The Blood Inheritance Novels Series

Rise and Lost

Young Adult - Fantasy - Urban
433 Pages
Reviewed on 09/27/2021
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Review Exchange Program, which is open to all authors and is completely free. Simply put, you agree to provide an honest review an author's book in exchange for the author doing the same for you. What sites your reviews are posted on (B&N, Amazon, etc.) and whether you send digital (eBook, PDF, Word, etc.) or hard copies of your books to each other for review is up to you. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email, and be sure to describe your book or include a link to your Readers' Favorite review page or Amazon page.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

    Book Review

Reviewed by K.C. Finn for Readers' Favorite

The Blood Inheritance Novels Series Two-Book Set: Rise and Lost is a combined work of fiction penned by author M. Ainihi. Set in the urban fantasy subgenre with plenty of action and thrills, the work is suited to the young adult reading audience, and this special edition contains exclusive previously unpublished illustrations by artist Tauseef Ahmed. The work gives readers an opportunity to follow the adventures of Amanda Garrett and her new jinni, Erol, whom she unwittingly frees from prison and binds to her for life. As Amanda’s accidental encounter leads her to become the target for more danger, kidnapping, and intrigue, she meets Emily and Kiami, each with unique magical gifts that also attract bad attention. As dark forces loom and threaten the teens and the wider world beyond them, they must band together and use their skills to unravel the mysteries before them and fight for what is right.

Author M. Ainihi offers a highly immersive fantasy series that gets off to a rocketing start in these first two books. In Rise, I found myself immediately invested in Amanda and the curious artifact she comes across. I enjoyed the introduction to the lore of the realms, how magic works, and the system of the jinnis that binds Erol to his new companion. I thought everything was well explained in terms that both YA and adult readers could easily get to grips with, making it simpler to immerse myself in the worldbuilding and fantastic storyline. By the time Lost begins, we are well versed in the world and invested in Amanda, so it’s time for other characters to take center stage and strike a chord in our hearts. The emotional build-up of the storyline and threat expansion in the plot make for some thrilling reading indeed. Overall, I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend The Blood Inheritance Novels Series for fantasy fans everywhere: an epic read indeed.