The Advocate's Ex Parte

The Advocate's Ex Parte

The Advocate Series Book 5

Fiction - Mystery - Murder
359 Pages
Reviewed on 10/29/2016
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

Author Biography

Teresa Burrell has dedicated her life to helping children and their families in both the courtroom and the classroom.

As an attorney in San Diego, Burrell maintained a private law practice for twelve years, which specialized in domestic, criminal, and civil cases. Her work in juvenile court focused on representing abused minors and juvenile delinquents. Burrell has received several awards and special recognition from the San Diego Volunteer Lawyers for her countless hours of pro bono work with children and their families.

Burrell has also enjoyed a satisfying career as a teacher. She has taught children of all ages with diverse backgrounds and special needs. After creating an after-school program that kept kids off the street, she received a community service award.

Now in semi-retirement in California, Burrell continues to educate groups about social issues impacting children and write novels, many of which are inspired by actual legal cases. She is the author of The Advocate Series which now contains eight novels: The Advocate, The Advocate's Betrayal, The Advocate's Conviction, The Advocate's Dilemma, The Advocate's Ex Parte, The Advocate's Felony, The Advocate's Geocache, and most recently, The Advocate's Homicides.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Alyssa Elmore for Readers' Favorite

An exhilarating adventure with a fascinating insight into the legal system, The Advocate's Ex Parte by Teresa Burrell is the thrilling fifth book in The Advocates series. Sabre Orin Brown is a smart, successful attorney specialising in defending juvenile delinquents. When Judge "Scary Larry" draws her into his chambers for an Ex Parte hearing, Sabre is concerned. Several of her cases are very touchy and she can't afford for them to be thrown out. Understanding that the judge has something important to say, she calls in a nearby deputy County Counsel, only for both of them to be thrown out of the chambers by the livid judge. The next day, Sabre is informed that "Scary Larry" has been murdered. Sabre is confused and afraid. Before throwing her out of his chambers, the murdered judge had indicated that the Ex Parte hearing concerned one of her clients. The last thing "Scary Larry" said was, "You are on your own!" Which of her clients had the judge been trying to warn her about? Possibly the alleged fourteen-year-old murderer, accused of beating two of his classmates to death with a baseball bat? Or maybe there is something far more sinister going on. Something that could endanger Sabre and everything important to her. When another one of Sabre's colleagues is nearly murdered, Sabre and JP must look more closely at her current cases. Maybe the judge's warning was more than him just being "Scary Larry."

Filled with murder, suspense, betrayal, and red herrings, The Advocate's Ex Parte by Teresa Burrell is a spellbinding suspense novel worthy of Agatha Christie. With a killer plot that will keep you guessing "whodunit" to the very end and characters that are endearing, this book is a must-read! Although it is the fifth book, the author wrote this book as a spectacular stand-alone. Fans of Sabre Orin Brown and JP Torn will not be disappointed. The story takes the reader deep into the conflicted and sometimes confusing lives of a children's attorney and a private investigator to the attorney, giving the reader a well-rounded view of a children's defender and advocate. If you like John Grisham and Dan Brown, then you do not want to miss this book!

Sherri Fulmer Moorer

Attorney Sabre Orin thought the judge's summons to his chambers was curious, until he turns up dead later that night in a hit and run accident. A suspicion of foul play seems natural, given his long history of tough sentencing on the bench, but when a psychologist is injured in a similar hit and run days later, it makes Sabre curious. Was the judge trying to warn her of a client with an ax to grind? It's not unusual, especially in child advocacy cases, but there are too many suspects to keep track of. When Sabre is doing a home visit where there's a drive by shooting, there are too many coincidences. She enlists the help of a private investigator she frequently works with, J.P. Thorn, who has his own demons to battle. The chase is on as Sabre and J.P. work through lists of potential victims, from a troubled teen accused of murdering two classmates, to an abusive gang member father, to a young Asian woman who is charged with child abandonment, but may be tied to a larger crime wave taking place in San Diego. The Advocate's Ex Parte, (The Advocate Series Book 5) by Teresa Burrell, takes readers on an amazing journey through a massive suspect list that just grows more complex as the novel progresses.

I enjoyed this book in part because I typically read mysteries that focus on detectives and police officers, so having the perspective of an attorney and private investigator was a fresh perspective on crime and the legal system. It was a thrilling, fast paced read and, despite the complex plot, everything ties together in the end. Teresa Burrell uses her expertise to weave a wonderful tale without bogging the reader down in details or legal terminology they won't understand, creating a page turning thriller. The Advocate's Ex Parte (The Advocate Series Book Five) grabs readers from page one, and doesn't let go until the end. An excellent read!

Jane Finch

The Advocate’s Ex Parte by Teresa Burrell is book five in The Advocate Series. The story develops around the murder of a judge and attempted murder of a court psychologist, and leads to attorney Sabre Brown joining forces with her Private Eye JP to investigate her current cases and see if there is some link to her cases and the murder and attempted murder. The story examines several cases Sabre is currently involved in and together they piece together possible suspects. Sabre also has a repressed attraction to JP, who in turn has someone from his past who still turns to him for protection. It soon becomes apparent that all is not as it first appears and the investigation takes unexpected turns as the truth unfolds.

Teresa Burrell has created a mystery that has the reader examining the evidence and characters of the suspects and forming conclusions that are dashed as the story continues with unexpected twists and turns. The writing is fluid and the characters believable and well-developed. As the suspect cases are examined, each chapter has a summary of the characters and the crime, which is helpful as there is a lot of information to absorb. The cases are complex and involve quite a few characters, but as the story progresses they become familiar and are easier to follow. When the story takes an unexpected turn, it is a welcome surprise to the plot and piques one's interest to make this a great read. This book is full of surprises to the very end and will be avidly read by lovers of a good legal suspense.