The Sapphire Soul

Eldritch Heart Book 3

Young Adult - Fantasy - Epic
494 Pages
Reviewed on 10/24/2020
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Free Book Program, which is open to all readers and is completely free. The author will provide you with a free copy of their book in exchange for an honest review. You and the author will discuss what sites you will post your review to and what kind of copy of the book you would like to receive (eBook, PDF, Word, paperback, etc.). To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Review Exchange Program, which is open to all authors and is completely free. Simply put, you agree to provide an honest review an author's book in exchange for the author doing the same for you. What sites your reviews are posted on (B&N, Amazon, etc.) and whether you send digital (eBook, PDF, Word, etc.) or hard copies of your books to each other for review is up to you. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email, and be sure to describe your book or include a link to your Readers' Favorite review page or Amazon page.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Liz Konkel for Readers' Favorite

The Sapphire Soul by Matthew S. Cox is the third book in the Eldritch Heart series. Oona and Kitlyn risked everything for their relationship when they went against the prejudices of the kingdom and even risked losing Kitlyn's place on the throne. They now sit on the throne together as queens and proudly call each other wife before their kingdom, thanks to the word of a goddess and their role in putting an end to war. The days of peace are quickly uprooted when monsters are seen throughout the kingdom with frightened citizens reporting unexplained sightings. The sightings are tied to a powerful stranger that makes their presence known with a shocking entrance. Meanwhile, Oona's sister Evie and the cook's son Pim are determined to prove that fairies exist so they set out to find the proof. When they disappear, Oona and Kitlyn are left searching for answers.

Oona and Kitlyn may have stopped a war and taken the throne as queens, but their adventures are far from over. They have to think of the kingdom and the citizens with everyone's struggles and concerns placed on their shoulders. Their relationship provides warmth to the story that is at the heart of it as Oona and Kitlyn have a strong sense of confidence about their relationship and themselves. The story contrasts with the beginning of their journey where they hid how they felt and now proudly proclaim their love for all to know. They're a grounded place for each other and serve together as true partners as they handle the concerns of the people.

The curse that haunts Kitlyn takes a turn when a ghost arrives with a possible way to save herself which pushes her to determine what's more important: her life or her kingdom. The focus of the plot is on the various monster sightings reminiscent of legends and folklore. Evie and Pim believe that fairies exist and are determined to prove it. The various superstitions come to life through the different threads that Matthew S. Cox weaves together. Each of these is reminiscent of well-known legends and superstitions found throughout history. The Sapphire Soul is a riveting and addictive installment in the series that explores magic, belief, superstition, and love through a story full of heart, adventure, and discovery.