Destiny's Present

Destiny's Present

Daughters of the Crescent Moon, Book 2

Fiction - Fantasy - General
264 Pages
Reviewed on 04/28/2013
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

Author Biography

Pat has had a love affair with the written word since childhood, many times immersing herself in the stories of Enid Blyton and Carolyn Keene. Her active imagination gave inspiration to short stories and her first play as a teen.

As an adult she has penned an award winning short story titled “The Battle” and “A Precious Glimpse in Time” published in an anthology. Her full-length play, “The Truth About Lies”, was staged at a theatrical festival competition in 2006. She was selected at one of the "50 Great Writers You Should be Reading" contest in 2012. Her second book, Destiny's Present, achieved finalist status in the Readers' Favorite 2013 International Book Award contest in the fantasy fiction category.

Although still in pursuit of a place truly called home, Pat currently lives in Ontario, Canada with her husband and three cats, all of which claim rule over the house at one point or another.

When her nose isn’t pressed to the laptop monitor, you can find her at the public library. Besides dreaming up her next novel, Pat also enjoys traveling, baking, camping, wine, and of course reading – not necessarily in that order.

You can find her on Facebook, her website patriciaclee.com or send her an email at authorpatriciaclee@yahoo.com

Book Review

Reviewed by Kathryn Bennett for Readers' Favorite

"Destiny's Present" by Patricia C. Lee is the second book of the 'Daughters of the Crescent Moon series'. The sorceress Narena has done a lot of things for Leisos, advised the King, healed a young girl and even sent a Prince forward in time so that he did not die. As if all of that was not enough, she is now being asked to sacrifice even more to protect her people: a sacrifice of herself, her lover or her child. It could be that she has to sacrifice all three. Narena is always on the hunt for those who would threaten the royal family of Leisos and also for her daughter who was taken away from her when the little girl was born. The problem with this adventure? Narena finds out a great deal on this quest: love and hate, loyalty and betrayal and the biggest revelation of all.

Patricia C. Lee has created an enthralling story with all the characters in Destiny's present. I was riveted to the pages from the first to the last and trying to untie all the little strands of the story as I tugged along on them. I still have some questions, but I like that feeling. Some characters I love, some I hate and some I am not sure what to think of. Ardis the warrior is perhaps the foremost. I am not sure if I like his character or not, but I do know that I want to learn more. I enjoyed this book a great deal and I highly recommend it.

Paranormal Romance Guild

***** 5 Star "This is an amazing series and I can't recommend it enough. We get many answers in this book and there are many surprises. Betrayal, love, suspense, and so much more are part of this series. Although we learn a lot this time around, I can't wait for the third book for all the answers to all the questions. There were so many exciting things that I wanted to reveal so writing this review was difficult since I had to fight not to give any spoilers away." - Linda Tonis for Paranormal Romance Guild

M. Clark - Amazon.ca

"This is an author who is growing quickly, as evidenced in this novel. It is so much more than a paranormal romance. Lee has created a fully-developed alterna-culture in the tradition of Marion Zimmer Bradley and Diana Gabaldon."

Fast Reader - Amazon.ca

"Ok so this review might be hard for me because I want to give away all the twists and turns in this book....but I won't! Even if it kills me! So the book was even better than the first. The characters were amazing even when she continued to surprise me with.........( oops! I almost gave away some of her secrets) anyway loved how the main characters struggled ...and the hard decision in the end. People if you are looking for a great series with magic, romance, suspense, great battles, twists, turns, and wondering what's next to come the Daughters of Crescent Moon is the books for you! It was my favourite so far! Amazing book! Can't wait to see what comes next! "

Jennifer Connor - Amazon.

"If you like the first one, you'll like this one. Finished in a day, I was too captivated to put it down. Can't wait for book 3!!

Debbie from Idaho - Amazo

"Author, Patricia Lee, is an amazing writer and has brought Sorceress Narena, Medical Examiner Kelly and the rest of the characters to life in this very entertaining and well written sequel. This book is written with so much action, imagination and suspense that I couldn't put it down. I am now patiently waiting for book 3 of the exciting Daughters of the Crescent Moon Trilogy. "

Bookaholic83 - Amazon.com

"Do yourself a favor and don't begin to read this book in bed. ;-) I lost major zzz's while reading Destiny's Present (Daughters of the Crescent Moon)! Seriously, I could NOT put it down. But in return I gained precious memories of a faraway land and place that will forever occupy a special place in my heart. Narena's story grabbed me from the very first page and held on tight until I reached 'the end'. Destiny's Present, like Destiny's Past (Daughters of the Crescent Moon), is a must-read, 5-Star romantic, magical adventure. I can't wait for book 3 of the trilogy."

Emily Gibbons - Goodreads

"This book was awesome! I can't wait for the next one."