Revenge of Zeeka

Horror Trilogy

Fiction - Science Fiction
230 Pages
Reviewed on 09/11/2016
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Review Exchange Program, which is open to all authors and is completely free. Simply put, you agree to provide an honest review an author's book in exchange for the author doing the same for you. What sites your reviews are posted on (Goodreads, B&N, Amazon, etc.) and whether you send digital (eBook, PDF, Word, etc.) or hard copies of your books to each other for review is up to you. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email, and be sure to describe your book or include a link to your Readers' Favorite review page or Amazon page.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

Author Biography

I started writing and publishing books in the year 2013 after I retired from the corporate world..
I wrote six memoirs and three books of short stories, which were fiction. I tried my hand at Fiction because of something that my brother said to me in one of his letters prior to his death.
He wrote in reference to my book, ‘My Life as a Banker: A Life Worth Living,”
“Your book makes very pleasant reading, and your literary expression is superb and easy to follow. You have an excellent talent, and I think you should follow up on a leisurely basis with perhaps publishing a book of short stories. With fiction, you will have greater opportunity to use your imagination and your undoubted descriptive ability. You used the word “fantasize” to create a situation. This is an outstanding quality, which you should continue to use because it is imagination, which disposes of everything, coming from within. It creates beauty, justice, and happiness, which are everything in this world.”
In May 2016, I combined the first three books in the series, Zeeka and the Zombies [published Feb 2016], Zeeka’s Child [published March 2016], and Zeeka Returns [published April 2016] into one book, Revenge of Zeeka: Horror Trilogy. I hope that you, my readers, will enjoy it.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Faridah Nassozi for Readers' Favorite

In Revenge of Zeeka by Brenda Mohammed, the island of Gosh is under attack by an army of zombies under the command of a vengeful science genius. In the year 2016, the Zika virus broke out in Central and South America with life threatening effects for pregnant women. Given a choice to save the mothers or the unborn babies, a decision was made to save the mothers. The tiny stillborns were securely and secretly buried. Only a few people knew of this. Unknown to everyone, however, a certain scientist managed to get hold of all 51 bodies, bring them back to life, and condition them to follow his command, creating himself a perfect army of zombies. Now, twenty years later, the evil scientist seeks revenge on those he holds responsible for the stillbirths. Only three of the current doctors at Central Hospital - Raynor, Mark and George - witnessed the unfortunate events of 2016. The three have strong suspicions about who might be controlling the zombies. Meanwhile Zeeka is lying in wait for the perfect time to unleash his army onto the island. Zeeka has big, evil plans and this is just the beginning. In a desperate search for answers, and with very little to go on, the doctors search for the elusive Master Zeeka. Will they save the islanders from Zeeka and his zombies, or will it be too late?

Revenge of Zeeka by Brenda Mohammed is a one of a kind novella trilogy that delivers an incredible story guaranteed to give readers an absolute sci-fi treat. I especially liked how Brenda used current events as the pivotal point from which to build this amazing sci-fi horror. This made the story even more relatable. More importantly, however, I admired how she owned her story and created this captivating version of events. She captured with amazing depth the setting, characters, plot, and emotions in such few words. If you are looking for a thrilling short read, this fast-paced, sci-fi action novella will give you the time of your life.

Wayne Vernon

The Zeeka virus, zombies, and robots
ByWayne Vernonon August 17, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This is a mini trilogy by author Brenda Mohammed. Different niches apply, from sci-fi to romance, from mystery to horror. The editing is top notch, and the language is fit for younger audiences too. Book 1 sets the scene & the intrigue, while books 2 & 3 expand upon it with action and even more intrigue. The reading flow is great as well. Brenda Mohammed had a sheer moment of brilliance when she decided to build her plot around the Zeeka virus. Creative reason at its best.

M Reynoso

Entertaining trilogy
ByReviewed.By.Meon May 11, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition
I'm happy to see all three stories together in one package because they make for an easy read and a thrilling one too. The author skillfully thought of not telling just another zombie story. Since the stories are based in the future, she included technology unheard of before. Also, there are plot twists that will leave your head spinning and an exciting hunt for the clever mastermind, Zeeka. Young adult and adult readers will enjoy this trilogy.

John Hennessy

Zombies. A mad scientist. A cool detective. Cool brains (and brains all around) and a cool head needed for the enjoyable trilogy
By Kato's Revenge on May 5, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition
This is a solid collection of zombie stories from author Brenda Mohammed. I have read each of the three stories in turn, so for potential readers looking at this, I offer a capsule review of each tale, followed by a summary of the series as a whole.

I: Revenge of Zeeka

Who is Zeeka? Why is he revenge-ing? What would your government’s response be to zombies waddling around, mixing with the locals? It’s all here in the first book. I love the author’s descriptions. The dialogue can be a little weighty at times, but it’s all part of the set-up. It’s an intriguing horror that slowly pulls you in.

