The Greenstones

The King of the Trees, 4

Christian - Fantasy/Sci-Fi
Kindle Edition
Reviewed on 11/03/2013
Buy on Amazon

Author Biography

Having spent most of his teenage years adventuring in Middle Earth, the author is an avid fantasy fan. His first allegorical fantasy title, "The King of the Trees," came out in 1998 (WinePress). Bowing to reader demand, he has expanded the series to include a total of seven titles to date, with more to follow. While still in high school, he began his writing career editing his father's popular identification guides, "Edible and Poisonous Plants of the Western/Eastern States." As an Assistant Professor in the Special Education Department at Western Oregon University, he served as a successful grant-writer and program coordinator.

Burt holds a B.S. in English from Lewis and Clark College and an M.S. from Western Oregon University in Deaf Education. In addition to writing books, he works as an RID-certified American Sign Language interpreter with over thirty years' experience. His interests include reading, foreign languages and mycology. He is married with two grown children.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Mamta Madhavan for Readers' Favorite

The Greenstones (The King of the Trees, 4) by William D. Burt is a story of fantasy and adventure. The Greenstones is the fourth in this series and this book is about Merryn, who is an outsider in her town. Merry is not good looking. She is pock marked, with scars on her face, and stands out in the crowd. The twist in the story is when Merryn is betrayed and sold into slavery. The story is woven with lots of adventure, dragons, lost princes, and the mysterious Greenstones that let out toxic mist.

The story is very exciting and interesting and, though it is a series, all the books can be read alone. But it would be preferable to read them in sequential order because the continuity will make the story even more interesting. The adventure, fantasy, and whimsical aspect of all the books make them appealing to readers. The books are suitable for all ages. The book is written with young readers in mind and there is a glossary at the back which shows how to pronounce words. The author manages to include a Christian message in this story, too, as in the other books in this series. Though the adventure and mystery is there, the whimsical part is what adds to the surreal feel of the story. The black and white sketches add to the tone of the characters and the scenes. An excellent book of fantasy and adventure, and an enjoyable series.