Our Lady Chaos

A Horror Collection (The Bloodletter Collections Book 3)

Fiction - Horror
768 Pages
Reviewed on 02/25/2020
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Free Book Program, which is open to all readers and is completely free. The author will provide you with a free copy of their book in exchange for an honest review. You and the author will discuss what sites you will post your review to and what kind of copy of the book you would like to receive (eBook, PDF, Word, paperback, etc.). To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Review Exchange Program, which is open to all authors and is completely free. Simply put, you agree to provide an honest review an author's book in exchange for the author doing the same for you. What sites your reviews are posted on (B&N, Amazon, etc.) and whether you send digital (eBook, PDF, Word, etc.) or hard copies of your books to each other for review is up to you. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email, and be sure to describe your book or include a link to your Readers' Favorite review page or Amazon page.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

    Book Review

Reviewed by K.C. Finn for Readers' Favorite

Our Lady Chaos: A Horror Collection is a work of fiction that brings together several tales and it was compiled and written by author Erik Henry Vick. As the third installment in The Bloodletter Collections, this volume is chock-full of graphic and exciting horror fiction for adults and mature teens to devour. We focus on the demonic infestation of Oneka Falls, and a group of heroes desperate to survive the onslaught of true chaos. Chronicling the adventures of the final three novels in the saga – Blackest Crow, Nightshade and Harvester – this engaging collection brings us to the great crescendo of Toby, Benny, Shannon, Mike, and Scott’s epic adventures.

Having read many of the earlier Bloodletter Saga books, it was a delight to find this three-in-one volume and see where the adventure and the darkness finally led the gang. I adore the visceral and highly imaginative horror works of author Erik Henry Vick, who delivers on multiple levels to please the horror reader. His prose is slick with bloody imagery and sudden twists that keep readers on edge throughout the story, yet the overall arc of the build-up to attempting to defeat the ultimate demons is intelligently played, slow-burning and growing in power over time. There’s a real sense of fear for the well-drawn characters, who by this point feel like friends that you really worry about. Overall, Our Lady Chaos: A Horror Collection is an essential story for fans of the current saga in order to get your final fix of a truly accomplished horror series.

Christian Sia

Our Lady Chaos: A Horror Collection is the third book in the Bloodletter Collections by Erik Henry Vick and an engaging and voluminous novel that is well-written for fans of horror. Readers encounter a troubled and motley group of demon hunters, fleeing for dear life after a deadly attack. Toby, Benny, Shannon, Mike, and Scott find a little respite in Pennsylvania, and it is not long before they learn that they have a more formidable adversary, one even fiercer and more powerful than before. Oneka Falls is infested with demons, but an ancient demigoddess poses the biggest threat yet and to defeat her, they will have to unravel an obscure myth. With little time to figure out the truth in the Akkadian myth and find the right weapons for the impending battle, do they stand a chance with a cohort of demons at their heels?

This is a novel that takes the proverbial fight between good and evil into a contemporary setting. In this story, nothing is what it seems. A hushed silence hides a hideous and demonic presence. Readers quickly learn that humans can be the worst monsters. The conflict is skillfully developed and it is interesting to witness the infighting amongst demons as they yearn for more power and control. The crew of demon fighters is composed of vulnerable characters who are courageous. At times they improvise as they move along, discovering facts about their enemy. The introduction of the myth in the narrative takes the story to new depths and enriches the plot. Erik Henry Vick is a great storyteller and the realism he infuses into the writing augments the horror, keeping the blood running cold through the reader’s veins while making them anticipate what comes next. Our Lady Chaos: A Horror Collection is written in great prose and it features compelling characters who grab the reader’s interest right off the bat. A delightful read, indeed.

Rabia Tanveer

Our Lady Chaos: A Horror Collection is the third part of The Bloodletter Collections by Erik Henry Vick. This is a collection of three horror stories and readers will experience some terrifying chills with these incredible plots. The first book in the collection, Blackest Crow, is the story of a group of demon hunters as they try to hide from the demons. They think they are safe, but something far more powerful is waiting in the shadows to jump on them at the right moment. The second story is Nightshade and it is the story of the demon hunters as they try to fight the demons out of Oneka Falls and realize that their last enemy had nothing on the one they are trying to fight now. The third and final story is Harvester in which the crew starts a hunt, only to realize what they are hunting might be far worse than any demon they have ever encountered.

I don’t really read the horror genre mainly because I am a scaredy-cat and get spooked really easily. This scary and entertaining collection hasn’t been easy on my heart; I felt like it would give out on almost every page. The element of horror seeps deep into the stories and every character and every segment of the plots make it even more prominent. There is a plethora of characters and every character has a purpose, so all of them are incredibly detailed and developed. Out of all these characters, the four that stood out to me the most are Benny, Toby, Dennis, and Brigitta. They all were different yet they added a lot of depth to the story and their backstories were really well woven into the main plot. You have to read Our Lady Chaos: A Horror Collection by Erik Henry Vick to experience the thrill you will get as you cheer your favorites on while your heart tries its best to not give out.