Rise

The Abused Child of the Phoenix: A True Story

Non-Fiction - Autobiography
474 Pages
Reviewed on 07/05/2016
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Review Exchange Program, which is open to all authors and is completely free. Simply put, you agree to provide an honest review an author's book in exchange for the author doing the same for you. What sites your reviews are posted on (B&N, Amazon, etc.) and whether you send digital (eBook, PDF, Word, etc.) or hard copies of your books to each other for review is up to you. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email, and be sure to describe your book or include a link to your Readers' Favorite review page or Amazon page.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

Author Biography

Livia York was born in Rome, Italy, migrated to Australia in 1958. She now lives on the beautiful Gold Coast in Queensland Australia with Glenn, her second husband and soulmate of forty three years. Livia was bitten by the writing bug late in life, without any training or intention. For the past two years she has been writing her first book (albeit using one finger to type the 140,000+ words) and is both anxious and exhilarated to finally be sharing it with the world.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Ruffina Oserio for Readers' Favorite

Livia York’s Rise: The Abused Child of the Phoenix is a compelling memoir that centers on a family’s history. In a poignant and jovial tone, the author tells her family story, with the joys, the heartbreaks, and the secrets they have kept over the years. The story highlights powerful and dramatic moments in the life of the protagonist, starting with joyful memories of her childhood, the end of World War II, and her family’s travels across different continents. Most importantly, this is the story of a woman who has been abused and hurt in unimaginable ways, but who chooses to rise above her story to embrace a life of purpose. Readers will be enthralled at the powerful expression of a mother’s love which endures untold challenges to protect her daughter.

The reader is hooked from the opening lines and will want to know why the protagonist can’t use her father’s last name for thirty-four years. York’s writing is beautiful and crisp, her voice powerful and gentle at the same time, and the whole story mirrors an unmitigated sense of honesty that will draw readers irresistibly into the author’s worldview. Rise: The Abused Child of the Phoenix is a memoir that is well thought-out and written with powerful prose. The author does a wonderful job in developing compelling conflict at every level of the story. Livia York is a gifted writer with the ability to draw readers in through powerful descriptions and a rare gift for humor. Although there is a lot to draw tears from the eyes of readers, there is more that will inspire and uplift their hearts.

Eduardo Aduna

Rise: The Abused Child of the Phoenix, A True Story by Livia York is a gut-wrenching roller-coaster ride that vividly portrays the pain, turmoil and, ultimately, hope that people experience as they go about their existence. Told from a first-person perspective, readers follow Livia as she lives through some of the worst experiences history and humanity could inflict on a person. From war-torn Italy to a country brimming with change and possibility, Livia York's journey is sure to captivate and inspire.

The best writers establish a meaningful bond with their readers. Readers are, in effect, given the chance to live multiple lives through sheer imagination, and through the words of writers skilled enough to weave them into a realistic tapestry. Livia York made me see and feel the world through her eyes. And feel her world I did. I felt her love for her mother and her children. I felt how the entire tone of her world shifted with the impending war. I concurred and sometimes disagreed with her numerous ruminations about life and people. I imagined the sights, sounds and smells she experienced as if I were right there. I also felt disgust, pain, fear and confusion as she navigated her crumbling and abusive marriage.

Abuse is a difficult thing to write about and reading about Livia and Tony's marriage was excruciating. Livia's skill as a writer is so masterful that Tony's actions are portrayed as the actions of an immature individual, instead of a truly evil person. And in these painful chapters, York shone as an author. I have no idea how Livia was able to portray a sense of forgiveness and compassion when writing of past abuse while still being able to fully express the significant pain and trauma she experienced. And at the end, after those few chapters that were very difficult to get through, I felt myself flooded with hope and relief. Livia York is an amazing woman and her story encapsulates how resilient individuals, through the kindness of others, can survive and triumph over the worst that history and humanity have to offer.

Gisela Dixon

Rise: The Abused Child of the Phoenix by Livia York is an autobiographical novel narrated in the first person. This is an multi-generational story starting with Livia's ancestors from Sardinia a few hundred years ago. Next, Livia has explored her own background from Sardinia, Italy, and Australia in detail with an emphasis on her mother's and grandmother's stories as well. Livia's own life growing up, missing her mother terribly, her journey to Australia, a traumatic event, and abusive marriage and children are all explored in detail. In the end, we realize that although not all endings are happy, one can become stronger for going through all of the trials and tribulations of a lifetime.

