Charlie the Horse


Children - General
40 Pages
Reviewed on 05/25/2017
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Review Exchange Program, which is open to all authors and is completely free. Simply put, you agree to provide an honest review an author's book in exchange for the author doing the same for you. What sites your reviews are posted on (B&N, Amazon, etc.) and whether you send digital (eBook, PDF, Word, etc.) or hard copies of your books to each other for review is up to you. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email, and be sure to describe your book or include a link to your Readers' Favorite review page or Amazon page.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Vernita Naylor for Readers' Favorite

Have you ever wondered how horses become Derby winners? Charlie the Horse by Deanie Humphrys-Dunne is a wonderful children's book about Charlie, the horse. From the beginning Charlie was born to win, just like his father, Charles the Great. Charlie dreamed of becoming a famous racehorse. As children read Charlie the Horse, they will learn about the world of horses. Children will learn the various terms and meanings associated with the horsing industry, from words like canter (slow gallop) and paddock (holding place for the horses before a race) to the starting gate. Charlie loved frolicking, running, and eating in the field with his friends, Buddy and Glory, but he kept his dream at the forefront of his mind and one day his dream came true. In Charlie the Horse by Deanie Humphrys-Dunne, children will learn that with perseverance and determination their dreams can also come true.

I highly recommend Charlie the Horse by Deanie Humphrys-Dunne because children will be fully engaged while reading it. They will enjoy following Charlie and his adventures, and they will learn various types of lessons like doing your best no matter how you feel, as Charlie was told by his mentor, retired racehorse and legend in his own right, General Quick. Additionally, in reading Charlie the Horse, children will become involved and parents can gauge their understanding as they are asked questions about the story, which will in turn enhance their learning experience.

Virginia Wright, children's author

An adorable story especially for horse lovers!, December 10, 2015
By Virginia Wright
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Charlie the Horse (Kindle Edition)
Charlie the Horse by Deanie Dunne is an adorable story and nicely illustrated. It is about a horse who is born from racing stock. At first, he felt a bit awkward as his legs were going every which way after birth. Charlie is curious and has a hunger for racing like his father, who was a racehorse. Charlie’s mother takes him out and teaches him how to eat, to play, and brings him to speak with other racehorses. He walks, trots, and trains all in preparation for his big racing day. He speaks to The General, a racehorse and he tells Charlie racing is tricky, but a lot of fun. He also tells him never to give up, even if he is having a bad day. Great lessons to be learned in this book for young readers. Recommended for young readers, especially those fond of horses.

Angela

What a great horse story of Charlie and his racing carrer!, August 26, 2016
By Angela
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Charlie the Horse (Kindle Edition)
I thought the author did a great job of keeping the reader turning pages after pages, till like me I was finally able to finish this story tonight! This is why I was able to enjoy this ebook and wish now to recommend this for five stars and especially for those who love to read clean,fun horse stories like this I received this ebook for free and in particular to give it an honest review. Super job Deànie! By Angela

Rhonda Patton, author

Fun story on a talking horse called Charlie, May 31, 2016
By The Croak 500
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Charlie The Horse (Kindle Edition)
An inspiring story for any child. It was a fun experience reading this book by author Deanie Dunne. She put great thought into this book and into the imagination of making the horse (Charlie) talk himself.

Author of "The Croak 500"

Diane

Smiling, December 14, 2014
By diane
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Charlie the Horse (Kindle Edition)
I loved it. Animal stories have always been one of my favorites. It was also a very quick read. I recommend it to kids and adults.

Laurie Loveman, author

Becoming a Winner!, February 16, 2011
By Laurie Loveman
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Charlie the Horse (Paperback)
We follow Charlie the Horse as he leaves home to receive his education, and it's great fun to hear his thoughts about his experiences.

An older racehorse, The General, tells Charlie that it is important not to give up if he has a bad day. As Charlie learns about being a racehorse, he remembers those words often, and in the end, by working hard, he reaches his goal.

With clear and relaxed writing, Deanie Humphrys-Dunne lets Charlie the Horse pass on this important message to his readers. Charlie learns through trial and error how to become a winning racehorse, and through his thoughts, his story inspires his readers to do their best and not let temporary setbacks discourage them.

I look forward to joining Charlie and his family and friends for more adventures!

Reviewed by Laurie Loveman

Patricia Daly Lipe

Getting to know a Thoroughbred, May 27, 2011
By Patricia Daly Lipe
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Charlie the Horse (Paperback)
'Charlie the Horse' is a wonderful book not only for children but adults as well to learn about the road to the racetrack by thoroughbred horses. It is especially appropriate now that we are in the Triple Crown and summer racing season. Beautifully illustrated by the author's sister, Holly, it is lovely book to keep forever in your library for enjoyment and reference.

