The Fairy Fly

Young Adult - Fantasy - General
298 Pages
Reviewed on 11/21/2013
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

Author Biography

The peculiar Lori R. Lopez is a multi-genre author, illustrator, and poet. She has been published in numerous anthologies and magazines. Learn about her novels and stories at Fairy Fly Entertainment.

Lori R. Lopez likes to be different, as a writer and as a human bean — er, being. She is a proud member of the Animal Kingdom, and a card-carrying member of The Crackpot Society (well, she would be if they gave out cards — perhaps Playing Cards count; she has plenty of those for playing her favorite game, Nertz).

As a little girl she would take tiny critters outdoors that were trapped in the house so they would be safer. (She has since learned that some little critters belong inside.) She held funerals for dead spiders and insects on the playground at school, and collected deceased birds and squirrels to bury in her mother’s flower garden. She also hung around cemeteries reading the names on tombstones, wondering who they were. Suffice it to say, she was a peculiar little girl who loved creatures great and small. She passed this trait on to her sons . . . the love for creatures, not the peculiar part.

Lori wrote a first draft of THE FAIRY FLY about fifteen years before expanding the tale into a novel. She jotted down ideas for additional characters and plot elements, but most of the new material came to her during the three months of finishing the story.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Tania Staley for Readers' Favorite

In The Fairy Fly, author Lori R. Lopez takes a look at some of the world’s smallest creatures. Lopez’s novel tells the story of Spider, a recently hatched jumper spider who is trying to find his way home. Spider was the smallest of his egg sac and the last to come out because of his fear of leaving the nest. Little did he know that his adventures were going to get even bigger and scarier. For Spider, finding a home that was safe and warm was important, and he thought he had found the perfect place. His home was dark and secure, closed off from the scary world, and soft, and it was also the pocket of a sweater that was soon going to take him far from home. When the owner of the sweater, the young boy whose home Spider lives in, takes his sweater to school, Spider finds himself in a strange, exciting, and dangerous new world. In his adventures, he encounters wonderful new friends, dangerous new foes, and the magical and mysterious Fairy Fly, and learns that the world is a grand place that demands to be explored.

Lori Lopez’s book, The Fairy Fly, is a wonderfully fanciful tale. Fans of books such as Charlotte’s Web and Stuart Little are sure to be intrigued by this tale, which celebrates the little things in life and how one being, no matter how small, can make a difference. It was Lopez’s unique dialogue that captured my imagination, however. Each creature had a unique voice, and the playfulness of characters, such as the Merry Mites, or the wise speeches of the Bookworm reminded me of the aura created in the works of Lewis Carroll. The book took just a little bit for me to get into, but by the end I was completely immersed in Spider’s world. My only concern was that at times it was difficult to get a clear view of setting, because of the smaller viewpoint of Spider. More tangible descriptions of setting would have made it easier to deduce where Spider was located, but it is my understanding that Lopez plans on making an illustrated version of this tale, which should help with this confusion. I highly recommend this tale for Young Adults and any who needs a reminder of just how wondrous our world really is. I hope to read more from Lori Lopez in the future.