Rise by Livia York is a fascinating look into many generations of people and their lives across three continents. The turbulent times during the two World Wars and the effects all over the world, in both the common man's and the aristocrat's life, is well explored. I loved reading about the day to day life and experiences of Livia growing up while her mother worked several jobs. The writing style is direct and engaging and, because of the family history and inter-generational theme of the book, it reads more like a family memoir than a single person's autobiography. I truly enjoyed reading this book and would recommend it to anyone.

Romuald Dzemo

Rise: The Abused Child of the Phoenix by Livia York is a captivating memoir, a family saga with many dark closets and skeletons, but one with many merits as well. This is a story that will arouse all kinds of powerful emotions in readers, making them wonder if some of the facts are real. The protagonist starts by stating that there is a reason why she’d carried her mother’s family name for thirty-four years, a statement that already makes the reader wonder why and imagine a dark secret carefully guarded, and this is intriguing. Starting with beautiful childhood memories, the protagonist, Livia Maria Eleonora, chronicles the life of a troubled family, their struggles to remain connected in the difficult times of war, and their travels through different continents. Most importantly, it is the story of an abused girl in search of inner freedom, herself, and redemption, a powerful tale that will inspire readers to seek and do what matters.

Rise: The Abused Child of the Phoenix is both inspirational and highly entertaining. Livia’s resilience and courage in the heart of harrowing situations are exemplary hallmark virtues that point to the indisputable truth that we can rise above our hurts, that they do not define us, and that we can claim our inner freedom from those who oppress us by focusing on who we want to become. Livia’s writing is ebullient, and her voice is beautifully raw. There are times the reader will cringe at the sound of words they read and the reality into which they are pulled. The characters are compelling and readers will infinitely sympathize with the protagonist, her mum, and Grandmother Rosa. This is a story that extols the beauty of being human and one that will remind readers of the common values we all share, but above all, it is a story that underlines the power of “family” and being connected.

Chris Fischer

In a raw and emotional retelling of the true life story of author Livia York, Rise: The Abused Child of the Phoenix, readers will be completely engrossed by the honest history portrayed. This is the story of Livia as she prepares to leave her home country of Italy for the family's new home in Australia, and the heartbreaking recounting of the rape she endured just five days before they leave. Frightened and ashamed, she tells no one, and is shocked to the core when she arrives in Australia at fifteen years of age and finds out that she is pregnant. The life that unfolds in front of her, one filled with being trapped in an abusive relationship for twelve years, is a horror, and one that many may not have survived. But Ms. York's enduring spirit, and ability to overcome even the most horrific of experiences, will provide hope and inspiration to many, and this book is absolutely worthy of reading.

I found Rise to be a difficult but important read, one that is full of the horrors of abuse, but ultimately the hope of one who has escaped that horror to a life of her own making. Many will be able to relate to author Livia York's life, and will be inspired by what she has been able to accomplish and her ability to escape the guilt and shame of her youth. I highly recommend her book, and certainly hope to hear more from this promising author in the future!

Dom Hawke

Dom Hawke on 23/09/201620 reviews
I read the other critiques & I concur with the majority of their exposes. I certainly felt ‘right there’ when reading your book. Your book is great in that it depicts so many different changes in age perception (ability to tell your story through the eyes of the age you were at different times), culture, class and your description of travel to different countries. Plus, one of the main themes which comes from the majority of the critiques is your ability to rise above all the abuse & difficult times, which I think is a magnificent attribute of yours.

Patrizia Simeone

Patrizia Simeone on 29/02/201620 reviews
Livia York, you are one AMAZING Lady. Your book is a great read, very hard to put it down! I enjoyed it thoroughly and it made me understand a great deal more of DV. Thank you, I will treasure my copy of your book forever. A big Thank you and yes, I want a sequel please.

Sue

Sue on 08/02/201620 reviews
A sad day when I finished reading "Rise" I wanted to go on and on with this amazing story of a Woman's triumph over adversity. This was like 4 lifetimes in one by the age of 27! I loved the small chapters each with their own little story and feeling. It would make a great movie! One of the best books I have ever read!

