Rebekah's Treasure

Rebekah's Treasure


Christian - Historical Fiction
333 Pages
Reviewed on 05/20/2014
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Review Exchange Program, which is open to all authors and is completely free. Simply put, you agree to provide an honest review an author's book in exchange for the author doing the same for you. What sites your reviews are posted on (Goodreads, B&N, Amazon, etc.) and whether you send digital (eBook, PDF, Word, etc.) or hard copies of your books to each other for review is up to you. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email, and be sure to describe your book or include a link to your Readers' Favorite review page or Amazon page.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

Author Biography

Born in Romania in 1945, Sylvia Bambola lived her early years in Germany. At seven she relocated with her adopted family and saw the Statue of Liberty and America for the first time. But the memory of those years in Germany inspired her to write Refiner’s Fire, which won a Silver Angel Award, and was a Christy Finalist. Her frequent moves as an “army brat” gave her an opportunity to see America and fall in love with her new country. Bambola has authored seven novels, has two grown children, teaches women’s Bible studies, and is learning the guitar.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Ashley Tetzlaff for Readers' Favorite

Rebekah’s Treasure by Sylvia Bambola is a Christian historical fiction set around the time of 70 A.D. It features a family of seven: father, mother, four sons, and a daughter. The story’s Point-Of-View switches between the mother’s (Rebekah) and the father’s (Ethan), and that way you can cover more historically than with just one POV, but aren’t confused by too many POVs. Ethan and his sons stay in Jerusalem to defend it against the Romans, while Rebekah and her daughter go to Pella for safety. And so the adventure ensues! Treasure hunting, siege and famine, miracles, idolatry and ravaging, Zealots, Christians, Jews, Romans, fictional and historical figures – they all meet in this page-flipping work.

I enjoyed reading Rebekah’s Treasure from the start. It reminded me of G.A. Henty’s work, For The Temple, but more novel/female oriented than battle/guy oriented. I brushed up on a lot of facts and events around the fall of the temple, and felt that Sylvia Bambola put me in the times. I appreciated finding out about the different characters and how they interacted with others and what drove them. I didn’t always care for how different characters treated each other (speaking rudely, grabbing and slapping, rebellious and resentful), but I guess that’s what you get in a fallen world. I felt the ending wasn’t quite resolved. But other than those things, I relished reading it and thought about it all the time until I was able to continue reading it. A fascinating read.

Millie Samuelson

5.0 out of 5 stars One of my best reads so far this year!, August 25, 2014

By Millie Samuelson (Ellettsville, IN USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)

This review is from: Rebekah's Treasure (Kindle Edition)

I recently finished Rebekeh's Treasure. WOW! Rarely have I read such a spendid Biblically-based historical novel. I loved how the author shared through story her research of Christians and Jews around 70 A.D.! I was touched on many levels -- intellectually, spiritually, emotionally, and historically. . . thanks heaps to Sylvia Bambola for one of my best reads so far this year!

Dealsharingaunt

There was so much historical accuracy to this book that I felt like I was drawn into the past., August 22, 2014


By Dealsharingaunt - See all my reviews


This review is from: Rebekah's Treasure (Kindle Edition)

I loved this book. I loved it because it is about a time in history that there are no survivors to ask what really happened. The author's take on the past is a possibility. To think that the cup Jesus drank from was being held by a person and not hidden away really made me think. Especially the cup from The Last Supper. There was so much historical accuracy to this book that I felt like I was drawn into the past. This was not a good time for the followers of Jesus, and I was reminded of his sacrifice's for us. He was not the only one that made sacrifices, and it was nice to read about them. I also really liked the parts about the Copper Scroll. I liked the ending and would love to read more books by this author. I am giving this book a 5/5. I was given a copy to review via Book Review Buzz and the author, however all opinions are my own.

Noelle the Dreamer

Rich in historical facts, this fictional account highlights tumultuous times for those who followed Christ., August 12, 2014


By Noelle the Dreamer - See all my reviews

This review is from: Rebekah's Treasure (Paperback)

Cleverly written in the present tense to reflect both views, that of Jewess Rebekah and husband Ethan, this story is taking us back to 70 A.D. and the fall of Jerusalem.
Surrounded by the Roman armies, the Holy City's outer walls breached, the Jews witnessed the ransacking of their Temple, its treasures to be eventually taken to Rome as victory spoils. The ensuing rebellion lasted another three years before its culminating in Masada.

