The Far Haven Treasury

A Windflower Saga Collection

Fiction - Fantasy - Epic
706 Pages
Reviewed on 04/11/2018
Buy on Amazon

Author Biography

Aleksandra Layland is a retired civil engineer and federal civil servant who worked primarily for the United States Air Force as a senior installation engineering manager responsible for buildings, airfields, infrastructure, fire protection, and emergency preparedness. She also served as a Peace Corps Volunteer in the Western Caroline Islands where she helped build school classrooms and cafeterias, low income housing, and simple village water distribution systems.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Liz Konkel for Readers' Favorite

The Far Haven Treasury by Aleksandra Layland is A Windflower Saga Collection. In the novel Far Haven, Keridwen had it all, a loving husband and a happy life, but a few years later she's left as a widow and adoptive mother. She agrees to help Loris Kennet to heal and get his life together after he's stripped of his rank. As she helps him recover, they build a marriage in name only that slowly becomes more as their friendship evolves into romance. As Loris sets out to prove himself honorable, he assists in a search for pirates charged with slavery and murder. The collection also includes the novellas titled Albina, which follows the the life of Albina as she embarks on a journey of romance and growing up, and Courage of Ansgar, which follows Kerys as she's invited to be a part of events at the palace that could change her life; and the second half of Swords of Ansgar.

Aleksandra Layland has a way with details, creating a stunning world with a rich background, and characters whose voices bring to life to every moment of the journey. At the heart of the story, it's about people with much of the plot being character driven and rooted in an emotional place. Every character feels connected as each ties back together. Keridwen has a wonder about her that's sincere and compassionate. Her story begins as she takes a chance at love by revealing her feelings to Justin and their life is almost how she imagined love to be. She's quickly accepted into his family and by his children, but their happy story has realistic sad moments as they fail to have kids of their own, giving the story a melancholy tone. She gets a second chance at love in the most unexpected way, which takes a lovely turn as Loris goes through his own journey and the two slowly begin a romance. He starts off in a dark place, being sick and stripped of his former life, but she sparks a change in him that encourages him to improve himself.

Layland also delves into the topic of human trafficking as Loris teams up with other characters to deal with pirates trafficking women and children. Layland tackles the subject with grace and a genuine voice, sparking an emotional and thought-provoking reaction. The novellas are paired well with Far Haven, telling the stories of characters that are related to Far Haven and broaden the world that Layland has created. The Far Haven Treasury explores love and relationships, life and death through adventures in this stunning world.

Romuald Dzemo

The Far Haven Treasury: A Windflower Saga Collection by Aleksandra Layland is an absolute and delightful treat for fans of fantasy, comprising of the novel Far Haven and the novellas Courage of Ansgar, Swords of Ansgar, and Albina. These are stories that feature ordinary people with extraordinary skills. Readers are introduced to the Ansgar family in the Kimbria, a fascinating world with a unique culture that will entice readers who love to read about new ways of life, cultures, and places. The author presents a mixed race and masterfully showcases themes of racism, injustice, and indifference, while exploring the values that keep the Kimbrii together.

Aleksandra Layland is a gifted writer and readers will love the worlds she creates. I was transported, lost in the exciting setting as I explored the Kimbria with its mores. From the first story, the reader is immediately absorbed into the ordinary life of the people, wonderfully captured in the beautiful descriptions. There are beautiful dialogues too, and they are designed to enhance and embellish the plot. Each story is unique and exciting, driven by a powerful conflict. The author has also created characters that readers will fall for. I enjoyed the portraits of Brother Ansgar and Chief Keholani, characters who will immediately draw the reader’s sympathy. The themes of family and community are well-woven into the story. The Far Haven Treasury: A Windflower Saga Collection is a book for keeps, a collection of stories that will delight both young and adult readers, stories containing values that can enrich the lives of readers. They are entertaining and filled with adventure.

K.J. Simmill

Aleksandra Layland presents The Far Haven Treasury, an amazing combination of fantasy, romance, and action. This wonderful tome contains the third part of A Windflower Saga, Far Haven: A Quest for Certitude. A Fight for Justice, but also enriches the saga by the inclusion of Albina, Courage of Ansgar, and the second half of Swords of Ansgar. This collection provides a fantastic timeline from an almost medieval world to a more technologically advanced civilization. Watch how the past connects to the future, and step back to see the threads create a magnificent tapestry.

The Far Haven Treasury is written with a flair and style I have come to both expect and appreciate from Aleksandra Layland. These are stories of love, diversity, conflict, and acceptance. This is the fourth book I have read, and I have enjoyed every single one. The characters contain such depth and go through obvious growth and development. They are flawed, they succeed, they fail, and some even rise from the ashes of their failure. It is so easy to lose yourself in the culturally rich world crafted from Ms. Layland's imagination. Here you not only have a world, but a rich history, myths, legends, and familial heritage. Each book I have read works perfectly as a stand alone fiction; however, if you've read some of the other books you will be rewarded with a deeper knowledge, insight, and understanding of events and even clearly see how things developed to their current point. As the final part in the series, it is every bit as epic as you would expect, so clear your morning schedule, make some snacks, because once you get started you won't want to put this literary treasure down.