What's Happening to Me NOW?!

The Facts of Life, As a Woman In Your 40s. (Straight Talk About Perimenopause.)

Non-Fiction - Health - Medical
40 Pages
Reviewed on 12/13/2020
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Free Book Program, which is open to all readers and is completely free. The author will provide you with a free copy of their book in exchange for an honest review. You and the author will discuss what sites you will post your review to and what kind of copy of the book you would like to receive (eBook, PDF, Word, paperback, etc.). To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email.

Author Biography

Heather Wright is a Canadian located in the San Francisco Bay Area and is a first-time author. She has enjoyed terrific careers that use her fancy Master's degrees in Chemical Engineering and Fine Arts too. She has done odd things like get her name on a toner patent for Xerox and led a significant historical clock restoration project for Queen's University. Yet her only real credentials for writing this book area her enviable gender (female) and age (in her 40s). She wrote this book because, for goodness sake, someone had to.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Mamta Madhavan for Readers' Favorite

What's Happening to Me NOW? The Facts of Life, As A Woman In Your 40s (Straight Talk About Perimenopause) by Heather Wright is for women who are suffering from life's hormonally crazy phases. All women go through menopause but nobody is ready to talk about it. The book gives good tools that will help readers decide what is good for them and answer many of the myths and misunderstandings surrounding menopause. Though menopause signals the end of youth, no one wants to discuss what happens after that, especially the symptoms. The changes might be hard to recognize and adjust to. The author gives tips on what to expect, lists the symptoms, and speaks about how 80% of women feel nervousness and irritability during this time.

Heather Wright has tackled the subject in a unique way, using funny illustrations by Matylda McCormack-Sharp to lighten the tone of the book though she has dealt with it methodically and extensively. The book will help readers going through menopause stages to deal with their hormonal upheaval in a way that will give them self-acceptance and contentment. The four stages of post-reproductive life are quite interesting and are as follows; Perimenopausal, Menopause, Coalescence, and Maturescence. She helps readers go through this experience and growth and leaves them liberated and empowered.