Sword of Dragonblood

Sword of Dragonblood

Book One in the Down Dreamer Trilogy

Children - Fantasy/Sci-Fi
458 Pages
Reviewed on 04/24/2017
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Review Exchange Program, which is open to all authors and is completely free. Simply put, you agree to provide an honest review an author's book in exchange for the author doing the same for you. What sites your reviews are posted on (Goodreads, B&N, Amazon, etc.) and whether you send digital (eBook, PDF, Word, etc.) or hard copies of your books to each other for review is up to you. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email, and be sure to describe your book or include a link to your Readers' Favorite review page or Amazon page.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

Author Biography

L.S. Goulet lives with her family and dogs in Alaska. She loves writing for children and middle graders and hopes that her stories will encourage young people to enjoy reading. She writes under different pen names (children = Louise S. G.) and (middle grade = L. S. Goulet). She just finished publishing an accompanying puzzle book for Sword of Dragonblood, the first book in her Down Dreamer trilogy. She's expecting Book Two of the Down Dreamer trilogy to tentatively be out around Christmas or the New Year!

    Book Review

Reviewed by Sefina Hawke for Readers' Favorite

Sword of Dragonblood by L.S. Goulet is the first book in the Down Dreamer Trilogy, which falls into the genre of children’s science fiction/fantasy. This is a book that would appeal to a mixed audience of children and young adults who enjoy magical fiction. Darrel Sak is an eighth-grade boy living in Blind Spot, New England, whose whole life has been flipped upside down with the realization that his nightmares are, in fact, reality. Proteus Shyfte’s life goal is to conquer the magical world known as Shaemaaie, and to do this he requires something that has been placed inside Darrel Sak’s soul. Darrel Sak will have to face off against terrifying enemies in order to save his father and protect those he cares about.

Sword of Dragonblood by L.S. Goulet is a well-written children’s fantasy book that transported me to a completely new world. I loved the fact that L.S. Goulet described Shaemaaie so well that it almost seemed like it could be a real place. The characters were all well developed and the plot was well thought out and lacked any plot holes. While I did enjoy most of the characters, I found Maisy to be my favorite character. I just liked how she was there for Darrel when he needed her and how she did not fade into the background, but instead had her own unique role in the plot. Overall, I enjoyed reading this book and I really wish that I could have had access to it in middle school - I would have loved it even more at that age!



Arya Fomonyuy

L.S. Goulet’s Sword of Dragonblood is an enjoyable first book in the Down Dreamer trilogy. Darrel Sak could be anything but normal, but then his worst fears are happening. Aside from Darrel's father being in serious trouble, Proteus Shyfte, the evil one, is poised to take control over Shaemaaie. Shaemaaie is a magical world and losing it to this evil creature would mean the fall of everything worth living for. Readers are taken on a breathtaking adventure as young Darrel and his friend set out to save his father. But there is something far more dangerous than he’d ever imagined — Darrel has a powerful connection with Proteus Shyfte, a connection that makes him an accessory on the evil man’s path to success. Now he must make choices that could put his own life in the gravest danger. Does he have what it takes?

Sword of Dragonblood is a perfect read for both young and adult readers. L.S. Goulet’s characters are believable and they evolve and mature with the story. The author brings the conflict to readers quickly, and it escalates with the great pacing and reaches a satisfying denouement in no time. Darrel was my favorite character and I loved his courage and how it developed. Readers will also enjoy the dilemma in which the protagonist finds himself, and I couldn’t help but think about another brilliant rendition of the kind of connection between Harry Potter and Lord Voldemort in the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling when I followed the link between Darrel and Proteus. The writing is great and the narrative voice strong, confident and unique. I really enjoyed this book.

Divine Zape

Sword of Dragonblood is a delightful opening in the Down Dreamer Trilogy by L.S. Goulet, a lovely treat for young readers in the area of fantasy. Darrel Sak is a kid, an 8th-grader whose life is turned upside down when he discovers that his nightmares are becoming true. He has to save his dad from Proteus Shyfte, an evil person who is determined to control the magical world called Shaemaaie. What Darrel doesn’t know is that the very secret to unlocking the evil plans of the enemy are buried in his soul. Join Darrel Sak as he teams with Maisy on a boisterous adventure to save his father and many other lives.