Aimee

Aimee on 15/01/201620 reviews
So it has taken a couple of weeks for me to finish this book... I had to often stop reading to wipe the tears from my eyes. Other times I read furiously flicking the pages trying to get the answers to my questions. Some of the life lessons you learnt in your early days I remember you teaching me! I was 17 years old when I starting working for you and Glenn and I have never forgotten those lessons. They have help pave my way. I am eternally grateful for you sharing you story. It wasn't all tears of sadness but some good belly laughs in there as well!! Thank you Livia York. A strongly recommended read! Jump online and grab your copy. An inspirational story full of life lessons and triumph of abuse.

Zar Waterhouse

Zar Waterhouse on 15/01/201620 reviews
4th day in hospital after op!!! No pain n am soooooo enjoying reading this book called 'Rise' the abused child of the Phoenix,by Livia York!!!! The only problem is... I don't want it to end!!!!!!!!!

Jan Hallam

Jan Hallam on 15/01/201620 reviews
A beautiful, moving, real-life story. Straight from the horse's mouth. It brings home to us the tragedies (and triumphs) of war-time Italy and its effects on all people caught up in it.

Debbie

Debbie on 08/01/201620 reviews
Having met Livia in person, I could not wait to get into this book. I read this over the christmas holidays, I could not put it down, I felt as though i was witnessing her life through a window... the strength and tenacity of this lady is incredible.. If there is a sequel I am first in line to buy..after I buy tissues, I cannot recommend this book highly enough.

Lyn Hinds

Lyn Hinds on 08/01/201620 reviews
I absolutely loved everything about this book! It is an amazing, compelling story told in a very natural & engaging way. The historical insights are a bonus, & it would seriously make a wonderful movie! I would highly recommend this book to anyone! It is far better than just good - it is excellent! 10 out of 10 from me!

Les Oxford

Les on 08/01/201620 reviews
A truly amazing story. I thought I knew Livia, but after reading this story, now I really know Livia!! What a life, her story flowed so effortlessly on paper. I can see her daughter Daniela guiding Livia to write this story. I cant wait for the movie...... I want another book to read about her next chapter in her life. You should be proud Liv, as your friends are behind you, to open your heart, to tell your story and not hold back. What an inspiration to many women who have suffered.

Jenny

Jenny on 20/11/2015 on 23/11/201520 reviews
I felt happy, sad, laughter and relief. I thought the first 3 chapters a little long but enjoyed it after that, very interesting, a true human story.

Judy Shale

Judi 22/11/2015 on 23/11/201520 reviews
Dear Livia, I loved reading your book and especially about the stories about your mother. Graham told me he remembers meeting her and he said that I would have loved her just like you do.

Kaya

Kaya 20/11/2015 on 23/11/201520 reviews
This is a thoroughly enjoyable read, with a comfortable mix and treatment of drama and joy to keep the reader constantly investing in the characters. Livia has a natural autobiographical voice that feels conversational, and endears the reader to her story. This book is something of a bildungsroman, and follows the central individual Livia from young childhood through to motherhood. The scope of the immigrant story is fascinating and there is a fantastic array of cultural information as the characters explore their lives in a series of vastly different locales and communities. Description is effective, with an unobtrusive focus on colours and weather, and the senses that Livia uses( eg. sight,smell etc.) to gauge the world around her. The reader can construct a very realistic image of the story they read as description provides a physical framework for the story to take place in.

Len Moss

Len 20/11/2015 on 23/11/201520 reviews
Livia's story touched my emotions of compassion,love,sadness,empathy and hope. I continuowsly needed to turn to next page-so much detail in a life of uncertainty, drama and life changing events but with strength and fortitude to win out in the end.

Lyn

Lyn on 18/11/201520 reviews
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It felt like I was sitting down with a friend over coffee and she was telling me her story. I didn't want the story to end. A delightful read of history, courage, determination and what a positive spirit will bring if you believe.

Aimee

Aimee on 23/11/201520 reviews
Whilst reading the book I felt as though I was there. So descriptive, I could imagine every moment. I laughed, I cried and struggled to put it down. A book of courage, strength and tenacity! An easy read and would recommend to anyone.