‘These different plot lines keep you reading, and keep you guessing. Despite its length I did not read this book in one sitting. I wanted to absorb the cleverly interlinked plotlines. In fact, there's not a lot of the mysterious Zeeka of the title in this first story, and I think that's a clever decision by the author.’

Summary: Here’s an author stepping out onto a new genre and scoring high. It’s not the best in the series, but it sets up an intriguing premise. When read back along with parts II and III, I think it is a story that gets better with successive re-reads.

II: Zeeka's Child

Oh. It had to happen, didn’t it? It’s not enough to have adult size flesh eating zombies running amok on a small island…we have to have kiddie sized versions too? Or do we?

‘When book one ended, there was what I would call a 'soft' cliffhanger in that readers would not be annoyed that there was a cliffhanger in itself, because it was a complete tale in itself. Now with Zeeka's Child, the plot revolves around Raynor and Janet, and the serious nature of having to raise a child that is not his own.

This is an interesting concept to feature in a zombie story, which would at first appear to be nothing more than a skin bursting sideshow, and I was a little (just a little) put off by the initial chapter because it seemed more like a romantic interlude than anything else. This is actually a very clever piece of writing by the author, because it is like she is saying 'hey, you know this is a zombie tale, I know it's a zombie tale, but let's confuse the hell out of the readers by focussing on contemporary romance for a while.' This could be the first ever zom-contemp-rom, unless you know of another story like it.’

Summary: The best thing about Zeeka’s Child for me was the beefed-up story re the two cops, Wildy and Cole (hey, give these two their own spin-off series!). The author doesn’t drop the threads of book one. They are skillfully integrated into this story, and it works. It’s a much more deeper and complex story than book one, some achievement in such a short story.

III: Zeeka's Return

Oops. Zeeka is returning, and the island of Gosh is not happy about it. He is also revealed to be, as everyone knew, as Brian Cameron (of course he isn’t, I made the name up because you don’t want the reveal spoiled, do you?)

I expected mayhem in this final third and we do get it. The highlight is Miranda (oh, Miranda!) whose presence gives a lot of weight and realism to the futuristic theme and setting of 2036. The ending is unexpected but enjoyable.

'Zeeka Returns is the pleasing third installment in the Zeeka and the Zombies series. What I have observed through reading each tale in sequence is a significant level up in terns of writing style and character development. That is no easy task in a short story format, and given Zeeka Returns is the longest of the three, it should be noted that it is still a short story. One wonders how our anatagonist from book one is going to prevail - or not, as the case may be.'

Summary: Zeeka is a series that could have run on and on…and into self-absorbed oblivion. A good author knows when to wrap a story up. Zeeka is a trilogy that is done and dusted and edited well. There are few multi-layered zombie stories out there, so this is a gem readers will enjoy.

Brian Samlalsingh

During the voting for Metamorph Publishing Summer Indie Awards 2016, I have voted every day for this series and cannot wait for it to become a movie.

A.J.

Revenge of Zeeka: Horror Trilogy by Brenda Mohammed is not an ordinary zombie story.
By A. J. on November 9, 2016
Format: Paperback
It is the story of the fictional Island of Gosh, a tropical island off the coast of South America, and the people who live there in the year 2036.
It is a brilliant composition of how advances in science and technology can be used or abused. This science fiction novella contains incidents of kidnapping, arson, mechanical as well as flesh-eating zombies, use of high-tech weaponry, robot action, and much more. It even has a subtle bit of romance. It is most original as the author used current events to build this amazing story. It is a page-turner and every page has a new twist designed to make your spine chill. It is suitable for both young adults and adults. I believe this book can be made into a good movie. I truly enjoyed it. A must read.

Katerina Sestakova

A wonderful sci-fi zombie trilogy
By Katerina Sestakova on November 21, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition
Revenge of Zeeka: Zeeka and the Zombies
This is a story about a mad scientist who got really mad. We do not learn about him and his motives much in this book since it’s just the first part of the series. Yet Brenda Mohammed shows us the first consequences of his madness in this clever story about a virus outbreak leading to an emergence of strange zombie-like people. The fast pace and amount of action keeps this story thrilling. At the same time, the author manages to give us a glimpse of the main characters’ feelings that do not concern the zombies directly. We can observe a young doctor planning her marriage and her admirer’s disappointment. This seems to be a plot within the main plot, and it makes this story more complex, the characters easier to relate to, which is not easy to achieve in such a short story that is packed with action. Yet there is a final twist that reveals to us that personal lives of the main protagonists may be infected by Zeeka’s influence more than it seems at first glance.

This book leaves many questions unanswered and makes me look forward to reading the sequels. I can even imagine this book as a good movie.

Zeeka's Child (Revenge of Zeeka Book 2)

This is an interesting science fiction story about zombies who were created with the help of modern science. They differ from traditional zombies in many aspects. They are controlled by their mysterious master Zeeka through sophisticated technology. Many of them do not even eat human flesh, but that trait alone does not make them harmless.

