Legacy of Lies

Fiction - Paranormal
364 Pages
Reviewed on 02/02/2020
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Free Book Program, which is open to all readers and is completely free. The author will provide you with a free copy of their book in exchange for an honest review. You and the author will discuss what sites you will post your review to and what kind of copy of the book you would like to receive (eBook, PDF, Word, paperback, etc.). To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Review Exchange Program, which is open to all authors and is completely free. Simply put, you agree to provide an honest review an author's book in exchange for the author doing the same for you. What sites your reviews are posted on (B&N, Amazon, etc.) and whether you send digital (eBook, PDF, Word, etc.) or hard copies of your books to each other for review is up to you. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email, and be sure to describe your book or include a link to your Readers' Favorite review page or Amazon page.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

Author Biography

Janet began writing in 2009 while still a full time travel nurse. She writes multiple genres from Historical fiction, to Paranormal Thrillers. Not to say she doesn’t have a sense of humor. Her E-book You Just Can’t will leave you smiling if not laughing.
She has short stories in two different anthologies. Tales of Texas III and Nothing Ever Happens in Fox Hollow. A recent publication of a poem in Upon Arrival: Transitions, is something new for her. She has become active with Tellables/Chatables with three stories which can be heard on Alexa.
She can be found in Fifty Great Writers you should be Reading published by The Author Show, as a winner for 2017 and 2018.
An over-all category Grand Prize Winner for Chatelaine in Chanticleer Book Awards added to the thirty-five awards for The Look for me Series. Twenty-six awards to date have been given to her Paranormal Mystery Thriller series.
She was a peace officer at one time, promoted to the rank of Sergeant and worked in a multi-city unit investigating questionable deaths and homicides.
Retired now living in her home on Galveston Island she spends the day sitting on the deck, writing, drinking good wine and listening to the breakers.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Lit Amri for Readers' Favorite

"Once you enter into the service of Aaron Caydon, you will never truly be free…" Years have passed. Some believe that Aaron Caydon is really dead while others believe he’s in hiding. Then, several individuals are called up to ‘service’ as Caydon has a mission for them. Whether it’s truly from him or someone else, no one has a clue but they will do their duty. Caydon’s sister, Caren Johnson, and her family are in danger and need to be transported to a designated safe location. Will the men be able to protect the Johnsons? Legacy of Lies is a sequel to the suspense thriller Archidamus by Janet K. Shawgo.

Shawgo continues the thrilling tale of the mystery of Aaron Caydon with a deft skill that can make readers forget that she weaves enchanting romance stories too. This time, Caydon puts the burden of an important assignment on the men who are indebted to him. Characterization is as sublime as ever with several new additions. Caren and Declan stood out for me the moment they appeared. Just like its predecessor, Legacy of Lies is highly engaging from start to finish with a great sense of intrigue that will keep readers on tenterhooks. Adrenaline-pumping action and unpredictable twists in a well-paced plot will both delight and surprise fans of this series. Will all the questions in Archidamus be answered in Legacy of Lies? All told, this is no doubt a commendable thriller from Janet K. Shawgo and her fans will be delighted.