Seven Weeks to Forever


Young Adult - Romance
333 Pages
Reviewed on 05/19/2015
Buy on Amazon

Author Biography

Jennifer Farwell has been writing since the day she picked up a navy blue Crayola as a toddler and began scribbling on her parents' freshly painted white walls. She's the author of metaphysical YA romance SEVEN WEEKS TO FOREVER, which may appeal to fans of Gayle Forman, John Green, Jojo Moyes, and Nicholas Sparks, and celebrity romance chick lit books HIDING OUT IN HOLLYWOOD and the forthcoming BILLION DOLLAR BOYFRIEND (to be released in 2017), which may appeal to fans of Lauren Weisberger, Sophie Kinsella, Lauren Conrad, and Helen Fielding. Her books have been featured by Cosmopolitan, Publishers Weekly, and Fangirlish, among others. When not writing novels, she can often be found at a Kundalini yoga class, cheering on the L.A. Kings during hockey season, or curled up with a good book. Her love of storytelling led to completing a Bachelor of Journalism degree and a Master of Arts degree in English, both from Carleton University in Ottawa, Canada. She grew up in Thunder Bay, Canada, and now lives in Los Angeles with her dog, Pico.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Jack Magnus for Readers' Favorite

Seven Weeks to Forever is a young adult romantic paranormal fantasy written by Jennifer Farwell. Cassidy knows that she'll be dying yet again in another seven weeks. She's living in the house in Los Angeles that her parents left her, far from the Boston home she grew up in and the aunt and uncle who took her in as a small child many years before. Cassidy loves music and enjoys going to concerts. A particular pet peeve of hers is when a tall guy blocks her view of the stage like this one is doing. After all, she's rather diminutive in size, and he could easily let her stand in front. After she manages to get herself out of his shadow and the concert has ended, she notices something shiny on the ground. It's a student ID that just happens to belong to Riley, the blocker. Her Life-After handler, Noah, tells her that Riley is her assignment as a Second-Timer on earth and already she's annoyed with him.

Jennifer Farwell's young adult romantic paranormal fantasy, Seven Weeks to Forever, is a powerful and moving sweet romance. The author has fashioned a fascinating mythology about the afterlife that fuels the plot for her story. Cassidy loves the Life-After and is going through the movements as a Second-Timer, almost as if she's serving time, just waiting to be released and to be allowed to return. The reader is privy to her innermost thoughts and feelings as she works so hard to remain disengaged from life. Her unwilling romance with Riley, another damaged soul, is beautifully orchestrated as the two learn to trust and love again. Farwell's writing style is fluid and smooth. Once I began this compelling fantasy, I didn't want to stop until I had finished the story. It's a marvelous tale that should please both adult and young adult readers alike. Seven Weeks to Forever is most highly recommended.