I Am Cancer Free

Cancer does not have to be a death sentence

Non-Fiction - Health - Medical
114 Pages
Reviewed on 02/15/2017
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Review Exchange Program, which is open to all authors and is completely free. Simply put, you agree to provide an honest review an author's book in exchange for the author doing the same for you. What sites your reviews are posted on (B&N, Amazon, etc.) and whether you send digital (eBook, PDF, Word, etc.) or hard copies of your books to each other for review is up to you. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email, and be sure to describe your book or include a link to your Readers' Favorite review page or Amazon page.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

Author Biography

I am a multi-genre writer and former Bank Manager who has written eighteen books to date in both fiction and non-fiction.
Almost eight years after my battle with Ovarian Cancer, I decided to write the book, “I am Cancer Free.”
My thoughts were that I was still alive, although my doctor in Trinidad had given up on me eight years before when she performed a hysterectomy and could not remove a cancerous tumour. I believe that my story would help others in similar situations to get other doctors’ opinions, even if it means going to another country to do so.
For eight years, the feeling that I would die remained with me. After the doctor in Miami declared me Cancer Free, and after seven months of treatment and surgery, I asked him, “How long do I have?” He looked at me in the eye and told me, “Brenda, I just told you that you are cancer free. Enjoy living.”
My message is, Ovarian Cancer does not have to be a Death Sentence. Never give up.
Cancer changed my life for the better. I became an author.
A friend declared, " From Banker to Author. Who would have imagined that a harrowing diagnosis of cancer could change your career and open a whole new world!! Thank you for sharing, Brenda Mohammed!!

    Book Review

Reviewed by Mamta Madhavan for Readers' Favorite

I Am Cancer Free by Mrs. Brenda C. Mohammed is the poignant memoir of the author’s personal battle with cancer. Her faith in God and proving that ovarian cancer need not be a death sentence are what make this memoir a heartrending read. The author’s 'never say die' attitude, the decision not to give up in life, and finally being cancer-free will encourage everyone who has been diagnosed with the disease or who has suffered from cancer. The memoir recounts from the time of diagnosis the experiences the author went through during the treatment, her emotions, fears, finances, until the successful treatment of the disease. It is a courageous story of survival, faith, and strength.

The author chronicles every step of her journey methodically, without leaving anything out, making the narration very personal, honest, and palpable to readers. The presence of God in everyone’s life, a positive attitude, and the power of prayers run through the memoir. The author reiterates the fact that faith in God removes all obstacles in life. The conversational style of writing connects well with readers, making it easy for them to understand her journey. The author has also shared the poems she wrote during that phase in her life, where she again speaks about her story, faith in the Lord, and a Higher Power. For all those who are suffering from cancer and are battling the disease, this book is a must-read as it will give them hope, strength, and courage to fight the disease.

Jess James

Inspriational read!
ByBooks and Stuffon February 5, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I was truly mesmerised throughout this true story, memoir - Brenda is an inspiration with her strength and her unfailing belief in God. The story takes you through her experience with Cancer, her decision to never give up and fight, and her pursuit of the right treatment for her - even if it meant going to another country.

Anyone who has dealt with cancer or is dealing with the horrid disease today should read this. If anything it offers support and empathy through an incredibly difficult fight!

Catherine Johnson

An excellent memoir.
ByAmazonianon January 30, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Truly remarkable! The author shares her battle to beat ovarian cancer. She takes readers on quite a journey from life before diagnosis, diagnosis, treatment, and recovery. She also provides enlightening insight on staying strong and the power of prayer and a positive attitude.

Brenda Mohammed - what a journey – and an inspiration. An excellent memoir.

John Hennessy

Thoughtful and detailed account of defeating the most terrible of diseases
ByKato's Revengeon May 21, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition
I am Cancer Free is an extremely positive title for something that is so terrifying to pretty much all of us, were we to be diagnosed with it.

No illness is pleasant, but surely cancer is one of the very worst, and although survival rates are increasing all the time depending on the type of cancer concerned, it is good to know that the author, who thankfully defeated this terrible disease, overcome it in order to pen this extremely good read.

From a carefree life, visiting friends and relatives, through to the initial concerns and then onto the diagnosis, the author takes us on a journey in this book. But potential readers shouldn't be put off by the subject matter. The author has bravely chose to share her experience with the reader. It is never negative, although some of it is very harrowing to read.

The description of the subsequent and very necessary operation which resulted in the author regaining her full health is a case of just enough information. There's no need for gory details and we don't get them. In essence, the author has the balance right between info-dumping and info-giving.

Again, it's a book that educates and informs.

Thank goodness for medical insurance. In the UK, we are fortunate that the NHS provides many life saving treatments. I do hope the government (s) wake up and spend money on research to defeat this terrible disease in all its forms.

Well done to the author on the beating of this disease and in the creation of this book.

Rachel Mc Grath

Everyone should read this!
ByBook Bugon August 1, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I picked up this book, as my father has been diagnosed with stage four cancer. I wanted to read this from the perspective of someone who has been there, so that I could better support him.