Patricia Moore, author

Interesting and Educational, May 11, 2017
By Patricia Moore
This review is from: Charlie The Horse (Kindle Edition)
The story about Charlie is told from Charlie's perspective. Children should find this story interesting, especially children who like horses and horse racing. It is also educational.

Theodore J. Cohen

Inspiring, February 12, 2017
By Theodore J. Cohen
This review is from: Charlie The Horse (Kindle Edition)
Few are born with the innate skills and intelligence necessary to achieve success effortlessly in life. The rest of us have to work at it. Only through perseverance and determination are we able to achieve our goals in life. When all is said and done, that is the “message” to be found in Charlie the Horse.

Leaving home is the least of Charlie’s concerns. Overcoming his fears in preparing for the races into which he is entered present far greater challenges. Another horse by the name of The General—a mentor of sorts—guides Charlie, encouraging him never to give up, regardless of what life throws at him. This lesson, above all, is probably one of the most important “takeaways” a child can derive from reading this book (not that more than a few adults might benefit as well!). That the story is about a horse only enhances the book’s value for young readers, as do the beautiful illustrations by Holly Humphrys-Bajaj.

Five STARS all the way.

Yosef Lapid, author

Racehorse Magic – A Five Stars Read!, November 28, 2016
By Yosef Lapid
This review is from: Charlie The Horse (Kindle Edition)
Racehorse Magic – A Five Stars Read!

I have limited experience with horses but I thoroughly enjoyed this captivating tale of hard work, perseverance and well-deserved success. The author does a great job of conveying some timeless messages about setting-goals and overcoming challenges through a highly entertaining, richly informative and perfectly paced story. The book is divided into easy to follow chapters and each chapter reflects a step in the evolution of the main character, Charlie the Horse. Told in a charming first-person voice, the story offers a unique glimpse into the life of a thoroughbred from the horse’s point of view. Readers will easily feel the horse’s emotions of fear and thrill as he struggles with difficult situations and overcomes them. Beautifully crafted illustrations complement the story. A splendid book that will delight readers of all ages.

Karen Smith

Charlie the Horse by Deanie Dunne is such a great story about a horse from the time he was born and given his name Charlie the Horse after his famous daddy, Charlie the Great.
Charlie is really a funny horse and it took a few times when he was in training for the trainer and the exercise person to figure this out. Charlie was out on the track and he was running good but he saw some flowers and he wanted to stop an have them for a snack. Kerry says come on Charlie not now. When they came back from that trip out Kelly told Misty what happened. Misty says I noticed that he does like to smell and eat flowers but what can we do.
They decided that they should try blinkers and they found that it worked well Charlie also got the idea that he needed to keep his mind on what his job was racing not the flowers. He later was set up to run against two friends Gloria and Budding the first time out he let them win but the next time he told himself that he wasn't going to do that again, he wants to be a winner so that is just what he did, He left them in the dirt and it felt good he said.
The trainer saw what speed Charlie was showing so she talked it over with Kelly if she thought it was time for a better race and they both decided to asked the owner if they could put him in a better race to see what he will do. The first race he did well not a winner but showed again that he has the speed again permission was given to enter a even more challenged race for CHARLIE this time he won and then won again.
Charlie was so happy when he would make it to the winners ring because of how much he liked flowers that were hung on his neck. He also would get a very special dinner and a bubble bath an brushed till he shined so nice. He also would get his candy for a extra treat.
Charlie also found that he liked to watch butterflies because they were so pretty to watch when out in the fields, Charlie loves to eat dandelions and tulips while watching them. When Charlie had to do something that he didn't really like, he would stomp showing he was not happy.
Joe was his jockey and took him on to win several races and then on this last race before they were going back to have a vacation and spend time with his family, they made a trip to the winners ring and Charlie saw all these ladies walking around with hats full of flowers. Charlie thought to himself wonder if I could eat their hats.
Trip back to his home base was a joyful time for Charlie, first one he saw was his mom and then ran up to her and she says, you have grown an even prettier then you were before. Charlie was left to visit with his sister an they told each other how much they loved each other. Now it is time for him to have a very nice vacation before it is time to work again.

Gina111

Beautifully Written and Illustrated, September 19, 2016
By Gina111
This review is from: Charlie The Horse (Kindle Edition)
Beautifully written and illustrated, "Charlie the Horse" brings the world of racehorses to children. The story is engaging throughout. Follow Charlie as he grows from a inquisitive colt to a stunning stallion. "Will I be as good a racehorse as my Dad?" Charlie asks. You will have to read the story to find out. Recommended reading for everyone.

Hajit Oron

From birth to the Southern Derby, July 31, 2016
By Hagit R. Oron
This review is from: Charlie The Horse (Kindle Edition)
What a beautiful story!
The plot follows Charlie the horse from the moment he's born until he is a fully grown racing horse. The story is told via Charlie's eyes and we share his thoughts, fears, and excitements.
The black and white illustrations are artistic and delicate. They enrich the story.
Any child with love to horses will surely enjoy this delightful story of Charlie the horse.