Gianna Mastrandrea

Gianna Mastandrea...I don't remember how I met Livia, but I immediately sensed something special in this lovely woman and I'm dying to get stuck in reading this touching novel and then I'm living in the city she was born. Hope to meet you personally soon

Julia Schafer

My dear Livia York it took me until now on holidays in Bali to read your amazing book. I know that others will find it as engaging as I did. Xxx

Shelly Bowman

Awe Livia ...tears......that was so beautiful........ thats so incredibly sad......I feel for you so deeply...!!!! hugs and kisses xoxoxoxoxo

Nitasu

Heartwrenching,m moved into tears,its truly deep n touched my soul.Hugs n love Livia

Janeen Bentley

Wow I am so lucky. Guess what arrived in my mailbox today......... Thank you Livia York

Maggie Britton

Wonderful story of an amazing woman.

Jenna Kenney

Thank you so much for sharing this Livia York.. Your ability to be so strong and vulnerable inadvertently provides others to do the same and that is what I very simply call love. Thank you for sharing this with me xx

Jenna Kenney

Beautiful and true! You are extraordinary Livia York and so is the tapestry of this book. It has been written with such grace and elegance in the face of what stood to destruct your soul. The aftermath of your trauma rendered you powerful beyond measure my friend and totally inspirational!. Jenna Kenney". unquote.

Tracy Parker

Sorry I look a fright peeps, but I'm so into this book that I just forgot about myself.
Excellent book Livia York

Patty-Ann Waho

This is how I do Self-Love, getting my black on

Barbara Falconer

Congratulations Livia, must say though, I am not surprised. Wonderful book.

Stephen Headey

Congratulations Livia
Like · Reply · July 29 at 8:13pm

Amanda Barlow

Congratulations !!

Roger Davy

Congrats

Andrew Holt

Wow wow wow! What an amazing, courageous woman you, Livia,are. Thankyou for sharing your story of rising from the ashes. You show your strength of character as you share your vulnerability of your life journey and the wisdoms of experience to share,in order to empower myself and many others. Both men and women. Congratulations on writing a great book. Loved every bit of it. Thankyou Thankyou Thankyou! Look forward to the movie one day.

Meg Sartor

Today I finally got to meet Livia York and get my copy of her inspirational story .

Jenny Old

wahoooo. congratulations Livia!!! Well done xxx

Denise Last

Great story about a girl with an enormous amount of perception and courage. Haven't quite finished yet but this book sure holds my attention watching the strong woman emerging from so much adversity. Well done.

Paula Tant

Dearest Paula Tant...what a beautiful experience for you to be where you are at the IGUAZU FALLS in BRAZILE...a trip I most likely will never make...but you have taken me there within your heart while you are reading my book 'RISE. The Abused Child of the Phoenix'...THANK YOU...you will be in my thoughts, prays, and my heart forever. Love, Livia York

David Hinds

Here is a photo of Master Shredder David Hinds in the studio yesterday, having a break in proceedings reading a bit more of Livia York's awesome true story "Rise". He had to wrestle it off me first!!!!

Robert Lyon

Another photo for you. This time it is of Wasabi God Of Thunder, Robert Lyons snatching a moment before our gig at Eastport last Friday night, to read some more of Livia York's truly inspirational book "Rise".

Paul Brown

When our good friend Paul Brown MrRetention came down from the Gold Coast last week to pay us a visit & come to a Bounty Hunters gig, he took some time out to read Livia York's fabulous book "Rise". It's a real page turner!!

Larissa Kussano

When Larissa Kussano came to visit us all the way from Brazil, with Paul Brown MrRetention, she was fascinated to read Livia York's amazing autobiography "Rise"...

Richardo Sousa

When Ricardo Sousa was visiting from Brazil, he was keen to see what all the fuss about Livia York's great book "Rise" was. Once he started reading it, he understood!!

