Freckles and the True Meaning of Christmas

(Freckles the Bunny Series) (Volume 4)

Children - Animals
54 Pages
Reviewed on 11/12/2013
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Free Book Program, which is open to all readers and is completely free. The author will provide you with a free copy of their book in exchange for an honest review. You and the author will discuss what sites you will post your review to and what kind of copy of the book you would like to receive (eBook, PDF, Word, paperback, etc.). To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email.

Author Biography

Vickianne Caswell is married and has one daughter, who has an amazing gift with animals (all animals, wild or tame seem to love her). Vickianne was raised an animal lover, in the city and continues to pass that on to her daughter. Vickianne hopes to pass the love and joy of animals to other children through these books. She has been doing writing at home since she was a teenager, after her father got her interested in writing when he published a poem. She has done a few articles for a small paper on animal care and continues to experience the joys of pet ownership on an acreage where the family lives. As new animals enter their family, new characters may appear, so stay tuned!

The author's daughter always loves it when she makes up stories, especially when it includes their pets. She had been wanting to write about Freckles, her favorite rabbit & her "baby" before her daughter. As the years passed, her daughter started going to school, encountering bullies, their lives changed and the original Freckles passed away, she wanted more than ever to put something on paper to remember Freckles by and for others to be able to enjoy her as much as their family did. She thought of all the experiences her daughter, their family had been through and all of the mischief Freckles caused, so it seemed natural to write them down for children to learn from them, in a way they would find entertaining.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Mamta Madhavan for Readers' Favorite

Freckles and the True Meaning of Christmas (Freckles the Bunny Series) (Volume 4) by Vickianne Caswell is set against the backdrop of Christmas. Freckles and her friends eagerly look forward to Christmas, mainly for presents. We meet Freckles' whole family in this story; Freckles the bunny, Norma the fawn, Donut the duckling, Boots the kitten, Tiger the puppy, and Dreamy the chick. The book takes you on a Christmas trip, highlighting the season of joy, loving and giving, and being with the family. The characters are based on the author's pets in real life and their personalities are drawn from those pets. The author says these pets have now grown and give her immense joy.

The illustrations are bright, colorful, and endearing. They breathe life into Freckles, Donut, Tiger, Norma, and Boots. The book has an educational theme as well. There is a lot for children to learn from this story. It can be read aloud as a bedtime story. The spirit of Christmas is captured beautifully as the message of giving and sharing gifts during the Christmas season is taught.

Visiting a senior home, a hospital, and an animal shelter and spending time with them is one of the highlights of the story. We often tend to forget old people in the joyous season and this book speaks about that too. Often children are excited for the Christmas season, thinking only about the gifts they are going to receive. But this book talks about giving also. A delightful, meaningful, and cheerful story for children.