The Para-Portage of Emily

The Para-Portage of Emily

Shadow Seduction Series Book One

Fiction - Paranormal
196 Pages
Reviewed on 12/16/2015
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Review Exchange Program, which is open to all authors and is completely free. Simply put, you agree to provide an honest review an author's book in exchange for the author doing the same for you. What sites your reviews are posted on (Goodreads, B&N, Amazon, etc.) and whether you send digital (eBook, PDF, Word, etc.) or hard copies of your books to each other for review is up to you. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email, and be sure to describe your book or include a link to your Readers' Favorite review page or Amazon page.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

Author Biography

Muffy, a USA Today, International and Amazon Bestselling Award Winning Author, likened in style to one of the Bronte sisters and Anne Rice, is an author of provocative romance about love, sex, hope and passion. An American author of the popular Shadow Seduction Series (a paranormal love story) and the Ribbons of Moonlight Series (a contemporary romance), she has penned several dozen other books and anthology collections.

Muffy was born in Texas to traditional parents. With two older brothers, she was the youngest, the family "princess," indulged and pampered. Her father was a career Colonel and pilot in the U.S. Air Force which required the family to travel extensively. Muffy spent her formative years in Europe and 'came of age' in France which forged her joie de vivre and love for books and writing. Married and living in the tropical paradise of SW Florida along the Gulf Coast, Muffy writes and enjoys life in the sun with her husband and wee Havanese pup, Buddy.

Join Muffy's mailing list to get the scoop on her new releases and special promotions at www.MuffyWilson.com. Follow her on Facebook at facebook.com/wilsonmuffy or /MuffyWilson.com and on Twitter at @SexyMuffyWilson. Muffy also blogs daily here: http://muffywilson.blogspot.com ~ Contact Muffy at Muffy@MuffyWilson.com. ~ Live, Laugh, Love with Passion

    Book Review

Reviewed by Jack Magnus for Readers' Favorite

The Para-Portage of Emily, Shadow Seduction Series Book 1 is a romantic paranormal thriller written by Muffy Wilson. Emily Macque is a successful attorney and a partner in her father’s law firm, and she seemed to have it all -- until she was diagnosed with a serious and potentially fatal heart condition. Her father has asked her to handle his recently deceased partner’s probate and legal matters relating to his estate on a remote island in Lake Michigan. It’s the dead of winter, and the lake is filled with ice floes. Emily is not at all comfortable with the idea of taking the car ferry out to the middle of nowhere, but she has Barkley, her Havanese pup, with her for companionship, and she knows getting some rest is crucial for her very survival. When she finally arrives at the island, she’s enchanted by the timeless atmosphere of the place and soon feels a deep connection, as though she belongs there. That feeling intensifies when she actually arrives at Uncle John’s estate.

Muffy Wilson’s romantic paranormal thriller, The Para-Portage of Emily, Shadow Seduction Series Book 1, is an atmospheric and haunting tale about a young woman whose professional successes have been achieved at the cost of her personal life. Wilson’s picturesque descriptions of the island’s natural beauty and community made me long to move there, even if the winter season does sound quite harsh and unforgiving. I especially enjoyed the background story of Colin Jorgenson, the maritime captain who built much of Uncle John’s estate and pined away after the untimely death of his beloved wife. I found it deepened the suspense and mood as Emily finds herself courted in her dreams. This is a highly sensual and erotic story that is not appropriate for young readers nor for those who prefer squeaky-clean romance; however, the sexual interludes are both loving and respectful, and I did not find them at all offensive. While I found the ending a bit abrupt, I’m willing to wait and see what happens in the next book in the series. The Para-Portage of Emily, Shadow Seduction Series Book 1 is highly recommended.

Kim Anisi

The Para-Portage of Emily (Shadow Seduction Series Book 1) by Muffy Wilson tells the story of Emily, who has serious heart problems and is sent to sort out her dead uncle's estate and papers, so she would not have too much stress and find some time to relax away from what might cause her serious health problems. What nobody expected was that there was more to the estate she surprisingly inherited. There are shadows and dreams whose touch feel more real than the real world. There is the portrait of a woman who looks very much like Emily, and an intriguing love story from the past. Will the mystery be good for Emily's weak heart? Was it really such a good idea to send her to a remote island with so many unknown factors? And who is that man from her dreams?