Sonja Grosser

I said you were going to be an international super star Ms Livia when I first read your little taster at the Author's Day where we first met. Believe me now? <3 xx

Unnamed Air Hostess

OK, HERE IS THE LATEST...so far my book "Rise the Abused Child of the Phoenix" has been read and enjoyed by many in Australia, England, Austria, Italy, Brazil, Bali and the USA...and it's been seen in selfie's with friends young and old, as well as musicians and family who wanted to let me know how much they were enjoying reading it...and it has flown oversea on first class...but this is other first for "The Phoenix"...one of my many lovely FB friends has been reading it, not just on a plane, BUT IN THE COCKPIT OF A JUMBO JET...and her reviews says: 'Your book is AMAZING, Livia'.
COULD I FEEL MORE PROUD??? Love to all, Livia. www.liviayork.com

Gisela Sedlmayer

A very emotional read, June 27, 2016
By Gisela H. Sedlmayer, author of the Talon book series

This review is from: RISE: The Abused Child of the Phoenix - A True Story (Kindle Edition)

A copy of the book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.

I found "Rise, The abused Child of the Phoenix" by Livia York
to be a very heartbreaking and emotional roller coaster ride, but also a very complex and moving story.
Even it is, in my opinion, a difficult read, but I think Livia does an excellent job telling her story, describing her abuse in a very non-offensive way.

I can't write more, I am a very emotional person, and even writing the review, the tears tried to penetrate my eyelids. It can't be happening, was what I so often told me reading, but here it is, described in Livia's book. No one should go through something like that, No-one.
So you have to get the book and read it to get the full idea how it is to be abused.

Livia did a very good job in writing it all down in her own words and so I have to give her 5*

Celia Fuller

Well well well how remarkable and deep felt. Amazing what erupts out of our humanness and the need to express often what usual language cannot.
Like · Reply · June 11 at 11:05pm

Frank Joan Smith

First time this old fellow has latched on to a website.Very good Lyvia

Alana Fitzgerald

Thank you for the tissues, Livia, your family story had me crying and laughing...I love it.

Peter Stuart

Hi Livia, I just took a look at your new website. Impressive!

Heather Langford

Bought my personally signed copy of "RISE" The Abused Child of the Phoenix from good friend and author Livia York at Runaway Bay shopping village - 5 May 2016

Frank Joan Smith

I have to confess sports books and newspapers are about the only things I read. This is the only non sports book that I have read in the last twenty years. A brilliant read indeed is this book . I don't do the share thing much on Facebook so today we will. So friends and relations buy the book, it's a bottler.
Like · Reply · May 5 at 12:46pm

Celia Fuller

Well Livia I have begun my reading and have become instantly transfixed by your words. Having met you and shared more of the back story of how you came to write such amazing and descriptive accounts has added an even greater fascination to the story u...See More
Like · Reply · April 29 at 10:39am
Celia Fuller
Celia Fuller So here is my update. I FINISHED READING YOUR BOOK.

Linda Wesbey

Lovely to meet you Livia York and will see you at the next book launch! Can't wait to get my hands on the next chapter of your life story!
Like · Reply · April 22 at 12:29pm

Gwenda Marschal

They are going to love it! Best money spent ever! Xx
Like · Reply · April 22 at 12:58pm

Janet Culpit

I was luck enough to win a copy of this book at The Heart Link Network - thank you Livia York. Can't wait to read it x

Susan Morris

Thank you Livia. Now, I actually read about your book earlier on this morning......it came up on my FB news feed....I don't know why or how, but, there you are. Anyway, I would like to buy your book. I will have a look at the trailer a little later this evening. If you send me a private message with your details of how to pay you...that would be great. Big Hugs and very best of luck with it all....

Gianna Mastrandrea

Gianna Mastrandrea 5th October 2016
I can't stop reading your book Livia!!! I soon as i finish it!! But then i don't want it to end!!

Helen Selmeczy

I also feel
that it's much more prevalent than most people realise. Livia I know you have experienced terrible abuse and written a masterpiece 'Rise' the Abused Child of the Phoenix. Your Family story of personal pain and triumph. I was only discussing this with a dear friend yesterday who was also abused as a child. It's a dark secret that many never express. Due to so many reasons. Most people who have confided in me over the years said that the perpetrators are among Family, neighbours , close Family friends. So very often it's never expressed . Big changes are required in our legal system concerning abuse.

Bev Barnett

In the midst of reading this book....amazing....get the tissues out!!
Like · Reply · 7 hrs

Sonja Grosser

Well done Livia :) xxxxx I can understand why. What a book it is, I love it.

Heather Langford

I don't *wonder* about it all Livia York xx Your book is a fabulous read and it so deserves to be awarded with a Readers Favorite Five Stars award! Congratulations my dear, Love

June Humphries

I have just finished "the abused child of the phoenix' I really loved the book and the way it was written, I feel I shared your journey, in more ways than one 'congratulations' I can't wait for the next book.