Elizabeth Seckman, author

Another Beauty, January 28, 2016
By Elizabeth Seckman
This review is from: Charlie The Horse (Kindle Edition)
As a kid, I first fell in love with horse stories after reading "Black Beauty". There is a majesty and devotion to these creatures that makes their stories addictive, even now that I am an adult. Charlie's story is a fun, lighthearted story of a colt who dreams of being a winning race horse and his path to getting the chance to compete. The story was not only entertaining, but informative also. The reader can tell Ms. Dunne loves and knows her horses.

therealbg

I loved Charlie the Horse by Deanie Humphrys-Dunne, October 5, 2015
By therealbg
This review is from: Charlie the Horse (Kindle Edition)
I loved Charlie the Horse by Deanie Humphrys-Dunne. I read it to my daughter about twice a week and she still hasn't gotten tired of it. What a great childrens story with plenty of character development and a great flow. I am now going to try another book by this author called Tails of Sweetbrier. Thanks for such a wonderful story and don't ever stop writing.

Camy

A successful horse that will make you smile..., June 10, 2015
By Camy
This review is from: Charlie the Horse (Kindle Edition)
Charlie the Horse has a dream to become the best racehorse. As we all know, to reach our goals sometimes we need to make difficult choices, and Charlie has to say goodbye to his mom and his friends. Once he reaches the training facility he works very hard and he gets rewarded by winning one of the most prestigious races, the Kentucky Derby!
This story is a great teaching to young children that anything is possible if they really focus and work hard to achieve their goals. I really enjoyed this book, cute and funny, I really recommend it!

J. L. Mitchell, author

Charming & Adorable, May 27, 2015
By J L. Mitchell
This review is from: Charlie the Horse (Kindle Edition)
Charlie the Horse
Cover Art: Sweet

This book is just adorable. And not only will your kids enjoy having it read to them, but

you may enjoy it more!

AGL

Inspiring with many lessons, January 24, 2015
By AGL
This review is from: Charlie the Horse (Kindle Edition)
Excellent lessons about perseverance, taking charge, taking chances, believing in one's self, and friendship. Best book for kids that love horses.

Gisela Sedlmayer

A wonderful inspirational horse story., January 10, 2015
By Gisela H. Sedlmayer, author of the Talon book series
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Charlie the Horse (Kindle Edition)
Charlie the horse, is a great and exciting horse story for children.
I am not a child, but I still enjoyed reading it very much. As a teenager I was horse riding and always wondered what horses were thinking and put little speeches for the horse I was riding. I also ran horses on the beaches at Northsee in Germany. It was thrilling, for me and the horse. I felt how horses love to run.
And so is it with Charlie. He enjoyed learning how to run for races because he loved to run, and when he was booked in for several races, he just had to win. And he won each race after he became only second in his first race.

I highly recommend that story for every child, not only for children, they love horses.

Deborah S. Hockenberry, author

A Must Read for Any Horse Lover, September 11, 2014
By Deborah S. Hockenberry
This review is from: Charlie the Horse (Kindle Edition)
One morning, Charlie the Horse is born at Raven Racing Stables. He spends his days frolicking in the meadows with his mother running and eating wildflowers. That is, until his mother takes him to another barn where he can meet other foals. There he meets his two best friends, Glory and Buddy. The three foals like to race each other in the meadow to see who’s fastest. In the barn where Charlie met Glory and Buddy, Charlie also meets another racehorse named General Quick who was a great racehorse when he was younger. Charlie gets a lot of racing advice from him. Will Charlie be a great race horse like his father, Charles the Great?

I liked this book since it lets the reader know not to ever give up on your dreams. It also lets them know to never give up, no matter what. I also liked how skillfully the author wove in real terms of parts of a horse or the training terms.

Uncle Amos

I highly recommended this wonderful picture book!, March 20, 2014
By Uncle Amos
This review is from: Charlie the Horse (Kindle Edition)
Deanie Humphrys-Dunne did it again and wrote a wonderful book !

The book is for children learning to read and their parents (Teacher at school would also enjoy).

If you want to learn and to read about horses life and the relationship between the men & horses

the book is for you!

Your kids/grandsons would really enjoy.

I highly recommended this wonderful picture book!

SRM Reviews

A Champion On Multiple Fronts!, July 12, 2013
By SRM-Reviews
This review is from: Charlie the Horse (Kindle Edition)
In her book "Charlie the Horse", author Deanie Humphrys-Dunne invites her reading audience to a close-up view of the world of champion horse racing. She does so cleverly, as the inside story of breeding and training horses is told from the point of view of a champion racehorse.