Rich in historical facts, this fictional account highlights tumultuous times for those who followed Christ. Separated amidst chaos and despair Sylvia Bambola's protagonists flee, carrying treasures like no other: Rebekah with the cup our Lord held at the Last Supper, her husband with a precious scroll referencing the location of a capacious Temple's hold.

An excellent read from a great storyteller, Rebekah's Treasure is an emotional recount of faith, love and friendship at the beginning of Christianity.

Includes historical references, glossary and a reader's group questions.

A Thoene fan, I felt none the less this novel well worth 5 stars!

Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from BOOKCRASH as part of it's promotion. I am disclosing this in accordance with the FTC 16 CFR, Part 255 'Guides concerning the use of endorsements and testimonials in advertising. I was not asked to write a positive review and all opinions expressed are entirely my own.

Marie Bungard


Well researched! Shows the intensity and violence of the fall of Jerusalem in A.D. 70, August 12, 2014



By Marie Bungard - See all my reviews

This review is from: Rebekah's Treasure (Kindle Edition)

I really enjoy reading history and novels based on historical events. Rebekah's Treasure by Sylvia Bambola did not disappoint. Ms. Bambola took a great deal of time to research the events happening in Jerusalem and its surrounding towns in 70 A.D. The preparation for battle and the battle scenes during the fall of Jerusalem and the destruction of the Temple were intensely descriptive and although violent, definitely necessary to understanding the story. (The picture to the left is stones from the Western Wall of the Temple Mount (Jerusalem) thrown onto the street by Roman soldiers on the Ninth of Av, 70 A.D.-from Wikipedia photos.)

As the story is developed and the characters come to life the reader is taken into the 1st Century. Believer's are trying to flee the city and the persecution they are experiencing at the hands of Rome. Rebekah is carrying the Cup of the Last Supper and her husband, Ethan, is charged with guarding and using the treasures of the Temple. Their journey's include caravan robbers, lack of food and water, intrigue and mystery.

In weaving the story there is a constant thread of Family Values. There is great concern as to the safety and well-being of each member. The artifacts that are being transported to new locations remain simply things while the family relationships and friendships provide the cement that holds the story together.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book and highly recommend it. It is refreshing, accurate, and believable. If you would like to purchase a copy for yourself, just click on the picture and it will take you to the author's blog. (I receive no compensation from the author for suggesting that you purchase the book.)






Debbie Forbes

Treasure found in the reading of Rebekah's Treasure, August 2, 2014

By debbie forbes - See all my reviews


This review is from: Rebekah's Treasure (Paperback)

20665950

Rebekah's Treasure by Sylvia Bambola is a wonderful addition to any library. It is 70 A.D. and Jerusalem is being taken over by the Romans and the Jews are leaving to escape being tortured, killed or made slaves. It is written from the view point of both Rebekah, who is sent away by her husband from the Temple and Jerusalem to keep her and her daughter safe, and her husband Ethan who stays to fight with his sons and try to save the Temple. It is a remarkable book about love, faith, family, and perseverance through a tumultuous time for the Jews and Jerusalem.

I loved this book. It leads you on a journey seen through the eyes of Rebekah that takes her to a new life with the believers of Christ in Pella. She is a strong woman whose faith sustains her through all she has to face in the new town while her sons and husband are in danger fighting to save the Temple and Jerusalem from the Roman's who are taking over and destroying everything and everyone. It is a emotionally charged book that you get swept up in right along with Rebecca and her family. It also is well written from Ethan's point of view showing how devastating and brutal the struggle for the Jews were in trying to keep the Romans from overrunning Jer4usalem and Killeen all the rebels and Jews that are still living there. It shows the strength of the Jewish people and their perseverance in the face of the enemy.

If you love a great emotional, action packed, faith building, historical novel then you must read this book. It is a great insight into the struggles and devastation the Jews at the hands of the Romans as well as rebel factions of Jews.

Rebekah and Ethan each have what they think is the treasure they have to save, but in the end they find the true treasure isn't in objects and the journey to realizing this is one we can all relate to in our life.

I was moved by this book and it was a journey that I am glad I didn't miss. I can not recommend this book enough. I hope you will get this book and read it and join me in finding a true treasyre of a book.

I was given a copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion and review by Heritage Publishing House through bookcrash.com

Judy Fisher

Five Stars, July 28, 2014

By Judy Fisher - See all my reviews

This review is from: Rebekah's Treasure (Kindle Edition)

I loved this book and would like to find more like it

Thomas Eubanks

Five Stars, July 25, 2014



By

Thomas Eubanks - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)

Verified Purchase(What's this?)

