Joy Comes to Pemberley

Longbourn Stories 1 to 10 (From Longbourn to Pemberley)

Romance - Historical
300 Pages
Reviewed on 04/25/2019
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Review Exchange Program, which is open to all authors and is completely free. Simply put, you agree to provide an honest review an author's book in exchange for the author doing the same for you. What sites your reviews are posted on (B&N, Amazon, etc.) and whether you send digital (eBook, PDF, Word, etc.) or hard copies of your books to each other for review is up to you. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email, and be sure to describe your book or include a link to your Readers' Favorite review page or Amazon page.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Kimberlee J Benart for Readers' Favorite

Joy Comes to Pemberley: Longbourn Stories 1 to 10 (From Longbourn to Pemberley) is a collection of Jane Austen Pride and Prejudice fan fiction short works by Margaret Lynette Sharp. Having previously published them separately, Sharp presents them here in chronological order. Told primarily through Elizabeth Bennet’s viewpoint and shedding some light on her marital relationship with Darcy, the stories begin sometime after their wedding (her sister Jane has recently given birth to her first child with Bingley) and continue through a series of romantic dramas leading to more marriages, pregnancies, and births involving other members of the Bennet, Darcy, de Bourgh, and Bingley families, and culminating in the event that gives the collection its title. A few surprises, twists, and turns along the way add to the drama.

Having read one of the stories in Joy Comes to Pemberley before, I looked forward to reading the entire collection and seeing it in context. Being able to see how they build on each other over time gives a better picture of Elizabeth and Darcy’s post-marital world as Sharp envisions it, and I appreciated her delicate handling of Elizabeth’s insecurities. Using light brushstrokes and depending primarily on dialog, Sharp artfully paints a picture of the class attitudes and social mores of the time, especially regarding marriage, which could easily engage any fan of historical romance. I found myself entertained throughout and even taken by surprise a couple of times as Sharp unfolded her plot. As a long-time fan of all things Austen and especially her spritely heroine Elizabeth Bennet, I enjoyed the entire collection and was happy to learn how joy finally came to Pemberley.