The core of this book in the series focuses on a relatively fresh couple, Janet and Raynor. Janet finds out she is pregnant with the man she had been engaged to before Raynor. He is not just an ordinary ex, but someone whom they both see as a mad scientist. Yet the child in her womb is not the only reminder of her past. There is also a necklace her former lover gave to Janet, which contains more secrets than it seems at first glance. It’s a fascinating tale of kidnap, arson and a lot of other action. There are many shocking twists, but the main one revolves around the question who Zeeka’s child is.

The second book answers many questions the first book left us with, but it also poses many new questions. That’s why i am already looking forward to reading the third book.

I read this book in one sitting since it’s difficult to put down once one starts to read it. The story itself is quite complex for such a short book. There are not many authors who can say so much without wasting a single word. Brenda Mohammed excels in this respect.

Zeeka Returns (Revenge of Zeeka Book 3)
f I am not mistaken, this third book was originally meant to be the last one in the series but the good news is that there is already Revenge of Zeeka Book 4 out. The author seems to be a genius in writing short pieces that seem to be complete and finished stories in themselves, yet they all leave some space for a next book. This third book could easily be read and enjoyed without knowledge of the previous books in the series. The author reminds us of all the important information without boring the readers who are already familiar with it. This requires some special talent few writers have. It also enables readers to read these books in any order. I read this book long after the first book and shortly after the second book and I was never lost. I will still want to read the fourth book pretty soon for the simple reason that I can’t wait to read it.

My favorite character was Miranda, the perfect woman. She is a result of very advanced technology, just as all the zombies in these books are. Her appearance in the third book makes me more hopeful about human progress. While the story of zombies points out the potential misuse of science, Miranda shows its positive side, which is only good for the overall balance in my opinion.

A.Persaud

The many twists and turns in this trilogy make it exciting, thrilling and suspenseful. The reader wants to keep reading to find out what will happen next. The first book ends on a cliffhanger and a wrong assumption of who the real villain is. One is forced to continue reading the second book to find the answers. The second book builds more suspense as we discover that the real culprit is not the one we had assumed. We have to read the last book to find out if the guilty person was really apprehended.

The book is very carefully thought out and planned. Gosh appears to be a symbol of the author's native country. It describes the carnival celebrations and the pleasant weather. Justice prevails and the evil doer is captured. Jason, whose real name is Steven, finds happiness at the end and marries Janet's older sister. The book illustrates clearly the crime definitely does not pay. The good are rewarded and the bad are punished.

All in all, this is a well-written trilogy that makes interesting reading, keeps the reader in suspense, and encourages the reader to continue reading to see what will happen next. The author exhibits creativity in the way she manipulates the plot and creates a solution to tie up all the loose ends.

Amazon Reviewer

These 3 different plot lines keep you reading, and keep you guessing. I have to admit it took me a while to get into the book but once I did I thoroughly enjoyed it. I love a story that crosses genre’s and thinks outside the box. This one certainly did that, with the horror of Zombies and the futuristic sci-fi elements, and they worked well together.

Amazon Customer

The Revenge of Zeeka trilogy is short, easy-to-read and engaging. A futuristic thriller inspired by the zika virus, there are plenty of twists- the story always kept me guessing! This was a fresh and original take on the zombie genre and featured elements of horror, mystery and romance. I read it in a couple of sittings- a great book to get lost in over a lazy weekend!

Willcape

“Revenge of Zeeka” draws you in very quickly, it almost gives you that laser focus as you drone in to each character. For me Brenda is a really intense author who is full of "Fire and Ice." She leaves you on the edge of your seat drooling for more. And Awesome read - A MUST READ!!! You won't be disappointed can't wait for the next one!!

Reader X

A suspenseful sci-fi, horror, romance mystery, brilliantly woven together...
By ReaderX on September 25, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition
This is a Trilogy which takes place on the fictional Island of Goth, located off the South Coast of South America
It is about the futuristic sci-fi elements and the horrors of Zombies.
The author does a superb job weaving them together.
A suspenseful, thrilling fast-paced story which will keep you at the edge of your seat with a touch of mystery and romance added in.
The many twists and turns throughout this trilogy are spine chilling.
The plot lines are brilliantly interlinked.
If you are into Zombies this is the book for you

Julia

Revenge of Zeeka: Horror Trilogy by Brenda Mohammed is a thrilling collection of horror short. I’ve read two of the three stories in this trilogy and it was just a matter of catching up with old familiar characters. I love that the author incorporated carnival into the plot because a lot can happen under the cover of carnival. This trilogy, although a sci-fi, has very strong relevancy to events that are taking place in America and around the world, even as we speak. The bullying, the abuse of power by those in positions of authority, and more importantly, the far-reaching effect these abuses have on their victims.
Bravo, Ms. Mohammed, great trilogy!