This review is from: Rebekah's Treasure (Kindle Edition)

excellent

Joy Faix

awesome read, July 21, 2014

By

Joy Faix - See all my reviews


Verified Purchase(What's this?)

This review is from: Rebekah's Treasure (Kindle Edition)

This book was awesome - well written, good story line

Faith Cummings

a Great read, July 19, 2014

By

Faith Elizabeth Cummings "Faith Elizabeth Cu... (Waynesboro Virginia) - See all my reviews


Verified Purchase(What's this?)

This review is from: Rebekah's Treasure (Kindle Edition)

I would recommend this book to anyone who likes Christian and Jewish history. I would have liked to know Rebekah anbd her family. The author does a great job of integrating her story into historical happenings, and the life of Jesus. This is a great window into life in Jerusalem in 70 A.D. It is also a story of hope and faith in the midst of death and destruction.

Barbara Couch

Rebekah' s Treasure, July 19, 2014

By

Barbara J. Couch - See all my reviews


Verified Purchase(What's this?)

This review is from: Rebekah's Treasure (Kindle Edition)

This is an outstanding fiction novel about the persecution of the Jews and followers of The Way after the death of Jesus. The author uses historical fact and imagination to weave a thrilling story of endurance under great persecution. The book is so engrossing that it is hard to put it down. It is very informative and inspiring. It made me more fully realize what believers experienced during this difficult time in history

Ruth MM

Excellent book, July 8, 2014



By

RuthMM - See all my reviews


Verified Purchase(What's this?)

This review is from: Rebekah's Treasure (Kindle Edition)

Sylvia Bambola does an excellent job of describing the many interactions and lives of the characters in this book. It took me to places where very few novels have succeeded in doing over the past few years. Her author's commentary lifted me up. Indeed, "Come Lord Jesus." We await You.

Steven Jendusa

Excellent book, July 1, 2014



By

steven jendusa - See all my reviews

Verified Purchase(What's this?)

This review is from: Rebekah's Treasure (Kindle Edition)

I enjoyed the book and liked how the author used religion and history in the novel. I would certainly recommend thus book to others to read.

Nananet

A Jewel Among Hictorical Fiction!, June 29, 2014



By

Nananet "Live, laugh, love and enjoy the jour... - See all my reviews


This review is from: Rebekah's Treasure (Paperback)

Sylvia Bambola in Rebekah's Treasure presents a captivating story of a Jewish family in 70 A. D. as Rome is bearing down on Jerusalem. Bambola weaves such rich historically accurate details within her writing they bring the story to life, enhancing it while educating the reader. Never boring as some historical fiction can be and certainly not wimsy she draws in her reader's attention and emotions.
Bambola's depiction of this slice of time comes to life through her vivid backdrops, her passionate storytelling and beautiful characters. Her creativity and brillance are evident in the characters she creates and the depth to which she develops each. She invites her readers into their lives, their inner struggles, and their intense love and commitment to each other. When their heart's break our heart's break.
Her writing style is unique in that she writes in first person through Ethan, the father and Rebekah, the mother. She does so by changing voice between chapters. Rebekah and Ethan are seperated early in our story. Ethan and their four sons are soldiers and are commited to staying in Jerusalem regardless. Ethan secretely has Rebekah and their daughter smuggled out of Jerusalem as he know their fate once Titus and the Roman army arrive.
Months of separation saturated with much turmoil and devastation befalls both those with Rebekah and those with Ethan. As we continue to hear our story from this mother and father's viewpoint we experience battles, bloodshed, miracles, mysteries and an ever present sense of danger. Bambola pencils these in such a fluid manner the pages seemed to turn themselves. Yes this book is greatly entertaining. Without spoiling the end let me just say as powerful as the book was I was not prepared for the purity of love and sacrifice in the end. Beautiful. Life changing.
I had not heard of or read Mrs. Bambola prior to this book. I picked it up to read and review as part of an early review process allowing me to receive the book free. I never anticipated experiencing such a poignant work. Seeing and being reminded of the early church and even more so the work of the cross with such passion challenged me as a person.
I hope to read more of Mrs. Bambola's work. I wholehearted recommend this book

Delores

Rebekah's Treasure, June 23, 2014



By

delores - See all my reviews


Verified Purchase(What's this?)

This review is from: Rebekah's Treasure (Kindle Edition)

This book has strengthened my desire to grow In the word of God, to realize that he has a plan for my life, and he will bring
It to pass.