While I enjoyed the general plot of The Para-Portage of Emily by Muffy Wilson, there was a bit too much detailed sex involved in it for me. Apart from this point, the novel was a very good read with vivid descriptions that made it quite easy to imagine the surroundings and people very well. There was a sense of suspense throughout most of the book which made it hard to stop turning the pages, and generally speaking, I wouldn't mind reading more books like this.

Lisa McCombs

When lovely Emily Macque, successful lawyer in her own right, inherits her uncle’s mansion on the coast of icy Lake Michigan, she doesn’t expect to fall in love with the isolated beauty of the island which houses the property. A city girl through and through, Emily is immediately transfixed with her new home. She visits the island and the mansion solely to finalize the paperwork involved in her father’s request to do so. Although she was relatively close to her uncle, Emily’s lawyer father is her one true champion; ever mindful of his daughter’s health, happiness, and business success. She tells him everything. But what happens on the shores of her private island and magical mansion are not subjects she is willing to divulge, even to her father. In an attempt to gain more knowledge of the lore of the past occupants of Mariner’s Maiden, Emily falls under the seductive spell of the ghostly Colin, who has mistaken her for his lost love Amalya, the inspiration for the magical statue that guards the gates of the mansion. Why can’t Emily fall for a human lover rather than the abstract spirit who haunts her?

I thoroughly enjoyed Emily's story. This offers an old-world charm of Victorian writing found in the romance classics of Bronte. Muffy Wilson has created a magical combination of romance and erotica in the most tasteful manner imaginable. The Para-Portage of Emily: Shadow Seduction Series, Volume 1 is a rare combination of ghost story fantasy that pulls the reader into a complex tale without the stigma of pornography while maintaining all of the elements of a sexy read. I am anxious for the second installment of Wilson’s series.

Carol Coetzee

The Para-Portage of Emily by Muffy Wilson is the story of Emily Macque. As a young lawyer who works for her father's law firm, Emily is sent to an island estate to handle the estate of her father's late partner, John Matheson. She enjoys the friendliness and welcoming attitude of the local inhabitants. Emily is a strong willed, yet disciplined character who becomes fascinated with the history of the house and the island, delving deeply into the sad, enthralling story. A sad story regarding previous owners of the home makes itself known through a wonderfully twisting, weaving and engrossing tale that will leave you gasping for more! Colin Jorgensen and his endearing love for his wife, Amalya, is an incredibly poignant story. I was glad to notice that this is book one and would love to know where the next book is heading!

The Para-Portage of Emily by Muffy Wilson is a fascinating, gripping and intricately thought out novel. Eloquent writing, with beautifully described scenes, and interesting little crumbs scattered throughout - look for them as they are leading somewhere - make for an interesting, enticing read. A haunting, ethereal romance, with paranormal events, intrigue, mystery and a fascinating, winding, complicated plot, all set out to grab you by the shoulders and keep you reading. A ghostly character and an incredible yearning permeate the book, which I found really touching. The characters are delightful, and sometimes quirky, well developed and entirely realistic. Lots of tantalizingly, dangerous, other-worldly and sensuous scenes. A lovely, enjoyable read.

Trisha Dawn

It all started with death. Emily Macque's Uncle John died and she was sent by her father's law firm to handle his probate, personal affairs, and summer estate. She was also sent there to rest as she was recently diagnosed with a heart condition. Such is the beginning of Muffy Wilson's The Para-Portage of Emily. Emily's stay was supposed to be uneventful. However, as she dug deeper, she uncovered more than what was normal. Muffy Wilson wrote about a love which transcends time. In the Para-Portage of Emily, this love was put under scrutiny and was explained thoroughly.

The novel was exquisitely done. It was written with such grace that even when it took time to uncover all the mysteries, it was worth it in the end. The dialogues were cleanly written, too. This was a book I had the pleasure of savoring. How Muffy Wilson wrote it will give readers the right feel. The sensitive details were written with such grace that it didn't sound too much. In terms of the characters, they were like real life people. They were suitable for the story and not out of place. As far as I'm concerned, I'm in love with Emily. In addition to that, I was torn between Colin and Cooper. Overall, I think The Para-Portage of Emily is a wonderful, seductive read. It's definitely a page-turner. If you are a fan of romance, this book is an indulgence. It was mine.

