Battle of the New Orleans

Solbidyum Wars Saga

Fiction - Science Fiction
320 Pages
Reviewed on 03/24/2014
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Review Exchange Program, which is open to all authors and is completely free. Simply put, you agree to provide an honest review an author's book in exchange for the author doing the same for you. What sites your reviews are posted on (B&N, Amazon, etc.) and whether you send digital (eBook, PDF, Word, etc.) or hard copies of your books to each other for review is up to you. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email, and be sure to describe your book or include a link to your Readers' Favorite review page or Amazon page.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

Author Biography


Dale Musser was born in 1944 in a small rural community of Pennsylvania. From 1967 until 2012 he was employed as a structural and piping designer in the industries of marine and offshore resources, cogeneration power and hard rock mining. His work at three shipyards and assignments with several engineering and naval architectural firms during his careers in Virginia, Texas, and Maine, took him to such places as London, U.K., Abu Dhabi, U.A.E., Scotland and Mexico. During this time, he was responsible for the design of reactor compartments for nuclear aircraft carriers and submarines for the U.S. Navy and the structural designs of numerous offshore semi-submersible oil rigs, tanker ships, supply boats, and other vessels and equipment used in the offshore industry. After the death of his wife in 1999, Mr. Musser changed careers and went to work in Arizona and Utah in the hard rock mining industry. He retired in Fall of 2012 and currently resides in Mesa, Arizona; however, his plans for the near future involve a move to New Mexico.
Those wishing to write to Mr. Musser may do so at https://www.facebook.com/Solbidyumwars or dalemusser1944@yahoo.com. Although he attempts to answer all correspondence, heavy emails may prevent him from responding to everyone.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Ray Simmons for Readers' Favorite

I really enjoyed Solbidyum Wars Saga Book 1: Battle of the New Orleans. It is good old-fashioned space opera in the tradition of Star Trek and Star Wars. It is the kind of science fiction that I began reading as a boy when I first discovered science fiction. It is a bigger than life adventure that begins on Earth in a swamp in Louisiana and quickly spreads to the far reaches of the galaxy. I have read hundreds of books like this. A few are really memorable and completely engage me while most fall far short of a really satisfying read. Dale Musser has crafted a winner here. For me, the key to the success of this novel is the protagonist.

The story is told from the perspective of Thibodaux James Renwalt. “Tibby” is my kind of character. I could see the general direction the story was going and sometimes could even predict the twists and turns of the plot, but I kept reading because I wanted to hear it from the hero. I liked him and I liked the way he told his tale. He finds himself in some of the strangest circumstances, but he is cool even when he’s fainting at the realization of the enormity of what has happened to him. One of the most important things a novelist must do is create characters that readers care about. Dale Musser made me not only want to meet this character; I wanted to be his friend.