The Birthing Tree

King of the Trees Book 7

Christian - Fantasy/Sci-Fi
Kindle Edition
Reviewed on 11/05/2013
Buy on Amazon

Author Biography

Having spent most of his teenage years adventuring in Middle Earth, the author is an avid fantasy fan. His first allegorical fantasy title, "The King of the Trees," came out in 1998 (WinePress). Bowing to reader demand, he has expanded the series to include a total of seven titles to date, with more to follow. While still in high school, he began his writing career editing his father's popular identification guides, "Edible and Poisonous Plants of the Western/Eastern States." As an Assistant Professor in the Special Education Department at Western Oregon University, he served as a successful grant-writer and program coordinator.

Burt holds a B.S. in English from Lewis and Clark College and an M.S. from Western Oregon University in Deaf Education. In addition to writing books, he works as an RID-certified American Sign Language interpreter with over thirty years' experience. His interests include reading, foreign languages and mycology. He is married with two grown children.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Mamta Madhavan for Readers' Favorite

The Birthing Tree (King of the Trees Book 7) by William D. Burt is the seventh book in the series. Lucambra is facing drought and the dragons have trapped Prince Elwyn. He has unearthed an ancient urn which has all the details about what is going to happen to Lucambra. He meets a princess, but if she stays with Elwyn he will perish and if she comes to Lucambra, it will cause some kind of misfortune. However, they find both bliss and danger under the Birthing Tree.

Like all the other books in the series, this book also has a glossary and pronunciation guide at the back, making it easy for the reader to understand the words. The author also has a strong Christian message as in the other books in the series. The book is interesting for readers of all age groups because it is sketched along the lines of The Hobbit, Wind in the Willows, Lord of the Rings and Chronicles of Narnia. The twists, turns, plot, and sub-plots take readers on a trip that is intriguing, mysterious, and adventurous.

The series is an enjoyable one and all the books can be read separately. The author takes you through an exciting adventure with a lot of action, adventure, fantasy, and excitement that will keep you riveted. All stories are fast paced and the theme reveals the creative and imaginative side of the author. This is a collection that is worth owning.