PA Jiuditta

Intoxicating Haunting Seduction ~ Highly Recommended Read!

I loved this book! The lonely longing of Colin, aching to be reunited with the woman he loves is so romantic. He returns night after night, in search of her, seeking out the love they shared that spans decades, even a century. When a woman, Emily McQue, comes to the remote Island estate to settle the probate and affairs of her late uncle, she falls in love with the house and grounds. As she organizes her uncle's probate, she learns more and more about the history, the residents (past and present) and her seduction begins.

The characters are vivid, well-developed and anchored in the story. The author's writing is much in the style of Anne Rice. The love scenes are steamy and erotic but not overtly graphic. Everyone has a purpose, dark or romantic, in Emily's pursuit of the truth. As Emily learns more about the love between the seafaring captain, Colin Jorgenson, and his young wife, Amalya, Emily learns more about their love, their family, even their house. Her personal challenges prove to be deeply effected by her growing intoxication with their love affair and the pivotal role the house, and she, plays hauntingly in their lives...and deaths. There is no turning back for her as she plunges into a timeless history of love, loss and........well, you'll just have to read it to find out! You will not regret it.

This author makes an articulate, poetic, dramatic debut with this novel. I cannot WAIT for the sequel!

Pablo Michaels

Suspenseful, mysterious, romantic and sensual

Muffy Wilson has brought a whole new meaning to sensual and spiritual romance in her newest book, The Para-Portage of Emily. She brings the reader to a new depth in participation in her story by rousing our all senses, and thrusting us into the sixth dimension of a spiritual love through her main character, Emily, who experiences the tragic, mysterious love of Colin and Amalya. Muffy weaves her hypnotic words into descriptions that seduce you to smell, taste, hear, and touch everything her words describe, making the reader a direct participant in the story and enabling you to feel the love Emily has for Colin and Amalya.
I was drawn to Emily’s character immediately. Her character is built as a strong willed, disciplined law partner with her father in Chicago and has a recently diagnosed heart condition, leaving her little time for love. Throughout the story I felt Emily was a lonely woman who was seduced by Colin and his magnetic masculine personality, who devoted his life and all his love to his wife, Amalya, even though they have been dead for decades. His love continued on in time in Uncle John’s estate, perhaps waiting for Emily’s arrival
From Chicago, to the dock on Lake Michigan to the Island where Emily goes to process the legal work of her deceased Uncle’s estate, a mystery and cold winter’s frozen vice take control of Emily, who suspects she will never leave the Island again. She succumbs to the friendliness of the people who live on the island year round, and discovers most of them are cousins and know everything about who lives there. But still unknown mysteries about Uncle John, the estate and the original owner, Colin, draw her into a web of complicated and powerfully tragic love relationships. Emily becomes trapped in a once in a lifetime love experience, with no return, to fulfill Colin’s wish to love Amalya again.
Once you are given the introductory explanations of Emily’s trip to the Island, the setting and her personality, you cannot stop reading this torrid love affair that Emily pursues. I absolutely recommend this book for those readers who love romance.

Angelica Berglund

5.0 out of 5 stars paranormal, romance and mystery, all in one
By Angelica Berglund on February 25, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition
This book is just brilliant and so damn good. I was hooked in the story witin a few pages and I just couldnt stop reading the book. It was impossible to put it down when you have started. THe story is very well written and unfoldes very nicely for the reader. It drags you in and keeps you spellbound.

their is a nice mix between paranormal, romance and mystery in the book and you can see that Muffy Wilson combinds them very well in this book. I must say that just the way of combinding things into one book is what makes this book so good. It is not pure anything more than pure awesome.

I like how the story is told and how the book is written. The style and tone is very well done and the tone of the language and how the language is used to drag the reader in, is what makes the book so good. Emily is also a very entertaining character that I like a lot and at first I was unsure about her but the more I got to know her the better I liked her. The character development and how they grow and changes in the book is also very nice and very well done. You can see the character changing and growing in the story and how they react to things in the story to a good way.

