Gambit of the Glass Crowns

Volume One of The Sundered Kingdoms Trilogy

Fiction - Fantasy - General
372 Pages
Reviewed on 08/02/2013
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Review Exchange Program, which is open to all authors and is completely free. Simply put, you agree to provide an honest review an author's book in exchange for the author doing the same for you. What sites your reviews are posted on (B&N, Amazon, etc.) and whether you send digital (eBook, PDF, Word, etc.) or hard copies of your books to each other for review is up to you. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email, and be sure to describe your book or include a link to your Readers' Favorite review page or Amazon page.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

Author Biography

Let me tell you a tale…
Illuminated by the flickering blue glow of a computer screen, Ethan Risso learned of his love for writing when he was barely old enough to reach the keyboard and his idea of a good story started with “Once upon a time…” and ended tidily with a “happily ever after.” Like most children, he had many an imaginary friend. Unlike most children, however, Ethan’s lived in the realm of the written word.
For nearly a decade, he spent his time reading as many books on the craft of writing he could find and writing four novels, none of which he would later allow to see the light of day. Always enamored with the romanticism of writing an epic world-encompassing series, he started writing what would become The Sundered Kingdom Trilogy in 2009. After dozens of pages of notes, he put pen to paper, only to find himself swept up in the journey along with his characters.
Today, Ethan continues to explore the realm of the page and has three projects in development: the second and third books of The Sundered Kingdoms Trilogy, due out in Q4 and Q2 of 2013 and ‘14 respectively, and a standalone fantasy novel.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Lit Amri for Readers' Favorite

Gambit of the Glass Crowns by Ethan Risso is Volume One of The Sundered Kingdoms Trilogy. Connor unwillingly becomes a herald of his era, due to the poisonous Féinmhuinín’s arrow that nearly killed him. Wars, tension between clans, political conspiracy as well as magic and romance -- Connor must find his destined path through all this.

Gambit of the Glass Crowns hits the ground running with the attack of Castle Cærwyn in Chapter I. The pace of the story is excellent. Political drama, magic, and other elements blend perfectly in this exciting fantasy tale. I appreciate the fact that a glossary for characters' names and backgrounds is provided in the beginning of the novel. It certainly helps to identify with the diverse set of characters. Ethan Risso brilliantly weaves the story with faultless prose and ensures each character receives enough attention and development as the novel progresses.

Volume One is, without doubt, a great start for the trilogy, and I genuinely think that Ethan Risso has sealed his place in the writing industry through his debut. The plot is unpredictable and multi-layered. Readers will definitely gravitate toward Connor in no time, and will support his endeavors and cheer every time he survives an ordeal. I'm also fascinated with the Meïnir and I cannot wait to see how Connor will adjust to his new role in Arlais.

All in all, I highly recommend this beautifully crafted fantasy to fellow readers and I look forward to Volume Two of The Sundered Kingdoms Trilogy.