L.S. Goulet’s book stands out in many aspects and there is no doubt that it will hold young readers captive with the fascinating and adventurous world it creates. The setting is a plush magical city in London, but a city coveted by a very evil man. Readers will love the compelling portrait the author makes of this beautiful setting, but what is most striking is the kind of people who walk this physical place. These characters are interesting and they reflect the dream world most kids are familiar with. Darrel Sak is an interesting character and I loved how he developed throughout the story. It is not surprising that circumstances can make some people grow faster, but Darrel learns to take responsibility very quickly and it is what transforms him into a courageous, selfless kid willing to risk all for those he loves. Sword of Dragonblood has a great plot, awesome characters, and a powerful conflict. Looking forward to the next book in the series.

Lou

I think the review by Sefina H. was spot on. Great review!

ByHounds of Godon September 24, 2016


A really good mid-grade novel. Being a 13 year old and suffering from being bullied by the biggest kid in 8th grade. So our hero is named Darrel and his sidekick Maisey with faithful Digory horse and sometimes Griffin. Proteus is chief villian but his brothers are the Light Wizard and Darrel's dad!

ByTam Linsey on June 2, 2016


Dragons, magic, and a hero both boys and girls will love to read about, this book is perfect for middle grade readers. Action-packed, with enough humor to keep things light. I just wish the next book was available so I can find out what happens!

ByBill Swearson April 10, 2017


This is a great first novel! It's a YA, but the story and the writing will carry anybody along. I can't wait for the next book in the trilogy. Darrel starts out seeming almost OCD, but grows quickly when he discovers that real lives are in the balance, and learns to act heroically. I found myself admiring the lad. I'm hoping his mom runs out as unique as his dad.

ByBarbon March 9, 2017


To be honest, I'm not really a sci-fi fan, and I'm definitely not in the "young adult" age category, but I found this book quite enjoyable and entertaining. The writing brought the characters to life and I was able to visualize the scenes in my mind while I was reading. What's going to happen next!?

ByM.A. Robbinson May 7, 2016


I truly enjoyed this first book in the Down Dreamer Trilogy. It's full of charm, wit, and adventure as Darrel and Maisy battle human and fantastical adversaries in their quest to save his dad from Proteus Shyfte.

The writing is clean and the storytelling flawless. Sword of Dragonblood will thrill readers of all ages. Highly recommended!

ByBrian S.on July 18, 2016


A really great story.no foul language,so very suitable for younger readers.storyline flows well,and keeps you reading.descriptions are vivid,and you almost feel,as being there. Great job.

ByBeth Hubbartton July 10, 2016


I enjoyed this book a whole bunch. The story had keep my attention and kept me wanting more. You rock

ByLaura Cevilleon September 4, 2016


Rich and engaging text... the story pulls you in! Looking forward to the next book in the series!

Bynavybluemon February 26, 2017


Well written////intriguing

BySherry A Worthyon February 2, 2017


I gave this book to my 16 year old niece and she was delighted! I didn't hear a peep out of this usually very chatty girl as she dove into the story. Ill have to wait for her to finish the book to find out about the story as there's no interrupting her. She can't wait for the next book in the series to come out, which I've promised to get for her. Thanks Louise, we found a beautiful way to get her away from her smart phone!

ByCherieon September 29, 2016

5 starsThis is a fabulous book for teens that enjoy fantasy. I found it engaging from page one

This is a fabulous book for teens that enjoy fantasy. I found it engaging from page one. I love how the story is very descriptive and it feels like you are following them along in their adventures. Can't wait for the second book to see what happens. Awesome story.

BySteve Ellison September 24, 2016

A great read! And I'm sure my grandson will enjoy ...

I got this for my grandson to read, but having started it myself, I became immersed in it. A great read! And I'm sure my grandson will enjoy it!

ByRhodeIslander21on September 17, 2016


Sword of Dragonblood gives the reader quite a ride! It hints of a Harry Potter- like tale, but has its own feeling of suspense, surprise, horror, and wonder. It is so true that "nothing is as it seems". This has me looking over my shoulder at what I have always assumed are everyday people, objects, happenings. The character names and descriptions are imaginative, to say the least. Story line flows smoothly, never lagging behind for the reader. Cannot even begin to think of how LS wrote this, but hats off to her! Am anxious to read volume two......

ByLBCon September 7, 2016

Mmmm...good!!!!!

Not finished yet but loving the descriptive writing so far...

ByKellie Dohertyon September 4, 2016

and great characterization. A fun read for sure

Lovely point of view, fast-paced, and great characterization. A fun read for sure!

ByAmazon Customeron August 21, 2016

Great book in the fantasy genre..highly recommended.

Great book in the fantasy genre. Highly recommend this to those that like to read these type of books. You won't put it down till you finish.

