The Far Haven Treasury

A Windflower Saga Collection

Fiction - Fantasy - Epic
398 Pages
Reviewed on 11/15/2017
Buy on Amazon

Author Biography

Aleksandra Layland is a retired civil engineer and federal civil servant who worked primarily for the United States Air Force as a senior installation engineering manager responsible for buildings, airfields, infrastructure, fire protection, and emergency preparedness. She also served as a Peace Corps Volunteer in the Western Caroline Islands where she helped build school classrooms and cafeterias, low income housing, and simple village water distribution systems.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Rabia Tanveer for Readers' Favorite

The Far Haven Treasury: A Windflower Saga Collection by Aleksandra Layland brings out the third part in the series that continue the story of the Ansgar family. The novel tells the story of Lady Keridwen’s direct descendant who is also named Karidwen. Much like her ancestor, Karidwen did not have an easy life. She too had to suffer many hardships before she was able to have her Happily Ever After. Married as a teenager and later a young widow and an adoptive mother of six young children, Keridwen is living her life the best way she can. Dealing with the cards that she has been dealt with, she agrees to help a son of a lawyer who helped her family once. She has no idea that when she meets with Loris Kennet her life would change completely.

When Loris Kennet arrives in Kimbria, he is not in his right mind or health. His title was taken away because of a crime he does not remember committing. When he comes home to Keridwen, he has no idea that he will marry a charismatic and beautiful woman to save his name and his position. They are married in name only, but over time they become friends. When Loris tries to change the dynamics of their relationship, Keridwen wants him to clear his name first. However, it is not easy! Before he can clear his name, they have to catch the pirates who murder, and sell women and children. Can they do it? Will they be able to become one, or will Tribune Loris Kennet fail to clear his name?

I became familiar with the series when I first read Of Wisdom and Valor and I instantly liked Lady Keridwen. Much like the original Keridwen, she is also feisty and ready to take charge. She might have been a helpless teenager, but now she is a grown woman who knows what she wants and how to get it. I loved the dynamic between her and Loris Kennet. She lives up to the standard of character development that is expected of Aleksandra Layland. The novellas brought an insight into the novel and the story, and helped me understand the dynamics more. I found that the Lady Keridwen from “Of Wisdom and Valor” and the Keridwen of “Far Haven Treasury” are two sides of a coin; similar yet very different at the same time. Highly recommended!

K.J. Simmill

Aleksandra Layland presents The Far Haven Treasury, an amazing combination of fantasy, romance, and action. This wonderful tome contains the third part of A Windflower Saga, Far Haven: A Quest for Certitude. A Fight for Justice, but also enriches the saga by the inclusion of Albina, Courage of Ansgar, and the second half of Swords of Ansgar. This collection provides a fantastic timeline from an almost medieval world to a more technologically advanced civilization. Watch how the past connects to the future, and step back to see the threads create a magnificent tapestry.

The Far Haven Treasury is written with a flair and style I have come to both expect and appreciate from Aleksandra Layland. These are stories of love, diversity, conflict, and acceptance. This is the fourth book I have read, and I have enjoyed every single one. The characters contain such depth and go through obvious growth and development. They are flawed, they succeed, they fail, and some even rise from the ashes of their failure. It is so easy to lose yourself in the culturally rich world crafted from Ms. Layland's imagination. Here you not only have a world, but a rich history, myths, legends, and familial heritage. Each book I have read works perfectly as a stand alone fiction; however, if you've read some of the other books you will be rewarded with a deeper knowledge, insight, and understanding of events and even clearly see how things developed to their current point. As the final part in the series, it is every bit as epic as you would expect, so clear your morning schedule, make some snacks, because once you get started you won't want to put this literary treasure down.