Seeking Haven

The Atlas Cliffs series 2

Young Adult - Paranormal
377 Pages
Reviewed on 12/06/2023
Buy on Amazon

    Book Review

Reviewed by Samantha Gregory for Readers' Favorite

Seeking Haven: The Atlas Cliff Series Book 2 by Angela van Liempt features Drew Harlow, a young woman who can see the dead. Drew is still relatively new to it, but after events in the first book, she is used to ghosts now. However, she doesn't expect a strange reaper-like figure to appear in her room, telling her he is going to kill her. Drew knows that there is more to her gift and her family history that might explain who he is. In a bid to figure out the truth, she goes in search of answers before the strange reaper carries out his threat. Aided by a ghost, Ori, she returns to her hometown for help. Drew soon learns that she is more powerful than she thought but must learn how to use her gift properly if she is to survive.

Angela van Liempt has written an interesting story in Seeking Haven. I have not read Book 1, but there was enough information in this book to give me the background of her earlier adventures. I liked the character of Drew. She's dealing with a crazy gift but still wants to live her life at art school. The story moved at a good pace and while it may have been a little predictable in parts, it was well written. Drew is a strong character and I really like how this developed through the plot. The mystery kept me wondering and I wanted to find out why she was being haunted by the creepy reaper. Wandering Souls is definitely a page-turner. Fans of supernatural mysteries and young adult books would enjoy this series.