The Five Pivotal Points of Change

Achieving Change through the Mindful PRISM Change Process

Non-Fiction - Self Help
144 Pages
Reviewed on 04/19/2017
Buy on Amazon

    Book Review

Reviewed by Ann Neville for Readers' Favorite

The Five Pivotal Points of Change by Rena B. Schochet is a self-help guide to managing personal change in an effective and positive manner. This is achieved through using the Mindful PRISM Change Process. Schochet herself is a change coach and, having undergone several major changes herself, is in a unique position to write about this process. The model she has developed for successful change transition is based on mindfulness. Her Five Pivotal Points of Change explore a way of accepting adjustments and modifications through that mindfulness. The five points are presented via the mnemonic PRISM: Providence, Reaction, Internalization, Synthesis and Mindfulness. The paradigm works for planned and unplanned change and is useful for personal growth and change of any kind.

The Five Pivotal Points of Change is well written and is easy to understand. I found it helpful that Schochet describes the process of the necessary incremental steps in a theoretical manner and then, to add greater clarity and meaning, uses parables and real-life examples to illustrate each concept. These incremental steps are presented in a clear, reader friendly format to show the hierarchy of the model. Schochet's definition of change as being like the light of a prism particularly resonated with me - where, through the prism, light hits a polished surface, altering and bending every time it moves, just as change takes place in incremental ways all of the time. While The Five Pivotal Points of Change is intended for personal change and growth, the same concepts could also be applied as a basis for institutional change, as the same principles apply.