The Downs

King of the Trees #5

Christian - Fantasy/Sci-Fi
224 Pages
Reviewed on 11/04/2013
Buy on Amazon

Author Biography

Having spent most of his teenage years adventuring in Middle Earth, the author is an avid fantasy fan. His first allegorical fantasy title, "The King of the Trees," came out in 1998 (WinePress). Bowing to reader demand, he has expanded the series to include a total of seven titles to date, with more to follow. While still in high school, he began his writing career editing his father's popular identification guides, "Edible and Poisonous Plants of the Western/Eastern States." As an Assistant Professor in the Special Education Department at Western Oregon University, he served as a successful grant-writer and program coordinator.

Burt holds a B.S. in English from Lewis and Clark College and an M.S. from Western Oregon University in Deaf Education. In addition to writing books, he works as an RID-certified American Sign Language interpreter with over thirty years' experience. His interests include reading, foreign languages and mycology. He is married with two grown children.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Mamta Madhavan for Readers' Favorite

The Downs (King of the Trees #5) by William D. Burt, the fifth book in the series, is the story of Owen, son of Tadwyn who is trapped in the phantom forest infested with deadly creatures. He leads the members of the Lucambra royal family into the faery kingdom. He has to sacrifice everything to save his friends and bring back the old souls.

Like the other books of the series, this book also has a glossary with the pronunciation to make reading and reading aloud easy. The book is suitable for readers of all ages as well. The adventure, with whimsy and fantasy, is along the lines of The Chronicles of Narnia, The Wind in the Willows, and other adventure stories. The creativity and imagination of the writer is noteworthy here as well as the strong Christian message for readers. Sacrifice, valor, redemption, devotion, and faith are woven and blended beautifully in the story along with its fantasy and adventure.

This series is worth owning and all the books can be read individually. Every book has an interesting adventure and a dominating protagonist who will charm you with their actions and antics. The style is simple and the elegant black and white sketches are also subtle and effective. The author has masterfully captured the minds of readers with his effective description and narration.