Kylie's Kiss

Kylie's Kiss


Christian - Romance - General
259 Pages
Reviewed on 08/27/2011
Buy on Amazon

Author Biography

Born and raised in a place called Weedpatch, Delia Latham moved from California to Oklahoma in 2008, making her a self-proclaimed California Okie. She loves to read and write in her simple country home, and gets a kick out of watching her husband play Farmer John. The author enjoys multiple roles as Christian wife, mother, grandmother, sister and friend, but especially loves being a princess daughter to the King of Kings and Lord of Lords.

She loves to hear from her readers. You can contact her through her website or send an e-mail to delia AT delialatham DOT net.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Lynette Fowlston for Readers' Favorite

Kylie's Kiss by Delia Latham is Book 2 in her Solomon’s Gate Series. Solomon’s Gate is the newest Christian dating service in Castle Creek, and upon a dare, Kylie Matthews has an appointment with them. When you’re the daughter of a former Miss California and sister to a famous actress, both who are beautiful, you feel like the ugly duckling among them. This gives Kylie a very low self-esteem and a fear of the unknown. Already late for her appointment, she ends up in a minor fender bender, running into the back end of a pickup. She finds herself looking into the eyes of the most gorgeous man, but one who gets a little upset with her feeble excuse of why she hit his truck. Little does she know that they will soon meet again.

Oh, yes, Kylie has had boyfriends, and she has kissed before, but none have been what she is looking for...the one kiss that thrills you from your head to your toes, stops your heart and melts your insides. When she is matched up with Rick Dale, the man from the accident, he is just the man she is looking for. However, he has a six-year-old daughter who has extreme scarring on her face, something to which Kylie has an irrational reaction; it makes her violently ill. Can Kylie overcome that and depend on God, or will that one deformity drive away the man she has come to care for?

After reading the first book in the series, Destiny’s Dream, I patiently waited for the second book to come out. This is a very refreshing true-to-life book, one in which we all can find ourselves in the same predicament as Kylie. Ms. Latham has a way of bringing the characters alive in her books and makes you feel as though you are there in the midst of them. Building on the first book in the series, we find Destiny and Clay still a part of the story, but they do not overshadow this book's main characters, Kylie and Rick. This is an enjoyable read, and one that can be read as a stand-alone if you have not read the first book; but if you are anything like me, you like to read the whole series. A good cleanly written book with a Christian background, I would recommend this book for all ages.

Donna M. Basinow

Well, first, I must say, I was not disappointed by this sequel to Destiny's Dream. Ms. Latham has once again created characters that are near and dear to the heart.

Kylie's true to life fears (after all, who isn't afraid of something) make her very real. She's the kind of character you just don't know whether to love or hate at first. After all, how can she be so unfeeling to people who have to struggle through life facing their own deformities? But when you get right down to it, it's not a choice she makes, to not be able to face imperfections, it's what was unknowingly planted in her head by people who should have loved her, not judged her or compared her to anyone else--definitely a case of not judging someone else before you've walked a mile in their shoes. I wouldn't have wanted to grow up in her family.

Kylie definitely has a core of steel and a heart of gold. She's a sweetheart underneath all her insecurities.

So just like Rick, once you get beyond her irrational reactions, you can see her heart of gold. And the way God uses Rick's sweet daughter to help Kylie see with her heart, not just her eyes, is definitely a wonderful moment.

Once again, kudos to this author for bringing such a wonderful story to us. God bless you, Delia, keep them coming!

Marianne Evans

Delia Latham has such a gift for crafting plots, and heroes and heroines that are as real as your next door neighbor, and deeply engaging. Kylie's Kiss is book 2 of the Solomon's Gate Series, and it touched my heart because it features struggles that anyone can relate to - punctuated by an exclamation point of faith that never fails to reach me as a reader. Kudos, Ms. Latham - and I can't wait for book 3!

Suzie Housley for Romance

Kylie Matthews has always lived in the shadows of her mother's and sister Shay's beauty. With her mother being a former beauty queen, and her sister now a famous actor, Kylie felt like she was the ugly duckling of the family.

When a friend dares Kylie to try out a new Christian dating agency called Solomon's Gate she figures she hasn't anything to lose. On her way to her dating agency interview, Kylie finds she is running late and decides to push her speed; the result is a minor fender bender. The person she hits is a handsome man, but he is irritated with her shallow excuse of why she hit him. The two of them quickly exchange insurance information and go their separate way.

The owner of Solomon's Gate, Destiny Gallagher, takes an immediate interest in Kylie. Within days of their first meeting, she arranges for Kylie to have her first date. Kylie finds that she is nervous upon meeting her blind date but she knows that this is just the first step she needs to take to find that perfect man who will offer her a kiss that will steal her breath away.

Kylie is shocked to see who her date turns out to be, as it is the same person she rear ended the day she was late for her dating agency interview, Rick Dale. Rick turns out to be everything that Kylie has been searching for in a man. The two of them experience an immediate attraction to one another and schedule another date.

