Duke of Daring

Regency Romance (Lords of Scandal Book 1)

Romance - Historical
144 Pages
Reviewed on 03/31/2020
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Free Book Program, which is open to all readers and is completely free. The author will provide you with a free copy of their book in exchange for an honest review. You and the author will discuss what sites you will post your review to and what kind of copy of the book you would like to receive (eBook, PDF, Word, paperback, etc.). To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Review Exchange Program, which is open to all authors and is completely free. Simply put, you agree to provide an honest review an author's book in exchange for the author doing the same for you. What sites your reviews are posted on (B&N, Amazon, etc.) and whether you send digital (eBook, PDF, Word, etc.) or hard copies of your books to each other for review is up to you. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email, and be sure to describe your book or include a link to your Readers' Favorite review page or Amazon page.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Shannon Winings for Readers' Favorite

Duke of Daring is the first book in the Lords of Scandal series by Tammy Andresen. This series starts with Minnie Chase stuck caring for her now-anxious cousin Emily for the next two weeks until her wedding date. After discovering that Emily's fiance Jack is involved with a gaming facility called the Den of Sins, Emily, Minnie, and their cousins are sworn to secrecy by the high-ranking men running the place, leading to Emily spiraling out of control with nervousness. Fiery, sharp-tongued Minnie is not going to take all of this quietly, especially when she finds out that the infuriatingly handsome Lord Dartagnan Darlington, the Duke of Darlington, known as Daring at the club, is set to watch her. When Emily and Jack take off without telling anyone, Daring is by her side. Minnie is determined not to let this softer side of him melt her heart, but she can't deny the pull between them. Is she brave enough to let go of the past and fall into his arms? Is he?

After reading another book by Tammy Andresen, I already knew I was a fan and wanted to see what else she has written. This book lived up to my expectations. As with her other books, Tammy Andresen does a wonderful job of describing scenes, people, and feelings, so I felt that I was there with them. I could see the Regency-era balls they attended and their luxurious gowns. I adored the wit and banter between the characters and often giggled. I also really enjoyed the juxtaposition the author provided throughout the story particularly with the names of the noblemen and their Den of Sins nicknames. For example, they call the Duke of Darlington 'Daring'. While he may have some daring attributes, it does not match Darlington and I let out a little chuckle when I first read it. All said and done, the book was entertaining and well-written. I'm excited to read the rest of the series.