This is a must to read book because it is very well written with a very good storyline that is easy to follow but still gives you surprises. I just LOVE LOVE LOVE this book

J Kahele

5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing read
By J Kahele on December 17, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition
Muffy Wilson is beginning to be one of my favorite authors. Her writing style is unique and she is not afraid to delve or mix the genres. I cannot tell you what genre I would classify this book in, but it was extremely good.

Within four pages you know this is going to be a good book. Emily is a junior partner in her father’s law firm and when her father’s partner in the firm dies, she is sent to a frozen island off of Lake Michigan, to handle his estate. She is not crazy about going out there, but her father feels it will be a nice rest for her, given the recent news, of her sickly heart condition. She believes that she will be bored out of her mind, but soon finds that the estate holds hidden secrets, ghosts from the past and soon Emily is thrown right into the thick of it.

Aino Kusabi

4.0 out of 5 Delightful Read
By AinoKusabi on November 12, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition
The Para-Portage of Emily by Muffy Wilson is a story layered in multiple mysteries. Emily, a young woman with a heart condition, is sent by her father to handle her recently deceased Uncle John’s estate. She works for her father’s law firm and her uncle was a partner. Her father feels the time away from home, in a quiet location, might do her delicate health good. So, she travels alone from Chicago to an island nestled between Green Bay and Lake Michigan, with her dog Barkley.

Soon as she arrives at the island estate, she is enthralled by the beautiful home and its link to local history, which includes a story about the previous owner. As it turns out, she knows little to nothing about her uncle and decides to dig up whatever personal and historical information she can. Eventually, due to strange dreams, her own imagination and paranormal influence, she kind of becomes obsessed, especially with the history surrounding the original owner: Colin Jorgenson, the man who bought the property somewhere between 1890 and 1900.

While she deals with the legalities of the estate, she meets a small cast of supporting characters, and quickly learns the island is far removed from the outside world. In a small community everyone knows everyone else’s business, and she’s no exception. As she begins to unravel her uncle’s life, she also discovers more about Colin. And she embarks on, what’s to become, the journey of her life.

This novel was eloquently written, a visual feast, with a more than adequate amount of eroticism. Although, it’s difficult to tell in the beginning whether Emily’s sexual encounters are imagined or real. Of all the characters, I liked her the most. She’s a headstrong woman and nobody’s fool. But, having said that, I found the ending a little disappointing, even though I know it was inevitable. Without giving spoilers, I just feel that Emily, the intelligent and beautiful woman that she is, deserved significantly more than what she got. But, aside from that, the story was a thoroughly enjoyable read. The sex was deliciously sensual. And both the mystery and paranormal aspects were a total draw along with Emily’s engaging outlook on her new world.

Linda M Watson

5.0 out of 5 stars Mums, I loved it!
By Linda M Watson on August 10, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I loved Emily from the beginning to the end of the book! Please, please, please write more of Emily! I completely enjoyed reading this book, could not put it down!

Amanda Hamilton

4.0 out of 5 stars Good read
By Amanda Hamilton on June 11, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition
This was a very interesting and suspenseful read. It was a little too detailed to make it a fast paced or smooth read. If it weren't for too many details, I would have given it a 5 star. I really enjoyed this book and each of the characters presented. It was an eerie read that did keep you reading throughout to find out what would happen next.
I was given an ARC for my honest review.

Lovemuffins

5.0 out of 5 Jane Austen Wrote Erotic Romances
By Lovemuffins on June 12, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition
Reading The Para-Portage of Emily made me feel like I was reading Jane Austen or one of the Bronte sisters, if they had written erotic romances. Wilson's descriptive prose paints a scene like an artist paints a landscape. The story itself is hauntingly beautiful, interspersed with passionate erotic scenes that are done in a very romantic style with lots of description and emotion imbuing each one. I couldn't help but feel a little sad while reading the story, because there is quite a bit of sadness as Emily learns about the tragically romantic past of the house she's currently residing in, but at the same time there's a thread of hope as well. There's also a mystery to be solved and little hints scatter the story, like breadcrumbs, until it all comes together in the end.