Jackie Moore

Hi Livia, just wanted to let you know how much I enjoyed reading your book. Such a moving and poignant account of your family history and your journey through life. Thank you for sharing your precious memories with us. ❤️

Merran Holliway

I so agree Jackie it was very moving and inspiring. A wonderful read. Thank you again Livia

Peter Stuart

READER REVIEW for RISE; The Abused Child of the Phoenix. "Livia York's passion clearly comes across in this remarkable work in so many ways. Her colorful life story is further enriched by an array of photographs. This story shows the impact and importance ancestral links have in our lives. 'Rise' is a must for lovers of the autobiography." Peter Stuart, Author.

John Kavanagh

This is one wonderful lady, a heart of gold and a good word for all in life, even though life has not always been good to her. This woman is an inspiration to All. Here is a story that will make you look at your life and show you you have suffered little if at all, Take a look my dearest friends, I can assure you if you get this book you wont want to put it down. I am honored that I can call this lady my friend. Lot's of love to you Livia York.

Jan Muir

it never ceases to amaze me how you do it. Your words ring so true for many authors and I am so grateful for you crossing my path, I appreciate you have shared my book in your collection. Such an honor to be up there with your book Rise, The Abused Child of the Phoenix.

Lisa Russell

What a lovely brave woman! Bravo for you listening to your daughter! I haven't even read your book yet! I'm sure you will hear from me again! (hope that's a good thing) My young niece was just violently beaten by her now ex-husband! This violence must end! Thank you!

Deborah https://www.faceb

I would love to introduce you to the awesome and wonderful Poetess Livia York all the way from down under in THE QUEENSLAND Australia…


What a joy it is to know this wonderful Author and her book.
“RISE, OF THE ABUSED CHILD OF THE PHOENIX” is world famous. It’s a true story. I advise everyone to get a copy of this wonderful book.

Diana Ross

I have your book and enjoyed reading it. You signed it for me when you were doing a prom in the shopping centre.

Dolores Bandiera

Hello Livia, I was very fortunate to win your book Rise at the Italian Club last year. Have just finished the read and I wanted to express how much I enjoyed and at the same time saddened by your hard life. Also on page 461 your reading volunteers Livio & Josie Brombal are friends of mine. I admire your Rise in life and hope that you are finally happy here in the Gold Coast. I just wanted to say thank you - thank you for a wonderful read..
Chat Conversation End


Kate Chamberlain

I enjoyed reading your book so much. You have an incredible memory and you are a natural story-teller.

I didn't cry until the very end when you mentioned your son in the Acknowledgments.

I just adore your telling of the scene of you running along the railway track with him giggling in his pram

Cathy Miller

I loved the book. I'm so happy for a well deserved achievement.

Nina Giancola

Hi Livia.Its almost two o'clock in the morning and I finally got a chance to begin reading your book.Up to chapter eleven now and I did not want to put it down but I guess I better or I will never get up tomorrow.It flows so well, is easy to read, beautifully descriptive.I can tell I am going to enjoy it and am sorry I now have to go to bed and wait till tomorrow evening to keep reading it.Many thanks xx

Nina Giancola

This was such a moving and inspiring book to read.I found it difficult to put down.It is so simply yet effectively, descriptive in its style.It is a powerful, inspiring story of two awesome women, who despite the difficulties, separation and horrors that life throws at them are able to triumph through their love and remarkable optimism, determination and belief in themselves. Livia York has told the story of her life and her family with a clarity that made me feel that I was there with her experiencing the all the fun, heartache and the pain of both her life and that of her remarkable mother.Despite the terrible rape that she suffered as an innocent, young teenager and the shame that she felt, she was able to move on to build her new life in Australia where her baby was born.Her love for her child, despite being such a young mother and the awful manner in which he was conceived, comes through so movingly as does the love between her and her mother. The pain of her abusive and disintegrating marriage did not turn Livia into a bitter, vengeful woman, despite her anger at her husband's betrayal. Instead she was able to rise above it as a phoenix from the ashes through the power of love, her determination and her belief in herself. When I reached the end of the book I wanted it to go on and tell me the rest of the story of this extraordinary woman.I hope she writes it.