Bygreenriverartisanon August 19, 2016

Engaging fantasy story

I loved this book and had a hard time putting it down until I was done. The story is well thought out with twists and turns that will keep readers engaged. I highly recommend this book for kids age 10+ and adults alike!

ByAKSteph907on August 19, 2016

My daughter said she LOVED the book

My daughter said she LOVED the book. Right from the get-go she connected with the main character and his love of Minecraft. She loved that the book had mystery, adventure, trials and tribulations and of course, victory! We are hoping the next book comes out soon.

ByMatton August 19, 2016

Great start to a series!

Great style! Definitely check this one out! Very creative and I'm looking forward to the next!

ByEmi Koulon August 19, 2016

Beautiful & emotion driven book!

Beautiful book, took me through different emotions and that's what keeps it so interesting. This is the second book that I have from this author and very pleased with her creativity and accomplishment.

ByAmazon Customeron August 14, 2016

starsFun plot, fabulous characters, masterful world building

This book was such a delightful, entertaining read! There were several times I had told myself "okay, I'll just read one or two chapters and then head off to bed", only to be glued to my couch unable to stop reading.

L.S. has given all of her characters such strong and distinct voices that the reader becomes immersed in the world(s) of the story from the first paragraph. The voice of Darrel Ask especially exemplifies her ability to embue all of her characters with wit, humor, warmth and personalities all their own. It's not too long before you are groaning at Darrel's missteps with him, walking alongside Maisy and feeling the crackling fire in the Time Wizard's castle.

My other favorite part of this book (besides the incredible voices of the characters) was the world building. L.S. has a way of making you feel as though you are getting ready to have a clam bake in Blind Spot or go out and take a walk in Shaemaaie. Her descriptions of sounds, sights and smells are uncanny and add so much realism to the story.

I am so glad I went with Darrel and Maisy on their journey thus far and can't wait to continue the adventure in the second book!!

ByC. Kincaidon August 11, 2016

I loved this book

I loved this book! I didn't think I would, but had a hard time putting it down! Now I can't wait for the next one! Excellent!

ByMuffeton July 16, 2016

A new writer to follow in the world of fantasy and creative plots. Bravo ! and Encore

I loved this book . Now that I have devoured the first book of Down Dreamer Trilogy, I hope that Book Two will be out soon . Darrel and Maisy have bonded beautifully and have a dangerous Quest ahead . They have found mystery, danger , magic and between them they will have more excitement in store for their readers to enjoy . This story will appeal to all ages who believe in dreaming and exploring the magic of imagination . Ms.Goulet is a great writer and she understands how to make us believe in the plot and how Darrel and Maisy solve things together .

ByDonalyn Maureron May 15, 2016

Wonderful

From the first chapter I found myself locked in this book. It's not my normal genre but I found I loved it. Following Darrell and Maisy and their adventure kept me on the edge of my seat. The author did an outstanding job of allowing me to see what she was seeing. I'm definitely looking forward to seeing what's next from her. I also plan on suggesting this book to my kids and grandchildren as this book is for all ages.

ByMargoton May 5, 2016

Exciting Book!

I am not usually a fantasy genre fan but I thoroughly enjoyed this exciting book! L.S. Goulet has developed an engaging character, Darrel, who faces scary, suspenseful, and thrilling challenges throughout the book. Darrel has a companion, Maisy, who is a thoughtful, daring, and compassionate character who enhances this journey. L.S. Goulet's writing makes it easy for one to be captivated by the encounters and perils faced by these two engaging subjects. This book is written for middle school students and as such has concepts and words to increase their comprehension skills and vocabulary. It is very well written and a fun read

ByMollyon April 15, 2016

Five Stars

Fans of Harry Potter will enjoy this charming, magical adventure!

ByMichael J. Martinon April 3, 2016

Great new fantasy series

I'm a long time fan of the fantasy genre. I totally enjoyed this book and rank it up there with some of the best. I was totally enthralled from the beginning and could not put it down until I finished it. It is well written and suitable for preteen through adult. I am looking forward to the second book of this series to come out.

ByAmazon Customeron April 1, 2016

Fantastic Fantasy and Reality From a Child's Perspective

Darrel has a quite a plight with his nightmares. L.S. Goulet spins a compelling, interesting and enlightening tale about this child's struggle and how he finds redemption. Fun read...for ALL ages! Great job!

ByAmazon Customeron March 31, 2016

Any age will enjoy this book!

I read this book from beginning to end and thoroughly enjoyed every minute! The book was eerie at times, scary at times, endearing at times, and sad at times! I read on and on wishing I was a young person again. Though I'm older than most grandparents, I loved this book!
I was given this book to read in exchange for an honest review and opinion.