sea is getting warmer and there is less plankton for the cod. Next morning when they go out to sea again, they run into a heavy storm and so does the bear. The fishermen meet the bear who is happy to see a boat. Let us join Polo the Bear on his journey, going on an adventure with him to remote places and meeting the local people of these places who are dealing with climate change in their own way.

The author tackles a relevant subject in an interesting way and gives young readers good information about how climate change is affecting everyone all around the world. The comic book speaks about the problems that arise after deforestation, erosion, habitat loss, and more. It is a good story to spread awareness of climate change and I am sure, like me, that young readers will be waiting for the next book in the series. The illustrations give life to the concept and the characters, making them clear to young readers. This is definitely a good story for children because, along with the adventure and fun, it brings awareness to young readers about climate change.

RTH

A friend of mine recommended to take a look at this comics book and I fell in love with adorable Polar the Bear and his story. It is very well written and drawn. The story touches lots of aspects of climate change in a simple language and humorist way. I love these footnotes almost on every page, which refers to the actual study. I believe this kind of book can change the minds of the next generation and help save the world.

P.S. Winn

This is a comic book, but it is so much more than that. The author uses a polar bear to raise awareness for climate change. All ages can learn something from this book and are even given some ideas that all of us can use to help with climate change. The illustrations and the story line are fun, but they are also an important way for all to see what climate change is doing to the world we live in. Kudos to the author for bringing this important problem to light in a special way that is easier for kids to understand, What a great book for parents and grandparents to share with little ones whose lives will really be changed if we don't do something about this tragedy.

Dave Bellard

I love comic book novels in the tradition of Tintin, and Alan Hesse's POLO the Bear comic is as adventurous and fast paced as those classic comic books. Polo tells the story of a polar bear from Greenland who floats out to sea on an piece of ice, and in his adventures passes through dozens of countries and meets the local people who are each dealing with their own problems related to climate change. Hesse has first hand knowledge of some of these issues from his days of working on environmental climate change programs throughout South America, so he skillfully weaves the facts of climate change into a fun story that will captivate readers, young and old.

There is a lot of bang for your buck, as the book is a full 90 pages jam-packed front and back with frames. The production on this book is top-notch, with thick glossy pages and vibrant color. I ordered the print version - It's printed in the U.K. but I ordered it from the U.S. and received it in perfect condition in less than two weeks.

Amazon customer

I've been working on climate change issues since about 2003. The topic is challenging, confusing, and often upsetting. Yet we need to raise kids today who understand the challenges they will live with for the rest of their lives -- both as a set of chronic, developing problems and a shifting, critical set of solutions. Alan Hesse has written a book I have shared with my son and other children about climate change from a positive, useful, and productive (and fun!) approach. I hope you will buy the book to help arm the next generation with hope instead of despair.

Mina

I really like these comics. I think this book series is doing a very important job, informing about what is happening in the world regarding climate change and related social issues. It is quite amazing the amount of information that is told without getting boring or confusing. It has good rhythm and balance, it is very entertaining. I really love the style of the drawings. They are so efficient, so expressive, light, with a great flow. I totally recommend this comic for older kids. So vital for our future, to have this type of content, bringing awareness to reality in such a positive way.

Michael Ross

I love comics. I am very passionate about climate change. And here we have this wonderful combination. Now this is no flimsy comic, it is eighty-seven fact-filled pages, at the end of which I had learned so much more about the devastating effects of climate change and how it affects everyone all around the world.
What I particularly liked is the use of touches of humor that helped the story bury itself in your memory. It is informative for a very broad age range. I enjoyed reading it, so did my children, and best of all, it had all of us wanting to explore the issues of climate change even more.
I am happily donating the book, on the suggestion of my children, to their local primary school, so their friends can become more aware. They haven't suggested this of any book they have read so far.

Andy Tails

This is an amazing book about climate change
Shows the changes and effect that are occuring in different parts of the world... and in some cases the solution they are doing. There are many more solutions.. but if everyone did s5 least 3 then it would.have a small impact

Climate change is important
Climate change need to happen now!
Support climate change!
Everyone on board..needs the world community to make.change.

Ananda

This says it’s aimed at secondary school students but should be required reading for politicians and decision makers at every level.

So enjoyed this book. Charming characterisations and great drawing help introduce the myriad of oft unrecognised ways in which we are contributing to the climate chaos we face. And the journey brings out the many many ways it is impacting lives.
Just wish we could make it required reading!