Beyond Destiny

The Afterlife Series, Book 3

Fiction - Suspense
174 Pages
Reviewed on 08/01/2016
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Free Book Program, which is open to all readers and is completely free. The author will provide you with a free copy of their book in exchange for an honest review. You and the author will discuss what sites you will post your review to and what kind of copy of the book you would like to receive (eBook, PDF, Word, paperback, etc.). To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Review Exchange Program, which is open to all authors and is completely free. Simply put, you agree to provide an honest review an author's book in exchange for the author doing the same for you. What sites your reviews are posted on (B&N, Amazon, etc.) and whether you send digital (eBook, PDF, Word, etc.) or hard copies of your books to each other for review is up to you. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email, and be sure to describe your book or include a link to your Readers' Favorite review page or Amazon page.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

Author Biography

Following thirty odd years in the British Army, Deb and her husband Allan decided to become weather refugees and settle in Cyprus.
Throughout her life Deb has dabbled with writing. Her first book was 'Reindeer Dreams' - a quirky rhyming Christmas story for children featuring Barry the reindeer and his family. Her first grown-up books about aliens and unearthly spiders could be explained as off the wall. The Afterlife trilogy came next with a few 'Jason the Penguin' books in between.
The first book in the current series 'Unlikely Soldiers' is set in nineteen seventies Britain. The second published May 2016 covers the early eighties and includes the Falklands War, service in Northern Ireland and (the former) West Germany.
Deb now spends her time writing, working part-time, avoiding housework and playing tour guide along with Allan. She also occasionally blogs from Donut the dog's point of view. Deb tries to keep the pounds off by playing netball and long-distance walking.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Jack Magnus for Readers' Favorite

Beyond Destiny: The Afterlife Series, Book 3 is a supernatural novel of suspense written by Deb McEwan. Val's friend, Marian, and her daughter, Libby, were horrified to find Val lying unconscious and bleeding in her bedroom. She had not been the same since her ill-fated relationship with the man she knew as Gary, but who had turned out to be Big Ed, a vicious and sadistic criminal. After the shock of losing her husband, Ron, in the taxi accident that took both his and Claire's life, the widow had valiantly started rebuilding her life, making friends with Marian and starting a new career as a charity worker. Now, she had been fired from her job because of the scandal around Big Ed and seemed to have nothing left to live for. Big Ed was later attacked and murdered in prison, but, for Val, things got even worse after that. He began to haunt her dreams, startlingly realistic dreams that terrified her. Claire, Ron, and the other angelic forces were meanwhile defending the earth against an ever-increasing horde of evil entities that seemed determined to make earth a living hell.

Deb McEwan's supernatural novel of suspense, Beyond Destiny: The Afterlife Series, Book 3, is a gripping and thought-provoking dark fantasy where good is pitted against the demonic, and the result is anything but certain. These angelic hosts are not the infallible and resilient beings one typically envisions them to be. McEwan’s forces of good get injured, sometimes desperately so, as Claire learns to her dismay when her beloved Raphael returns from a battle with horrific wounds. His injuries were so profound that he seemed to hover in a comatose state, and she could only wait and hope for his recovery. McEwan's enthralling dark fantasy takes place on two stages: the worldly and the otherworldly, and her earthly beings can't help but be affected by the otherworldly war that is raging around them. In her story, McEwan addresses a more pressing real life issue -- depression and the impact it has on the life of the affected and his/her family and friends. There's also the marvelous sub plot of the recruitment of Claire's twin brothers, Jim and Tony, by the top secret government school for people with special abilities. Beyond Destiny is an action-packed and thrilling tale that delivers. It's highly recommended.