Barbara Grosser

Couldn't give it less than five stars. I like a book that draws the reader in, and this one most certainly delivered. Oh, and spoiler alert - she's not kidding about the roller coaster of emotions, either...

Barbara Grosser

Yeah, so this took waaaaaaay longer than intended. My laptop apparently decided that it needed to switch this to a word processing program that I can do absolutely nothing with; finally got it back today.

I've just finished my encounter with the Phoenix.

I can honestly say I've never read an autobiography like it before; it's like hearing the author's voice (or what I imagine her voice to sound like) in my head as I read. It adds a sense of realism to the story that I've never had from a book previously; I can imagine it's like you aren't reading a book, you're sitting in a cafe with the lady herself, nursing a cup of coffee as she tells her tale.

Or in front of a fireplace in a grand old house, curled up in a big chair, drink in hand as she shares everything. Or maybe tucked away in a corner of the library, listening intently.

See, now I like that kind of writing. It makes it easy to get involved in the story, to care how it turns out. I like a story that can make me laugh, or cry, or even get angry, and I will confess - that happened more then once.

More than twice, even. There may have even been cursing involved wink emoticon;)

I also like a story that can teach. It might be a lesson I voluntarily go looking to learn, or even one I didn't know I needed, but to me the best books make you think. So, what did the Phoenix teach me?

That there's always something more to learn. About myself, about others, about the world; who knows what lessons are still round the corner? Isn't the thought of that exciting?

That my reason for not trying something doesn't need to be 'because I'm afraid to fail'. Yeah, that's always been a big one for me, but still *shrugs* I may very well fail, but by not trying at all....isn't that a kind of failing in itself?

*shrugs again* There's more, but you get the idea.

So, to a brave and noble lady, I offer my sincerest thanks. Thank you. Gracias. Danke. Spasibo. Obrigato. Arigato gozaimasu. Thank you for the courage it would have taken to tell your story. For the lessons. For the laughs. Heck, even for the tears and the cursing.

Thank you for introducing me to the Phoenix. We've had an interesting visit.
Would I recommend "Rise: the Abused Child of the Phoenix" to people? Why, yes, I would. Just be ready for the feels, the lessons and the occasional need to curse, though. wink emoticon

Kristie Hayden

7th September 2016

This is an incredible story by a lady in my writers' group that will give hope to women who suffer domestic violence. I'm posting this link because, here, she tells the story behind the story and it's so touching. You can buy the book at www.liviayork.com/book

Lynn Meyers

Hi Livia,
I have finished your most interesting book “Rise.” You have certainly had some good and bad times.
I found the story very easy to follow, and hope the follow up is not to far away.
My emotions were up and down, sometimes sad and sometimes overjoyed by your resilience.
Also I am in awe of your memory and how you could recall small detail of dress or scenery.
I have know quite a few young women that had similar experiences, as I was in a girls home all my teenage life.
I am looking forward to the sequel.
The Phoenix is a long loved bird that that obtains new life by arising from the ashes.
Even thus by great sages ‘‘tis confessed The Phoenix dies, and then is born again, When it approaches its five hundredth year; On herb or grain it feeds not in its life, But only on tears of incense and amomum, And nard and myrrh are its last winding sheet.
Thank you Livia
And thank you for being my sisters friend.
Lynn Meyers
I hope you can add this to all your comments.
Sent from my iPad

Trish Hulbert

I really enjoyed reading yourlife journey. you had some very isolated times in your life, due to your mother having to vwork to support herself and you, which led to you being raped and violated. My heart went out to you.I enjoyed your mum telling you about your heritage.

Jill Klinger

Love this book!! I'm almost done and it's amazing! What strong, accomplished women to look up to!

Jill Klinger

I am so honored to call Livia York my friend. This book about her life is truly inspiring. What an incredibly strong and courageous woman! I highly recommend this book! Can't wait to read part 2!!

Donna-Leigh Perfect

Rise The Abused Child Of The Phoenix by Livia York was an absolute pleasure to read or should I say immerse oneself in. Livia’s true life story of overcoming adversity is inspiring, raw and takes the reader on a roller coaster journey of highs and lows.
Highly recommended read. Thank you Livia for your inspiration.