While I found the story to be a bit sadder than I usually enjoy, I couldn't tear myself away from the beautiful writing, my curiosity over what kind of ending could be coming, and my desire to know exactly what was going on. There's ghosts - or maybe just shadows of the past - and all sorts of possibilities. Mostly, there's a sense of love that never dies, passion that never fades, and patience that never ends, until the reward finally comes. I'm very happy this is a series, although I wouldn't say the book ends on a cliff-hanger, but I can't wait to see where it goes from here.

If you want a completely different kind of ghostly romance, and especially if you love histories and love that crosses all barriers of time, space and death, this is definitely a book you won't want to miss. It's unlike anything I've ever read, in a very good way.

Jacquie Cullis

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent! A Must Read!
By Jacquie Cullis on June 9, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition
Spellbinding!

This is one of those books you find hard to put down. Muffy Wilson has sculpted her excellent word usage with care and breathed life into characters that jump off the page, telling a story amid a myriad of emotions.

Romance, anguish, thrills, tears, suspense … you name it, this book has everything. Brilliant imagery and use of senses that place you in scenes wanting to know the next bit, and the next, and the next. You find yourself urging the brilliantly executed characters that you can't fail to fall in love with, to make decisions and bring everyone together to be happy.

I can't wait to read more of Muffy's wonderful writing.

Dee Archer

4.0 out of 5 stars Spooky love story.
By Dee Archer on May 31, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition
A love that spans the centuries with a paranormal twist. If this is your "cup of tea", then you will love this book. Mystery captivates the reader from beginning to end. Good story line, likeable characters and the action was well described. I was given an ARC in exchange for an honest review. Four Stars.

Sibyl Mory

5.0 out of 5 stars PASSIONATE TALE
By Sibyl Mory on May 4, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition
Stunning story drawing together disparate threads into a breath-catching, heart-rending tale of passion spanning life and death. Emily goes to an island estate north of Chicago on business and is drawn into the spiritual world centred on Colin Jorgenson who has been returning to the land of the living for a century in search of the woman he loves. This is spooky, sensual, romantic, dramatic, and written with superb intensity, I couldn’t put it down.

Jessica Satin

5.0 out of 5 stars Sensuous and sublime
By Jessica Satin on April 30, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition
I just finished this and I'm tingling. I've become a big fan of Ms. Wilson's. I don't want to give too much away, but this is poetic, enticing, and the perfect blend of romance and eroticism played over a well-honed orchestra of suspense. It is a treat, a sublime, sensuous escape. Highly recommended!

Amazon Customer

4.0 out of 5 stars Can your one love last forever
By Amazon Customer on April 29, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition
This book was not what I expected it drew me in from the beginning as I wanted to know more about Emily & the house. Emily has come to her Uncle John's house to get it ready for probate little does she know what she will find her destiny. As Emily learns more about the house and it's history there are things that she can't explain away. The previous owners before her Uncle had a sad ending. Colin was a ship captain who lived in the house with his wife Amalya who was about to give birth to their first child. They had a great life but tragedy struck and Amalya passed away, Colin was a broken and he died of a broken heart as Amalya was his one true love. As Emily finds out more she starts having these dreams but they can't be real and neither can the man that stands looking over the lake? Is she losing her mind as Colin is long dead and he can't be visiting her. Can she accept her destiny and live her life to the fullest and be happy the man that has loved her forever. I loved the story of Colin & his family and that the shadows were real. The story was nice & easy to follow and it was believable as we all long for that one person. I can't wait to read her other books. I received a ARC copy in exchange for an honest review.

Pablo Michaels

5.0 out of 5 stars who mourns the loss of his true love, his wife
By Pablo Michaels on April 29, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition
The outlook for Emily is grim from the beginning in Muffy Wilson’s The Para-Portage of Emily. Through sensual descriptions, Muffy describes the main character’s journey to an island for business and relaxation. But the author suggests Emily will never leave the island, trapped with her infatuation in a man, Colin, who mourns the loss of his true love, his wife, Amalya, and cannot let her death pass without reuniting with Amalya no matter what course. Emily is Colin’s choice to resolve his loss and live forever with his lover. The author incorporates every sense to engage the reader in Emily’s determination to satisfy her quest in love and her devotion to Colin. I would not categorize this story as paranormal. It goes far beyond the sixth sense to believe in this ongoing love story between Emily, Colin and Amalya. Once starting this book you will not stop reading, needing to discover the mysteries of the Island and the love surrounding it. I give 5 Stars for The Para-Portage of Emily.

