Doogey Monster Alphabet Book


Children - Educational
32 Pages
Reviewed on 11/29/2021
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Review Exchange Program, which is open to all authors and is completely free. Simply put, you agree to provide an honest review an author's book in exchange for the author doing the same for you. What sites your reviews are posted on (B&N, Amazon, etc.) and whether you send digital (eBook, PDF, Word, etc.) or hard copies of your books to each other for review is up to you. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email, and be sure to describe your book or include a link to your Readers' Favorite review page or Amazon page.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Tammy Ruggles for Readers' Favorite

Doogey Monster Alphabet Book by Aaron Albrecht is a breath of fresh air in educational children's books. Suitable for children, parents, and teachers alike, this ABC book is all about getting off the screen for a break and having fun outside. But more than that, it's designed to appeal to audiences that don't really like to read all that much. But this is where the images and pictures come in. The bright, lively, cute pictures will stimulate the imagination, and teach something as well. Nature can be an irresistible place to play, learn, and explore. It's a great teacher. If you can remember how much fun it was to run around, jump in a pile of leaves, jump over bushes or flowers, or even play hopscotch on a sidewalk, this will appeal to you, and maybe your young readers too.

This book bursts with energy and things to do from sports to animals and everything in between. If you've ever wanted to have a vacation from all the tech in your life, or your child's life, this book is a great place to start. From Aaron the alligator aiming arrows to Zach the zebra zipping on a zipline, these animals will take children on a zany adventure without realizing how educational it is. And if you're looking for a book to read together with your child, this is a good one. I like the simplicity of the concept - the basic alphabet, but with so much fun added to each letter, and the letter is used in multiple examples. Fans of Dr. Seuss, The Berenstain Bears, and similar works will appreciate Doogey Monster Alphabet Book by Aaron Albrecht.

Erin Nicole Cochran

Doogey Monster Alphabet Book by Aaron Albrecht is an educational children’s book. It does more than just teach children about the letters of the alphabet; it showcases different kinds of animals and creatures around the world while doing so. Each letter is accompanied by a creature or animal that is in the act of doing something fun, which again is sure to excite children of all ages about the many different activities. There are shades of colors that are mentioned, like cyan and fuchsia, that children of a certain age might not understand as of yet, but the book is able to make it a teachable lesson as well by color-coding the word, such as cyan with the color that it is.

Aaron Albrecht’s Doogey Monster Alphabet Book includes so many teachable moments without coming across as chaotic. There’s a place to find “Twiggly,” another little creature. One of the parts that are also fun is the sentence itself for each letter. The author uses alliteration throughout the entire alphabet and this can easily twist the tongue of anyone trying to read it. This might prove funny for children if an adult gets their “mords wixed.” The colors of the illustrations are eye-catching and bright, giving a sense of fun and delight. Even with just a snapshot of an animal or creature engaging in some type of indoor or outdoor activity, you somehow get a sense of each of their personalities. I really love how many of the activities that the animals are interested in are outside since technology has created this nest of sorts inside for many of us. Doogey Monster Alphabet Book will wow any parent and child interested in learning how to make the alphabet fun.

Bruce Arrington

Doogey Monster Alphabet Book by Aaron Albrecht is a 32-page-long children’s illustrated book that highlights every letter of the alphabet. But it does much more than that: it uses the same letters over and over on the page, allowing the reader to understand the different ways in which letters may be pronounced. For example, when teaching the letter ‘C’, the page reads like this: Cindy the cat cuts through canyons in her cyan canoe. Not only does it describe the different words beginning with ‘C’, but it describes how there are words beginning with ‘C’, but also sound like ‘S’.

Each page is filled with bold and striking colors, which should easily capture and hold the reader’s attention. I think that going through one page a day with a new learner would be more than sufficient, since the pages may introduce new words which are unfamiliar. And then there is a fun activity on each page: finding Twiggly, the green smiling alien that hides in plain sight, just waiting to be found. The author has obviously used a lot of imagination building the sentences from each topic letter. The artwork is simple and colorful, able to entertain again and again. Teaching tools for young children can often be a challenging thing to find, but I think this book will help young readers take a step in the right direction from the start. Doogey Monster Alphabet Book by Aaron Albrecht is a clear winner and should be a favorite read for many children. Highly recommended.

Lois Henderson

Doogey Monster Alphabet Book by Aaron Albrecht is a delightful picture book for all ages. Each letter of the alphabet has a full-color, full-page illustration and sentence of its own, chock full of alliteration. A different animal is featured on its page, ranging from Aaron the alligator to Zach the zebra, so that a wide range of animals is introduced to the young reader. In addition to the animals featured, each page also focuses on a predominant color, with “red racquet”, “yellow yak”, and “blue bat” covering the primary colors. The secondary colors feature in the form of “off-road … orange”, “zucchini green trees”, and “violet volleyballs”. In addition, there is a range of other colors, including “a fuchsia football”, which sees a lithe-limbed Faith the frog catching a football in midstride. The alliteration abounds in such a joyous fashion that the spirit of the whole is totally uplifting. The book ends in a game of Find Twiggly Hiding, in which the reader is invited to hunt for Twiggly the frog from among rows of thumbnail-sized pictures of the different creatures portrayed in the work.

Given that the target market is across the board, Doogey Monster Alphabet Book by Aaron Albrecht is bound to have an extremely broad-based appeal. I can just imagine a granddad dandling a youngster on his knee while both adult and child giggle along in glee, book firmly grasped in hand. The vocabulary is also so broad that it might even have adults looking for a dictionary. That said, when I looked up Xanadu xerus, all I came across was xerus as an African ground squirrel, which the illustration represents as looking more like one of the cougar family. One of my favorite aspects of this book is how active all the animals are―they are all portrayed doing something, whether it is canoeing down the river or diving off a diving board. A joyful book that is bound to capture the attention of many, Doogey Monster Alphabet Book should attract a wide audience that is guaranteed a host of fun.

Sarah Stuart

Page one of Doogey Monster Alphabet Book by Aaron Albrecht introduces Twiggley, suggests making a game of finding him, and lists the subjects included. These are sports, animals, letters, colors, and names. It’s a clear indication that a pre-school child will need the book read by an adult. It is also intended for any individual interested in activities that draw them away from video games, Xboxes, computers, and television, and it does this very effectively. Who could resist the temptation to take up archery, white water canoeing, golf, mountain biking, snowboarding, or tennis? Readers not quite that adventurous might be inspired to learn to play the piano, though that is not what Peter the penguin chooses to do with his purple instrument.

Doogey Monster Alphabet Book is, without doubt, the most innovative and intriguing introduction to English’s essential twenty-six letters I have ever read. Aaron Albrecht has even found an alternative to the ubiquitous “X is for X-ray”. He has used Xare, which is the name of a game where the ball is thrown over the net, not hit. Brilliantly illustrated and colorful, it begs to be read and reread in the search for Twiggley. I was delighted to see examples of every letter in both capitals and lower case as in “Zach the zebra ziplines through the zucchini green trees”. Doogey Monster Alphabet Book by Aaron Albrecht has everything a reader could wish for and a lot more I hadn’t thought of – a fantastic gift to your youngsters or the child in you!