Rock My Soul

Rising Wind Series

Fiction - Animals
256 Pages
Reviewed on 11/30/2022
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Free Book Program, which is open to all readers and is completely free. The author will provide you with a free copy of their book in exchange for an honest review. You and the author will discuss what sites you will post your review to and what kind of copy of the book you would like to receive (eBook, PDF, Word, paperback, etc.). To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Review Exchange Program, which is open to all authors and is completely free. Simply put, you agree to provide an honest review an author's book in exchange for the author doing the same for you. What sites your reviews are posted on (B&N, Amazon, etc.) and whether you send digital (eBook, PDF, Word, etc.) or hard copies of your books to each other for review is up to you. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email, and be sure to describe your book or include a link to your Readers' Favorite review page or Amazon page.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

Author Biography

Diane Olsen is an American seasoned influential writer, who began publishing books with her non-fiction book titled; “Ancient Ways: The Roots of Religion,” which won a bronze medallion from the Christian Illuminations Book Awards in 2017.

Diane’s “Rising Wind” novel series has also won several awards. “The Thunder Beings” was released in 2018. “Ice and Bone," with "The Weeping God and The Book of Hope” released in 2021. “Weeping God” garnished her a second bronze medal win in 2021. Book four was released in March 2022 and titled “Like Feathers of a Wing: Deep, Informative and Pertinent, and book five is now released in late Nov. 2022.
Four of these books earned five-star ratings from Reader’s Favorite, and in 2022 and 2021 she received a second Bronze Medal from Christian Illumination for book three entitled; “The Weeping God and The Book of Hope.” Rising Winds is an excellent multi-cultural, cross-genre fiction read with a light Christian-themed, action-packed mystery thrill ride like no other!

The author resides in the beautiful Pacific Northwest of SW Washington State.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Vincent Dublado for Readers' Favorite

Part of the Rising Wind Book Series, author Diane Olsen presents Rock My Soul, the multicultural adventure journey of two main characters in the series, Secora and Gideon. This book features their encounters with the many different beasts they meet along the way, most specifically, the Bigfoot sightings in the northwestern United States. As the Bigfoot lore has permeated popular culture, Secora and Gideon will attempt to better understand this cryptid. Accounts of its nature vary, from its reputation of eating humans to conducting experiments by observing people to see if we are willing to play on their terms. Secora and Gideon will hear different experiences of encounters, but their takeaway from these interviews is that such a being is not aggressive--but there are undoubtedly exceptions.

Rock My Soul reads like a documentary with a found-footage movie thrill in it. The first-person accounts and the brooding monster theme work well in Diane Olsen’s narrative. It feels like a slow-burn horror as you breathlessly await the outcome of Secora and Gideon’s investigations. But it has a strong leaning toward an exploration of myths and folklore, of how human beings find answers in the comforts of creative imagination, and how it has shaped different cultures. You can tell that a diligent amount of research went into the writing of this book based on references that Olsen has provided. The bulk of Rock My Soul consists of the collection of interviews that Secora and Gideon have gleaned--interviews that lend strength to the theme of the story, making it mystical and mesmerizing. This book is definitely a must-read for anyone who is fascinated by cryptozoology.