The junkie reader

5.0 out of 5 stars I love this author and her style the descriptions in her ...
By The junkie reader on April 28, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition
Wow just Wow!!!! I love this author and her style the descriptions in her stories of paranormal. This story is about ghostly elements of reality easily make it unbelievable believable.The story line was sensual and loving, this richness of mystery history. Muffy Wilson you go girl I am excited to see what comes up next.

Angel

5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating, ethereal and gripping romance
By Angel on April 27, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition
The Para-Portage of Emily is a fascinating, ethereal and gripping romance, with a unique and interesting plot, that keeps the reader captivated in a limbo between reality and dreams.
The gripping love for his wife that haunts Colin for over a century, and Emily’s seduction that lures her into the arms of the shadows left me breathless.

Wild About Books!

4.0 out of 5 stars An Interesting Read
By Wild About Books! on April 26, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition
I loved Emily’s strength of character in a story that will bathe all of your senses in this fantastic tale through Chicago, Michigan to an island Emily fears she will never leave we are drawn into an intricate tale of a strange, ethereal love story.
Ms. Wilson did her job well in pulling us into her novel of love, intrigue and paranormal entities. The story had a few problems and probably could have had another round of edits to remove a couple of the repetitive scenes, but they didn’t detract much from the overall feel of the story.
The Para-Portage of Emily is an interesting read and I recommend it without hesitation.

C.K. Laurence, Mystery Au

5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating!
By C.K. Laurence, Mystery Author on April 25, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition
I am not easily seduced, but Muffy Wilson took my hand and led me into the shadows and whispers of erotica. The further I read, the better the seduction.
Could I put it down before I finished reading? Unthinkable! I am still tingling...

Jacintha Topaz

5.0 out of 5 stars Mystery, romance, paranormal, suspense
By Jacintha Topaz on April 24, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition
Mystery, romance, paranormal -- all combine for a delightful treat for the senses as Wilson captivates with haunting imagery and seduces us into a world where nothing is as it seems. Attorney Emily Macque is sent to settle the legal affairs surrounding her uncle's death and estate. On a frozen island off the coast of Lake Michigan, Emily meets Colin Jorgenson, someone who has been haunted by the loss of someone whom he has loved for a century. Their meeting sends them into a tail spin -- their worlds collide and stakes increase. Will they have a chance at forever or be locked into the shadows of the limbo world?

The multiple genres Wilson was able to weave in this one story makes for an entertaining read. Recommended.

Chloe

5.0 out of 5 stars Cross Genre Paranormal Erotic Mystery
By Chloe on April 23, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition
Should John Grisham and EL James have a secret love child, she would no doubt pen legal thrillers with a luscious layer of the erotic. They would name their child Muffy Wilson and send her to Stephen King for some pointers in the paranormal.

Wilson, in the obliquely titled "The Para-Portage of Emily", interweaves these three diverse genres into a compelling, magic carpet of a novel that takes Emily Macque from Chicago to a bitter island estate two hundreds miles north in the frozen sea. Emily is the striking junior partner in her father’s law firm, her mission, to settle the probate on an estate, her destiny to fall into the arms of Colin Jorgenson, a seaman haunted by a past love that torments his life.

Intelligent, well-written, with fully fleshed out characters and a story with more twists than a spiral staircase, "The Para-Portage of Emily" had me gripped until the very last page.

ocmd VINE VOICE

5.0 out of 5 stars A Tantalizing Paranormal Romance
By ocmd VINE VOICE on April 20, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition
This captivating paranormal romance plays out in tantalizing fashion. The mystery, magical setting, and carefully engineered plot kept me engrossed. The writing flows and the characters are unforgettable. By the end, I was totally involved with their story, and emotionally invested in the outcome. Well done!

