The Assassin's Legacy

Minte and Magic Adventure Book 2

Fiction - Fantasy - Urban
353 Pages
Reviewed on 05/25/2021
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

Author Biography

D. Lieber has a wanderlust that would make a butterfly envious. When she isn’t planning her next physical adventure, she’s recklessly jumping from one fictional world to another. Her love of reading led her to earn a Bachelor’s in English from Wright State University.

Beyond her skeptic and slightly pessimistic mind, Lieber wants to believe. She has been many places—from Canada to England, France to Italy, Germany to Russia—believing that a better world comes from putting a face on “other.” She is a romantic idealist at heart, always fighting to keep her feet on the ground and her head in the clouds.

Lieber lives in Wisconsin with her husband (John) and cats (Yin and Nox).

Published Works:
Conjuring Zephyr June 2016
The Exiled Otherkin (Minte and Magic Adventure, #1) November 2017
Intended Bondmates (Intended Fates, #1) June 2018
In Search of a Witch’s Soul (Council of Covens Noir, #1) March 2019
Dancing with Shades (Council of Covens Noir, #0) August 2019
Once in a Black Moon March 2020
A Very Witchy Yuletide October 2020
The Treason of Robyn Hood March 2021
The Assassin’s Legacy (Minte and Magic Adventure, #2) October 2021

Links
Website: www.dlieber.com
Goodreads: www.goodreads.com/dlieberwriting
Bookbub: www.bookbub.com/profile/d-lieber

    Book Review

Reviewed by Jennifer Ibiam for Readers' Favorite

Sasha Volonov left home in a self-imposed exile because he didn’t want to head the ubyzniki. The ubyzniki was a Russian cult-like organization comprising a few prestigious families designated to protect Russia from harm. However, their ideas didn’t please Sasha, who was the best assassin and a member of the highest-ranking family in the group. He felt free until his father died and his sister, Yulya, sent a hitman after him because she wanted to head the cult. Unfortunately, his father also bound him to the ambitious Veronika Ivashkina and sealed it with the glaz smerti curse. He had to marry her and, together, head the ubyzniki. Refusal to adhere meant death. With a hitman and a curse hanging over Sasha’s head, what will he do? Find out in The Assassin’s Legacy by D. Lieber.

The Assassin’s Legacy was a very engaging read. It incorporated adventure, action, magic, and elements of romance to make a gripping novel. The plot was indeed strong, unique, and unpredictable. I held my breath for the most part. Betrayal, the ambitious nature of humans, family politics, and the quest for power were on full display. I loved how Lieber developed the characters in a relatable fashion. Although the characters were refined as the book progressed, they remained consistent. My favorite of them all was Liza. My goodness! Who would have thought that she had all that depth? She fooled me, and I loved it. She would make the perfect poster girl for the phrase, "Still waters run deep." I enjoyed the reportage writing style and the blend of old-world charm with 21st-century glitz. Will there be a return of Nika? Thumbs up for a beautiful book by D. Lieber.