Cherringham - Murder on Thames

A Cosy Crime Series (Cherringham ENG)

Fiction - Mystery - Sleuth
116 Pages
Reviewed on 10/05/2014
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Review Exchange Program, which is open to all authors and is completely free. Simply put, you agree to provide an honest review an author's book in exchange for the author doing the same for you. What sites your reviews are posted on (B&N, Amazon, etc.) and whether you send digital (eBook, PDF, Word, etc.) or hard copies of your books to each other for review is up to you. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email, and be sure to describe your book or include a link to your Readers' Favorite review page or Amazon page.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Julia Hopkinson for Readers' Favorite

Cherringham - Murder on Thames: A Cosy Crime Series is a joint writing project by US-based novel and games writer, Matthew Costello, and UK-based producer and writer, Neil Richards, to produce 12 mystery novellas over a year, based in the fictional English town of the title in the Cotswolds. Murder on Thames is the first instalment and introduces the reader to ex-NYPD homicide cop, Jack Brennan, now widowed and retired across the pond to a canal barge in Cherringham, and to Sarah Edwards, single mum of two - thanks to her adulterous ex-husband - and web designer in the nice but, to date, dull town. When a body is found in the Thames’ weir, Sarah is shocked to discover that it was her childhood best friend, Sammi. Unable to believe the formal explanation that Sammi committed suicide, Sarah starts to ask her own questions and fortunately finds herself an experienced detective to help.

I really enjoyed reading Cherringham - Murder on Thames and have already bought the second instalment in the series, Mystery at the Manor. Matthew Costello and Neil Richards have written an entertaining mystery in the vein of Agatha Christie’s Miss Marple, Midsomer Murders and Murder, She Wrote. Although “cosy”, the story is not twee or soppy; it is modern and has the right mix of exposition and excitement. Cherringham itself is well described, as are its residents, and I warmed to both lead characters. The mystery was well-plotted and effective. I will definitely be reading more of the Cherringham series and recommend this book to most modern cosy crime fans.