Anari

5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully Haunting!
By Anari on April 20, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition
This was a magical little glimpse into other worldly realms - namely that of the dead. All through the story you have one foot firmly in that of the living and other foot that’s dipping it’s toes into another place entirely. But can a living person, namely Emily Macque, fall in love with a ghost?

This is a suspenseful read and Ms Wilson’s descriptive writing is tantalisingly delightful. I didn’t want the story to end - and that is the best kind of praise there is!

Jordan Stringfellow

5.0 out of 5 stars Attorney Emily Macque immediately falls in love with the island and Mariner's Maiden
By Jordan Stringfellow on April 17, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This is a story to savor. Attorney Emily Macque immediately falls in love with the island and Mariner's Maiden, her uncle's home there. Fascinated and nearly obsessed with the history of the welcoming home, she immerses herself in delving into its history and learning more about the original lovers who lived there.

Ms. Wilson's descriptions are poetic and enthralling, placing the reader in the midst of the story, and the relaxed pace of the story does not lessen the power of suspense. Shrouded in mystery, romance, and eroticism, "The Para-Portage of Emily" is a treat for the senses, a haunting indulgence. Despite hints throughout, the ending still surprised me, and though satisfied, I regretted the literary journey's end. Highly recommended. I look forward to more from this promising series.

Yoong

5.0 out of 5 stars A Romantic Tale to Die For!
By Yoong on April 15, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition
Set on an island during the thick of winter in Lake Michigan, Emily, the protagonist finds herself mixed in the shadowy past of the Mariner’s Maiden estate. A mystical and romantic tale that had me turning the pages to find out the truth behind the ghostly apparition hidden within the depths of this cold chilly landscape. A romantic tale to die for.

AquaJock

5.0 out of 5 stars Eerie and Captivating
By AquaJock on April 15, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition
Emily Macque is a junior partner in her father’s law firm and heads to a remote estate 250 miles north of Chicago to settle an estate not realizing she’s about to meet a man haunted by his past and embroil herself into a dangerous situation. An eerie and captivating story of mystery and romance, rife with steamy, erotic love scenes and surprising twists, The Para-Portage of Emily is a must-read.

LoveToRead

5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!
By LoveToRead on April 14, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition
I just finished The Para-Portage of Emily. Quite the page-turner!! I was gifted a free copy by the author and found it to be a cleverly woven plot with descriptive characters you won’t soon forget. I’m not one to give out spoilers, but if you like paranormal intrigue, hot romance, and mystery, you will love it. Looking forward to more works by Muffy Wilson as I’m sure they will be just as brilliant.

Lilian Roberts

5.0 out of 5 stars This is a wonderful novel by Muffy Wilson
By Lilian Roberts on April 13, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition
This is a wonderful novel by Muffy Wilson. The characters are great and very believable. The author did a fantastic job in creating a plot that will keep the reader glued to the pages and eager for more.
It is very well written with several amazing twists that made it difficult for me to put the book down. I would highly recommend the book to anyone who loves romance, seduction, excitement and suspense.

Kirstein Howell VINE VOIC

4.0 out of 5 stars Romantic & Mystical
By Kirstein Howell VINE VOICE on April 5, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition
What I love about this author is her style and descriptions which give such depth and atmosphere to her stories. With this story, add in the paranormal, some ghostly elements, like faces in the mist or supposedly imagined touches, and reality flows easily into making the unbelievable believable, especially with her masterful handle on crafting a story.

While for me, kind of a jump in with both feet sort of gal in real life and in fiction, the story kind-of got off to a slow start, actually, once the main character got to her destination, the book took on a whole new feel: the setting grew mystical and intriguing, the character bore a greater depth along with that wonderful dangerous inquisitiveness, the story line took off being both dreamy and ghostly while also sensual and loving, all of this with the richness of history laced in a little mystery. Who could ask for more?

This is my second Muffy Wilson book, given to me by the author for an honest review, and I can honesty say that I am excited to see what she comes up with next.

Barbara A. Lyle

5.0 out of 5 stars I really enjoyed the Para-Portage of Emily
By Barbara A. Lyle on March 31, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I really enjoyed the Para-Portage of Emily... a skillfully and imaginatively told tale of love, lost and found. Mysterious twists kept me turning the pages until the end. Love conquers all, AND it was hot!