The story is lovely, the information fascinating, and the values imparted are relevant to readers, young and old. Charlie is a champion racer, but he is also a champion of fundamental values such as work ethic, commitment to task, persistence and tenacity, and integrity and self-respect that are manifested in the effort to excel and be the best one can be. Another set of values that are thematic in the book is evident in the respect, appreciation, and gratitude exhibited by Charlie, who seeks the wisdom and prizes the mentorship of the retired racehorse General Quick. Another winner from Deanie Humphrys-Dunne!

J. Spina, author

Charlie the Horse, May 17, 2013
By Jjspina
This review is from: Charlie the Horse (Kindle Edition)
Deanie H. Dunne is a professional equestrian who has won awards for her prowess in jumping. She has put all her knowledge into some fascinating and educational books for children. I reviewed two of her books previously and this is her third, Charlie the Horse.

All Deanie's books are beautifully illustrated by her talented sister, Holly Humphreys-Bajaj.

Children will enjoy this delightful story about Charlie who is born from a long line of championship race horses. Charlie is a handsome horse with black hair and a crooked white blaze on his face. He wants very much to be a champion like his father and grandfather. He gets advice along the way from General Quick, an old retired racehorse. Charlie learns that it is not as easy as he thought to be a champion racehorse and that it takes a lot of hard work and dedication to succeed. He has friends Buddy and Glory who also are learning how to race. They help each other by encouraging and supporting one another during their training and practice races. Charlie has an engaging personality that will capture the hearts of children of all ages. The readers will find themselves cheering Charlie on in each of his races with enthusiasm.

This sweet story will help children understand that it is important to respect and encourage one other to succeed at whatever one chooses to do in life. Children will learn that persistence and discipline will earn them great rewards. A worthwhile and enjoyable read for children. I give this book five stars.

Sherry Ellis, author

Sweet Story of a Very Talented Horse, February 28, 2011
By Sherry Ellis
This review is from: Charlie the Horse (Paperback)
Charlie the Horse begins with the birth of a very special colt. He is the son of a famous racehorse, Charles the Great. The colt's mother names him, "Charlie the Horse." She encourages him, telling him how handsome he is, and telling him that someday he may be a great racehorse like his daddy. He begins his days at the Racing Haven Farm, and learns a few tips for racing from another famous racehorse, General Quick. Soon the day comes when it's time for Charlie the Horse to start his racing career. He proves to be one very talented horse, winning nearly every race. He likes winning and always does his best.

Charlie the Horse is a very sweet story that would appeal to young horse lovers ages seven to ten. The dialog between the horses is simply delightful. Readers will also learn a thing or two about horse terminology, as author Deanie Humphrey provides definitions for some words that might be unfamiliar. As a added bonus, parents will approve of the inherent message to always work hard and not become overconfident. Charles the Horse is a quick read that kids in the second through fifth grades would really enjoy.

Geri Ahearn, top reviewer, author

A DELIGHTFUL ADVENTURE!", November 13, 2010
By Author/Reviewer Geri Ahearn
This review is from: Charlie the Horse (Paperback)
Charlie was born in Kentucky, and grew up at Racing Haven Farm. His proud mom nurtured him, taught him what to eat, and showed him where to run. She introduced Charlie to other foals, and General Quick, who was a famous retired racehorse. Charlie wanted to be as famous as his dad, but knew he had to learn about running skills from the General. His best friends were Glory, and Buddy. After running around the pasture with his friends, he gained confidence to reach his goals, and follow his dream. How did Charlie feel when he was informed that he had to leave his mother and friends behind, when it was time to go to the training farm? Who taught Charlie that he had to overcome his fears, and what did he do at Sweetbrier Racing Stable? Did Charlie stay focused with weights on his back, a saddle, and a girth? What did Misty and Kerry teach Charlie, and was he focused? How did Charlie respond to the sound of a loud bell, and did he obey to the commands of cantering, trotting, and galloping? What was the reason for blinkers, and what happened at Delmar Race? At age two, Charlie ran at the Donley Fair Race, was he scared, and did he win? Why did a blacksmith have to take care of Charlie, after this race? Where did Charlie become one of the best racehorses, and what was different about Woodmont Stakes day? Did Charlie ever become a champion, and when did he return home to visit his mother, his new baby sister, and his friends? How many races did Charlie compete in with Buddy? I highly recommend this fascinating book to children, parents, and teachers. The story is educational as Deanie Humphrys-Dunne points to the importance of discipline, confidence, and persistence. The main character Charlie is adorable, talented, and amusing. The author encourages children to work hard at reaching their goals, overcome their fears, and believe in themselves. Did Charlie become another Charles The Great, and did he follow his passion to reach his dream? "CHARLIE THE HORSE" is as entertaining as Little House On The Prairie, and as inspiring as "BLACK BEAUTY."