Dismantling Evan

The Evan Series Book 1

Young Adult - Social Issues
484 Pages
Reviewed on 05/06/2015
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Free Book Program, which is open to all readers and is completely free. The author will provide you with a free copy of their book in exchange for an honest review. You and the author will discuss what sites you will post your review to and what kind of copy of the book you would like to receive (eBook, PDF, Word, paperback, etc.). To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email.

Author Biography

Having always been passionate about the written word, Venessa Kimball embarked on writing what would become her debut novel, Piercing the Fold: Book 1; a young adult paranormal/sci-fi series. July 2, 2012, Venessa Kimball independently published the first book in the Piercing the Fold series. Book 2, Surfacing the Rim, released March 14, 2013. In August of 2013, Venessa joined the publishing house, Crushing Hearts and Black Butterfly. The Piercing the Fold series has been re-published with CHBB beginning with Piercing the Fold: Book 1 on September 3, 2013. Surfacing the Rim: Book 2 re-published on September 24, 2013 and Ascending the Veil: Book 3 released November 2013. The fourth book in the series, Transcending the Legacy: Book 4 released May 13, 2014. Kimball’s compelling teen contemporary fiction novel, Dismantling Evan, released January 13, 2015. Venessa is currently working on the Evan series, but as for the future, she is filling her Work-In-Progress folder with some world piercing characters and stories. When Venessa is not writing, she is keeping active with her husband and three children; chauffeuring said children to extracurricular activities, catching a movie with her hubby, and staying up way too late reading.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Lit Amri for Readers' Favorite

Evangeline ‘Evan’ Phillips moves halfway across the country with her parents to the quaint town of Braxton Springs, Texas. It is a chance for Evan to leave her past in San Francisco and start over; at least that’s what her parents think. The loner high school senior doesn't share their optimism and she’s determined to remain invisible in her new school and neighborhood. Little does she know that it won’t go as planned.

Venessa Kimball’s Dismantling Evan (The Evan Series, Book 1) offers an edgy perception on teen troubles that could threaten one’s will to live. Evan unwillingly gets tangled with the unsettling matters of the lives of those around her. This makes Evan’s own problem rear its head and she struggles to hold on to her sanity.

Dismantling Evan is a story that engages the minds and the hearts of its readers from start to finish. Looking at mental illness and other troubling matters through the young characters' eyes is a rewarding insight. Even though Evan is the lead character that moves the story, I gravitated towards Gavin more. He is greatly misunderstood, but lucky to have some people who comprehend and accept him, especially his brother, Brody.

Kimball writes with precision, clarity, and style that makes the reading flawless. The controversial social issues and the way the characters struggle and deal with them are relevant as well as challenging. On the whole, this is a YA literary work that belies its genre. Young and mature readers should not overlook this series.