Sarah's Song


Romance - Suspense
386 Pages
Reviewed on 05/18/2018
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Review Exchange Program, which is open to all authors and is completely free. Simply put, you agree to provide an honest review an author's book in exchange for the author doing the same for you. What sites your reviews are posted on (Goodreads, B&N, Amazon, etc.) and whether you send digital (eBook, PDF, Word, etc.) or hard copies of your books to each other for review is up to you. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email, and be sure to describe your book or include a link to your Readers' Favorite review page or Amazon page.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Melinda Hills for Readers' Favorite

Tragedy sets the stage for the lives of four young Appalachian country children in Sarah’s Song by Vicky Whedbee. As they flee their burning farmhouse where they realize their parents have died, they are forced to make their way across the cornfield to where they know they will be loved and cared for – their grandfather’s house. Meanwhile, a young Native American family is trying to get to the Cherokee reservation but are caught in a storm, leaving their young son at the mercy of a mean man.

Vicky Whedbee cleverly fast-forwards through the stages of the children’s lives, relating important events and occasions, adding more characters and developing relationships. The town, Hurricane Holler, also changes and people show their neighborly spirit. The one thing that there is in abundance is love, closely followed by a deep and basic faith, but both are needed to offset some of the heartache that inevitably comes along in life. The family grows and their determination remains a positive factor, even when life isn’t as fair as one would like it to be.

Sarah’s Song is a touching, wonderful look at the resilience of youth when there is love and nurturing, in spite of the trials and tribulations a family may experience. Vicky Whedbee writes beautifully, capturing the colloquialisms of the rural area and also delving deep into the souls and spirits of the characters, most of which possess a special gift. Funny, sad, thought-provoking and inspiring, Sarah’s Song celebrates basic values and touches your soul as you read, making you think about what is really important in life. A wonderful story.

Amazon Customer

BEST BOOK I HAVE EVER READ!!
Amazon Customer on May 9, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I just purchased this book and could not put it down.. You can almost literally submerse yourself inside the plot. Loved the surprises and twists..
Will there be a sequel?? I sure hope so..

hmmmmmmmmmon

5.0 out of 5 stars
Another GREAT book by Vicky Whedbee!
By hmmmmmmmmmon May 11, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Another wonderful book by Vicky Whedbee! This book is based in the beautiful East Tennessee mountain region and you'll be delighted by all the very interesting characters. All of Vicky's books would make for uniquely scenic and unforgettable movies. We're looking forward to the next book!

Amazon Customer

5.0 out of 5 stars You'll love the grandfather and the end will surprise and sadden ...
By Amazon Customer on May 3, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition
Outstanding and enthralling characters. You'll love the grandfather and the end will surprise and sadden you at the same time.

Dane Cromwell

5.0 out of 5 stars Vicky is a great story teller and I felt that I was right ...
By Dane Cromwell on January 21, 2018
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
This is the second book written by Vicky Whedbee, and I can't wait for her to finish her third book as I will definitely be reading it! Sarah's Song grabbed at my heart the minute I started reading it, and I couldn't put it down. Vicky is a great story teller and I felt that I was right there with the characters. Thanks, Vicky! Keep the books coming!!!

glassvolcano

5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read!
By glassvolcano on November 4, 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
This is essentially a feel-good book that can be read at any time~ ~good for the beach or at night when everyone is asleep. After a pair of initial violent events, the story nicely fleshes out the characters, who are good people that you find yourself rooting for. Just when you think that everybody is going to live happily ever after, the plot takes a detour and you find yourself rooting for the characters even more than you already have. It is paced and written so that you would not want to put it down.

Amazon Customer

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
By Amazon Customer on October 6, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Thus book was written in a way that kept me in suspense all along. The raising of the children by Grandpa and oldest daughter was so real. The death of Sarah so unexpected. Excellent book.

tonkagator

5.0 out of 5 stars Must read!
By tonkagator on August 22, 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
I could not put this book down it was awesome !!!!

James Farrell

5.0 out of 5 stars Surprise after surprise!
By James Farrell on August 19, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition
Sarah's Song is a pleasure to read. Mid-story tragic event came out of the blue. Last line of novel completely unexpected. Page turner! Well done, Vicky

Renee Georgoudakis

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
By Renee Georgoudakis on July 22, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Beautifully written. It touches the heart, and stirs emotions.