What I will say is that everyone should read this book. We are all touched by this horrible and untimely disease, and reading the author's story helped me understand a little more how my father might be feeling. Whilst I know he will never be cancer free - I wanted to understand more.

Its emotional, heartfelt, honest and transparent. The author has told the story with true authenticity.

Highly highly recommended!

Arabella Persaud

Remarkaby detailed, and poignant description of the author's experiences as she was diagnosed and treated for ovarian cancer.
ByArabella Persaudon June 19, 2014
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
This true story should be read by every person who has been diagnosed with or who has ever suffered from cancer. Their loved ones will also benefit from reading this autobiographical account. The author has an impressive memory for details and gives an excellent account of everything that she went through during that trying period from her diagnosis to the successful treatment of the disease. She narrates, in depth, all her experiences during her treatment, including her personal feelings, her understandable fears, and even financial matters. Displaying an exceptionally lucid memory, she remembers every single person who supported her during that time period and every single little detail including the hurricane that struck Miami after her second chemotherapy session and the inconveniences incurred with regard to electricity in the house and gas for the car. She also remembers in detail every restaurant in which she ate in Miami and everyone who visited her. Her memory of every important date is extremely remarkable.

During all the upheavals, the author never lost her faith in God. Her undaunting faith upheld her and comforted her during this dark period of her life. Her story clearly demonstrates that faith in God surmounts all obstacles.

The book makes easy ready and the style is almost conversational. One gets the feeling that the author is speaking directly to the reader. It is an intensely personal narration and I recommend this book highly.

Liz English

The meeting of a Friend ...I am Cancer Free
ByLiz English on June 7, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I am Cancer Free by Brenda Mohammed is an excellent ebook. It especially helped give me hope. My husband was just diagnosed with cancer and to here Brenda's story a true survivors story gives my husband and myself encouragement to get through the next few months maybe longer. Thank You Brenda for sharing this with the world.I am Cancer Free

Michelle Reynoso

Survival Story
ByReviewed.By.Me on June 7, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition
This is a detailed and personal account of how a very strong believer and family-oriented woman beat ovarian cancer. Although that type of cancer historically develops rapidly and has devastating effects, this true story shows how faith, family and love are a powerful force to reckon with. A must read for anyone with or without an illness!

Robert H

Must read
ByRobert H on June 12, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition
This is an excellent read. A true account of how trust in god, family and love can conquer all. It serves as an inspiration for those in a similar situation to not give up but trust in god and continue fighting.

Florabelle Lutchman

This book, "I Am Cancer Free" is a true story written by Mrs. Brenda Mohammed. I have been through her entire journey with cancer, before cancer and after cancer. I must say that seeing the author's faith in God, her great strength of character during her illness, her fortitude and courage to face this disease, her faith and belief in her doctors, her finances which miraculously multiplied to pay these doctors and the wonderful support by her dear husband, children, sisters, brothers, nieces and other relatives who stood by her side at all times strengthend many others including myself. It is indeed wonderfully written and should be read by all, especially those inflicted by this dread disease to see what faith in God, continuous prayers and good doctors can do in one's life. Reading this book will surely prove to be a means of strengthening one's faith regardless of what circumstances one is facing. So, come on, download this book and READ. Once you start you will not want it to end.

Christie Stenzel

ByCMSon February 24, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This was a touching and heartfelt account of the author's personal journey dealing with what could only be a terrifying ordeal. Thanks to her faith in God and ability and willingness to travel out of the country for medical care, she won the fight and is here today to inspire us all. Personally having lost family members to cancer it made for a difficult read at times, but the ending could not have been better! Thanks for sharing your story and may you continue in the best of health!

Book Collector

Great story
ByBookcollecteron April 18, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
A warm memoir told in a poignant, heartbreaking way by Ms Mohammed.

It is inspirational, informative and honest as this story tells of the love of a family and the strength of the patient coming together to fight against the most awful disease ever to strike mankind.

Well done.

Mickey Thomas

A wonderful story of faith.
By mickey on February 26, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
A wonderful memoir about a woman who never lost her faith in God even when tested by cancer. A touching story about how family and friends can make a tough journey more bearable just being there in support of their loved one. Great job Brenda.

Mum's the Word

her experiences right through to her wonderful news that she is now cancer free
ByTracey - Mum's the Word on April 8, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition
A heartfelt account of Brenda's personal experience dealing with cancer. She details when she was first diagnosed, her treatment, her experiences right through to her wonderful news that she is now cancer free. Her book is easy to read and gives great insight & advice on what family & friends can do to help loved ones going through cancer treatment. Definitely worth reading!

Jane Suen

“I am Cancer Free “ is Brenda Mohammed’s personal story. She describes her battle with cancer including the cancer diagnosis, search for doctors, chemotherapies, tests, surgeries, costs, travels back and forth from Trinidad to Miami, and the moment she is declared by the doctor to be cancer-free.

But it’s more than that. It’s a testament to Brenda Mohammed’s will, her faith in God, and the love and support of her families and friends.

Welshcol

Moving and heartfelt well done to the author