PA Jiuditta

5.0 out of 5 stars Intoxicating Haunting Seduction ~ Highly Recommended Read!
By PA Jiuditta on March 30, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition
I loved this book! The lonely longing of Colin, aching to be reunited with the woman he loves is so romantic. He returns night after night, in search of her, seeking out the love they shared that spans decades, even a century. When a woman, Emily McQue, comes to the remote Island estate to settle the probate and affairs of her late uncle, she falls in love with the house and grounds. As she organizes her uncle's probate, she learns more and more about the history, the residents (past and present) and her seduction begins.

The characters are vivid, well-developed and anchored in the story. The author's writing is much in the style of Anne Rice. The love scenes are steamy and erotic but not overtly graphic. Everyone has a purpose, dark or romantic, in Emily's pursuit of the truth. As Emily learns more about the love between the seafaring captain, Colin Jorgenson, and his young wife, Amalya, Emily learns more about their love, their family, even their house. Her personal challenges prove to be deeply effected by her growing intoxication with their love affair and the pivotal role the house plays in their lives...and deaths. There is no turning back for her as she plunges into a timeless history of love, loss and........well, you'll just have to read it to find out! You will not regret it.

This author makes an articulate, poetic, dramatic debut with this novel. I cannot WAIT for the sequel!

Jacqueline George

5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Combination of Mystery and Romance
By Jacqueline George on March 28, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition
A wonderful combination of mystery and romance. Set on an island in Lake Michigan, in the depth of winter, it tells the tale of Emily visiting Mariner’s Maiden estate to clear up the effects of her late Uncle John.
She slips easily into the local society, and begins to learn about Mariner’s Maiden past and the shadowy people who made it. She thinks she in the house alone with her dog, but there is much more to discover.
This is a good read, with characters and places painted true to life, and a ghostly background that reveals itself tantalisingly. It certainly kept me turning the pages in anticipation, right to the end…

Kimberly Gould

4.0 out of 5 stars Eerie and haunting
By Kimberly Gould on March 24, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition
The Para-Portage of Emily is an interesting title for an eerie and otherworldly romance. The scene is set on a small island in the winter, where ice fog and snow make everything a little less familiar, a little more magical. Emily takes to her new surrounding with gusto, tracking down the pieces she needs to put her Uncle’s affairs in order and uncover the mysteries behind his estate.
Muffy Wilson does a fantastic job of setting the mood in this novel. We always feel like we have one foot in reality and one in dream. And these dreams are far more vivid than real life is sometimes. It is easy to fall into the setting.
I did have a few hiccups with it. I found the prologue unnecessary, which isn’t an issue normally, but I also found it didn’t have the tone of the book and was very sterile. It worked against everything that came after.
I had a few characters and repetitious scenes/actions that had me skipping passages to get to the next meaty bit.
I love the furry companions that come along. They are used to pace the book – oh, it’s time to let the dog out – as well as ground home reality when the dream seems to take over.
I am not a romance reader normally, but I have been enjoying Muffy’s writings in other venues and decided to try my feet in their pond. I’m still not a romance reader, but that doesn’t negate the fact that the Para-Portage of Emily is a good read.

Chloe

5.0 out of 5 stars Cross Genre Paranormal Erotic Mystery
By Chloe on April 23, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition
Should John Grisham and EL James have a secret love child, she would no doubt pen legal thrillers with a luscious layer of the erotic. They would name their child Muffy Wilson and send her to Stephen King for some pointers in the paranormal.

Wilson, in the obliquely titled "The Para-Portage of Emily", interweaves these three diverse genres into a compelling, magic carpet of a novel that takes Emily Macque from Chicago to a bitter island estate two hundreds miles north in the frozen sea. Emily is the striking junior partner in her father’s law firm, her mission, to settle the probate on an estate, her destiny to fall into the arms of Colin Jorgenson, a seaman haunted by a past love that torments his life.

Intelligent, well-written, with fully fleshed out characters and a story with more twists than a spiral staircase, "The Para-Portage of Emily" had me gripped until the very last page.