When Rick reveals that he has a six year old daughter, he is puzzled at Kylie's reaction to Lea's facial disfigurement. Kylie has always has had a phobia when it came to seeing someone with any type of facial disfigurement. She knows if Rick and she are ever to have a future together, she will have to get over her phobia and be able to accept Rick's daughter with loving arms. Kylie asks God to step in and cure her of her sickness; will He answer her prayer?

KYLIE'S KISS is an award winning novel! It is filled with pages of tug at your heart scenes. Rick, Kylie, and Lea are characters that have all experienced some of life's greatest hardships. How they overcome their obstacles and went on with their lives is heartwarming. I highly recommend KYLIE's KISS to anyone who appreciates an author who knows how to create characters that you are assured to fall in love with; this book touched me in ways I never knew possible.

Tanya Stowe

Kylie Mathews is utterly delightful...clever, quick, insecure and thoroughly engaging. You just want to wrap your arms around her and give her a hug...until you learn her deep, dark secret. After that, you're not even sure you like her. Kylie's road to redemption and healing is peopled by Rick Dale, and ex-firefighter pilot/hunk and daddy extraordinaire, an interfering angel named Solomon, and one bona fide miracle!

Kylie's Kiss is the second in the Solomon's Gate series about a Christian matchmaking service. Delia Latham serves up an emotion-filled helping of real life issues, God's redeeming love and romance with a dash of whimsy. If you feel in need of a hug, this is the book for you. But don't forget the tissues, you'll need those, too!

Mustard Seed (Network Mar

In book two of the Solomon's Gate series, Kylie Matthews finds herself accepting a dare and she ends up applying to become one of the seekers at Castle Creek's Christian dating agency. She is looking for love and a "kiss that steals [her] breath away? The only problem--she has an extremely low self-esteem and due to circumstances from her past, she reacts irrationally to facial disfigurement. This becomes an issue for her when the man she is matched with, Rick Dale; who has a six year old daughter who's face is severely scarred on one side. Kylie and Rick have a strong attraction to each other and want to explore the romantic possibilities; however, Kylie needs to trust in God to overcome her issues and jump into this new relationship.

I read book one in this series, Destiny's Dream and I gave it my highest rating. I went into this review expecting great writing from Ms. Latham. She far exceeded my expectations. Kylie's Kiss is just as good and so fulfilling to read. As you read this book, you journey with Kylie as she realizes and admits she has a problem and that God is the only solution. The psychological issues this character deals with could weigh the book down, but it doesn't--Ms. Latham weaves it into the story in a way that causes the reader to understand the issue but not get bored with psychological jargon.

For those readers who loved Destiny and Clay from book one, you get a treat because they still play a role in this story. However, Ms. Latham expertly builds upon the foundation of book one in this series and Kylie and Rick are not overshadowed by the original Castle Creek characters from Destiny's Dream. They take center stage and you get to truly know them and cry when they cry and feel what they're feeling.

The book flows so smoothly that you can't wait to read the next chapter. Ms. Latham skillfully adds details, great character development and realistic dialogue that you feel you are right there with Kylie and Rick and all the wonderful characters. I highly recommend Kylie's Kiss and look forward to reading the next book in this series. Reading Ms. Latham's stories are a real treat!

Clare Revell

Kylie Matthews is as real a heroine as they come. Chunky with a bad hair day every day of the week, a pretty low self-esteem and a fear that has fairly well ruined her life, she could well be any one of us. Rick Dale is less than impressed when his blind date seeker from Christian dating agency Solomon's Gate turns out to none other than the woman who tried to park her car in the back of his truck at a red light. The more he gets to know her, the more he likes her, but his secret could stop things before they even get started.

Kylie's kiss is the second in the Solomon's gate series, but you don't need to have read the first to enjoy this one. With some recurring characters and a whole cast of new ones, it stands alone on its own merit. With sections that had me laughing out loud one minute and reaching for the tissues the next, Ms. Latham has written another enthralling story that is definitely a kindle keeper.

Phyllis H. Wheeler

Kylie's beautiful mother and actress sister have pummeled Kylie's self-esteem into the ground. An ex-boyfriend hasn't helped.

On a dare, she goes to Solomon's Gate, a small-town Christian dating service. She meets Rick, a scarred man. Can they get together?
I found this romance to be well written, hard to put down. Since it contains an angel, I like it even more.

Mary Manners, author

Kylie's Kiss, second in the Soloman's Gate Series, is not-to-be-missed! Oh, how I loved this beautiful story of Kylie, who is very unsure of her looks and fearful she will live her entire life without finding the love she longs for. She goes to Solomon's Gate, a Christian dating agency, hoping to find the man of her dreams. What she finds, instead, is a realization that beauty is not always what you think. The road she travels is what makes this story such a delight.

Delia Latham has a gift for storytelling and romance...and Kylie's Kiss is the perfect proof of this gift. I highly recommend Kylie's Kiss!