KS PIERCE

5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE THE BOOK
By KS PIERCE on July 17, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition
This is a very good book. It has a good old-fashioned feel to it which I loved. It has surprises, mystery with very poignant moments throughout. I loved this.

Molly Saunders

4.0 out of 5 stars Great book!
By Molly Saunders on July 1, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I am 60 years old. I was sexually abused for all my childhood, from age 3 to I got out of the home, age 20. I was a mess like Adohy. But God brought me through it, and sent people into my life to help me heal, then in 1979, God gave me a humble, gentle, hard working, loving man for my husband. We have been married for 38 years!
I identified with the Indian boy, and shed many tears over the heartache and joy of this story. God bless you and thank you. Molly Saunders

ghhgrehi

5.0 out of 5 stars Back in time
By Amazon Customer ghhgrehi on June 10, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition
I am awe struck again. One of my dearest childhood best friend is soooooooo amazingly talented, witty, heart felt and beautiful. I never could imagine the stories she writes. So very proud of you and honored and blessed to have you as my beloved friend. Keep it coming girl!

Amazon Customer

5.0 out of 5 stars This book was so good that I couldn't put it down until I finished ...
By Amazon Customer on June 9, 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
This book was so good that I couldn't put it down until I finished it. Hope Vicky does a follow-up on Sarah's home

Bonnell Kaiser

5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!
By Bonnell Kaiser on May 30, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Wow! Vicky Ann, you knocked it outta the ball park, AGAIN, cuz! I'm so proud of & FOR you! Peeps, yall need to download & read; you won't regret it!!

Amazon Customer

5.0 out of 5 stars I loved her first book
By Amazon Customer on May 20, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I loved her first book, "Things He Hadn't Told Her". It was a beutiful and
heart warming story . But I believe this one was even better, I read it in
just two days. If you want a good book to read then please be sure to get
this one you wont regret it. Sarah's Song

Bobbye Edwards

5.0 out of 5 stars Sarah's Song is Great Reading!
By Bobbye Edwards on May 14, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This book is wonderful! At times I cried and even chuckled a little. Vicky is one of the most refreshing new writers to come along in a while. I loved her first book, "THINGS HE HADN'T TOLD HER", but this one is very different. and beautifully written! Both are real to the area, but very different settings. Having lived in the South all of my life, I found that the language was very true to the time. Loved the ending!!!

Mountain Gurl

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
By Mountain Gurl on August 24, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Loved it !!!!

Marsha Ceniceros

Marsha Ceniceros rated it it was amazing
Read 2 times
Author Vicky Whedbee, has written an extraordinary story taken place in the 1940’s, Sarah’s Song, which is truly touching the heart. The Characters are richly written as the narrative. I particularly loved the character, Jericho. This is a script that will bring tears and love, a blend of emotions, a well written pace of experiences that brings a tight association to each character’s role. I would read this story again, highly recommend.

Mary

Mary rated it it was amazing
Read 2 times
Very good book. The surprise at the end DID surprise me. I usually catch those :)

Maresa Pezzulo

Maresa Pezzulo rated it it was amazing
I loved this book , as well as, Things He Hadn't Told Her.. I just bought a set to give to a friend. These two books are a must read.. Warmhearted and wholesome.. Can't find good books like this any more. Will be looking for more books by this author. Keep them coming!

Josh Pezzulo

Josh Pezzulo rated it it was amazing
This was a special book. Such a sweet read. Drama, love, sadness, happiness, suspense, humor - It has it all. I highly recommend reading this book. Waiting for the next one...

Rhonda White

Rhonda White
rated it it was amazing

Cindy DeMetro

Cindy DeMetro
rated it 5 Stars! it was amazing

Thomas Higdon

Thomas Higdon
rated it 5 STARS! it was amazing

Pam

Pam
rated it 5 STARS it was amazing

Thomas C. Tatman

Thomas C. Tatman
rated it - it was amazing

Angela Carr

Angela Carr
rated it 5 STARS! it was amazing

toni h smith

toni h smith
rated it 5 stars!!! it was amazing

Rachel Reed

Rachel Reed
rated it I really liked it

Ann Edwards

Ann Edwards
rated it 5 STARS!!! it was amazing